PDA

View Full Version : Carthaginians and liby-phoenicians

Zarax
07-13-2008, 22:59
I don't know how to put this question properly but I'll try:
What was the relationship between punics and lybians/lybi-phoenicians in Carthage?

Were the natives and mixed children just kept as part of the army (basically a "soldier caste") or was their role broader in the punic society?
Also, did this change with time, meaning that they become increasingly more important as the empire expanded?

Just let me know if I was unclear, I would really like to know more about it...

MarcusAureliusAntoninus
07-14-2008, 04:51
I'm no expert, but I recall that the Liby-Phoenicians were basically an entire bastard race that was looked down on by the Phoenicians(Carthaginians) but were used extensively for military service.

I don't think the Carthaginians lasted too long from the beginning of extensive use of Liby-Phoenicians in the military until they were destroyed by the Romans.

HamilcarBarca
07-14-2008, 12:33
Carthaginians are those Phoenician peoples that inhabit the city-state of Carthage.

Liby-Phoenicians are those Phoenician peoples that inhabit the other Punic cities and towns of North Africa, and which are subject to the authority of Carthage, such as Utica, Lepcis, Hadrumentum and so forth.

Libyans are the indigenous peoples of modern Tunisia, of Libyco-Berber stock, who were conquered by Carthage in the period c. 600-400 BC, and who thereafter formed an oppressed "serf" like class who worked the agricultural land in Punic controlled North Africa.

Interestingly, Liby-Phoenicians are only mentioned in the ancient sources as providing cavalry to Punic armies, although it is generally assumed that they would have provided oarsmen & sailors for Punic fleets also.

Libyans were commonly conscripted as both heavy and light infantry by Carthage for service in her foreign wars.

H.

Foot
07-14-2008, 12:36
Carthaginians are those Phoenician peoples that inhabit the city-state of Carthage.