PDA

View Full Version : Troop Transport

Whatname
02-25-2003, 19:43
Hello all. This is my first post.

I'm relatively new to the game. I really enjoy playing it, but there are a few things that I find a bit frustrating, one of them being the method of transporting troops with naval units.

I understand how the actual methodology works in the game, but I'm wondering if the way it's implemented really make sense.

If I have an unbroken chain of ships, stretching from Norway to Egypt, for example, I can transport any number of armies from Norway to Egypt in one turn. So theoretically, my armies are boarding transport ships in Norway, which are then taking one year to sail to Egypt.

However, If I try to move only my ships from Norway to Egypt, it will take me several turns to get there. How is it that my armies are able to make the trip faster than my ships? http://www.totalwar.org/forum/non-cgi/emoticons/confused.gif

This is particularly confusing if I'm using, say, English Barques, which can only move one sea square per year. That itself pretty annoying. Can my ship really not make it from England to Spain in under a year?

Just looking for some discussion.

Foreign Devil
02-25-2003, 19:58
The short answer here is that, well, its only a game. Reality often has to be sacrificed for the sake of gameplay.

Whatname
02-26-2003, 03:19
Well, I can see that at some point that some sort of compromise is needed as far as how to limit the movement of ships, but surely a better method of transporting troops over water can be found.

This is handled, in my opinion, far better in many other strategic games by various means. These possibilites can include:
1. A distinction between warships and transports.
2. Having to load the troops onto the ships.
3. Setting a limit as to the number of troops per ship.
3. Having to physically move the ships from point to point.
4. Having to unload the troops at their destination.