PDA

View Full Version : Query - The hard and very hard campaigns.

groundhogie
07-03-2008, 17:14
Hi all, I've been looking at this forum every now and again for tips and reading a few battle stories but never have posted. I just started playing the game again after a long break and was just wondering about the difficulty settings. I usually play a campaign with hard battle difficulty and medium campaign.

But the campaign AI on medium really isn't cutting it for me anymore, they seem to just hang back in their castles while I tromp across Europe and the Middle East and it has become boring/repeditive. My questions is if the higher level difficulties give a change in the AI of other kingdoms? Such as making them more aggressive on the map and making better use of their agents..or does it just give the AI cheaper upkeep and a big chunk of money, basically like the AI has cheated to gain an advantage over the player?

FactionHeir
07-03-2008, 17:56
The difference is that the AI at very hard has the same boni as you do (in addition to the cheats they have at EVERY difficulty level), as at the lower levels, it actually gets penalties.

However, the AI usually still won't be much of a challenge, as the main visible effect of higher difficulty will be their units being as tough as yours on the battlefield and their relations with you deteriorating faster on the campaign map (i.e. higher likelihood of them declaring war on you).

If you want to have a tougher AI, you probably will need to play with a mod ~:)

G^2
07-03-2008, 21:47
As Faction Heir stated a mod is where your going to find a better AI. For me personally, M2TW didn't shine until I started playing Stainless Steel (SS). This mod uses Lusted's new AI which greatly increases AI competency. I have also heard good things about Broken Cresent if your into the middle east, and Lands to Conquer, which I understand is like a more challenging version of vanilla.

FactionHeir
07-03-2008, 21:53