PDA

View Full Version : Help with strategy and tactics

Wheatley
05-11-2003, 22:03
I need a good site that can show me some good tactics/strategy/tips/formations. I just started playing online, and I don't do so well.

Wheatley
05-12-2003, 00:30
You must help...

Dimeola
05-12-2003, 02:39
And help we shall my friend. I will impart to you the little I know.
Firstly...know the game controls and the advantages, such as grouping units for better control. During the heat of battle things happen too fast to click and move each unit. Think ahead, so you will have an idea of where your units are going , what you want them to do.
Second...know the units. Even if you just play one faction for awhile. Know their strengths and weaknesses, so you can maximize the strengths and minimize the other. Spear beats Cav, Sword beats spear, Cav beats sword.
Next...units with no valor will run early. Less units with 4 valor and you get flanked. There is usually a happy medium.
Next...get a good unit mix. Usually some sword, some spear, some Cav of lt and hvy and some missile. Spread out your missile in front no more than 2 ranks deep. Put a unit or 2 of light cav at the side with a clear path. Your enemy will try and charge your missiles. If he is inattentive you can do the same. Just rein in your cav before they go into the enemy lines or you will lose them.
Next...communicate with your allies, as far as plans, setting up, standing together, etc....do not set up far from your allies....you can get doubled and slaughtered.
Next...guard your flanks....against cav and foot once you make contact. Sometimes I use a 3-sided box, the arms can then move outward or inward as needed.
Terrain...be VERY mindfull of this. Seek the high ground, dont charge uphill. Walk to the enemy and then just before contact charge into them.