PDA

View Full Version : Warrior Monks or No Dachi? The Quest for Uber-Infantry

Scipio Valorus
06-07-2001, 03:40
Hello all. I'm sure this has been debated endlessly on the forum, but being a newbie here, I thought I would dredge it up again. Personally, I don't use No-Dachi very much. I prefer Warrior Monks because of

1. Fanatical Morale: I've had a 5-Honour WM unit that I foolishly marched into a canyon, only to have 2 units of YS run down the sides from their concealed posistions. The YS had the advantage of surprise and height, yet my WM annihilated one unit and held out long enough for reinforcements to arrive on scene, saving the day and the unit. (Started the battle with 49 WM in that unit, ended the battle with 31.

2. Better defense value: Read above

3. Buddha: Other units rout more easily (if Buddhist as well) when faced with these guys, they really seem reluctant to fight them for a long period of time.

Other than cost, can anyone give me good reasons to use No-Dachi as my elite shock troops?

------------------
The art of war is of vital importance to the state. It is a matter of life and death, a road to either safety or to ruin. Hence under no circumstances can it be neglected.

06-07-2001, 04:02
Warrior Monks are the best unit in Shogun: Total War. They are critisiced to be unbalanced because unlike all other units; no unit can kill the warrior monks at the same honour level.

No-Dachi can be useful in multiplayer low koku games but Monkeys are better than ND anyway.

P.S. Buying many monks in multiplayer games produce unbalanced battles and monk rushers are considered as dishounourable.

------------------
Honour to Clan No Fear.

Visit my resource centre at: http://terazawa.totalwar.org

Scipio Valorus
06-07-2001, 04:12
Quote Originally posted by Terazawa Tokugawa:
Warrior Monks are the best unit in Shogun: Total War. They are critisiced to be unbalanced because unlike all other units; no unit can kill the warrior monks at the same honour level.