PDA

View Full Version : number of soldiers in unit question

Slim1951
07-03-2008, 16:02
Hi,

I am a noob to this game and have been studying the different units and stats. One thing I have overlooked and now wonder about, is the advantage that is offered by having a larger number of men available to fill a unit. For instance the Macedon melee units have 60 and the Roman melee were around 40. Is having another 20 extra men a big factor? Are the statistics given for entire units or individual soldiers. If they are for individual soldiers then obviously unit size would be a large influence on its power. Anyone know?

Quirinus
07-04-2008, 10:57
I think generally speaking the larger unit size (60/120 men) are for levies and phalangites. Examples are the peasants, eastern spearmen, barbarian warbands, levy pikemen, silver shield pikemen, etc.

To answer your question I think the stats are given for individual soldiers, so it's actually up to you to weigh the advantage of numbers versus quality..... does that make sense? :sweatdrop:

Slim1951
07-07-2008, 14:57
Yeah I guess that does make sense. But it also means that even tho they are a crappy lot, because there are more of them they have a little more potential. However I should not get my panties in a wad over the numbers either since they are meh. I think the egyptian archers are a bigger group to and they look pretty good.

El Diablo
07-08-2008, 21:18
I think that the numbers thing is a game balance sort of thing. For example a unit of Hastati v an EQUAL NUMBER of warband would give all things equal result in a win to the Hastaii 99% of the time.

So given that an army of 20 Hasatii units would be very difficult to beat for the barbarians.
(barring terrain, experiance, weapon upgrades, tactics etc). So giving the warband 50% more troops goes some way toward evening things out. Although the Romans are very hard to beat fullstop.