PDA

View Full Version : England: bad boy of Europe?

Ash
10-26-2008, 15:44
I got MTW2 Gold some time ago, but left it for other games. Recently been back at it, and I must I'm having fun with the game. I used to play MTW1 a lot so some things are familiar, other things are not.

Anyway I'm playing the English on M/M (I'm not that good) and while my wars with Scotland and France (the reason d'etre for playing the English) are going fairly well, the rest of Europe hates me. And won't hesitate to attack me. Not that I mind but the lack of trade is effecting my teching up (I'm a builder at heart, I simply must build if budget allows). I recently got those Yeomen archers and armoured swordsmen, but now I think I'm going to have fight several nations at once.
I have large armies scattered around France, and a reasonable fleet of Holks and some leftover Cogs.

Is there a way to at least manage diplomacy better? I was in a war with France for ages, and everyone took that as a sign to gang up against me. I don't usually start wars (I only did with the Scots), but I'm recently at war with Spain and Venice (who betrayed our alliance), and I'm waiting for Portugal, Milan and Denmark to start attacking me. Diplomacy is pointless, I'm in everyone's black book. Hell Spain won't even accept a cease fire even though I wipped them out of France and mauling their fleets. The only ally I have left is the HRE, who is especially weak.

Then there's the pope. As the English, I decided to ignore him and he definitely hates me for him. I don't have the patience to pump assassins and keep on training them till they have a 20% chance of killing the pope when the time comes. I find 3 assissins micomanaging enough. And being as the English means I don't crusade (till there's something in it for me).

So any advice on diplomacy as Europe's bad boy? Should I simply attack everyone and be done with it (without being excommunicated)? Seems like England's destiny to me.

FactionHeir