PDA

View Full Version : I have downloaded a mod...now what?

Bots
10-11-2003, 17:07
Hi I have just downlaoded Napoleonic MW from the internet - screen shots look create -what do I do next though?

I am not a big techie - does some one know what the steps are? can they explain them to me?

(1) Where do I put the files I downloaded? in with viking / medieval was?

(2) Which disk do I put in VMW or the one napoleonic war was burned onto?

Be grateful if someone could help, which I am sure to some of you is a trivial matter but to me is very frustrating

Cheers

Marshal Murat
10-11-2003, 18:24
Well you should be able to download the mod from the saved file, or opened one, and it auto downloads into the MTW files.

Bots
10-11-2003, 23:06
Thanks but I am not sure that answers my question. I downlaod from the napoleonic mod site in total war.

It was 44 mb, took ages but there is no launch / exec. file.

I have placed it in the medieval war files but nothing.

I am sure for some one this is a no brainer but please just help me out

Marshal Murat
10-11-2003, 23:26
ok, you should place the files in My Documents for instance. Use Winzip or such, extract to the My Documents, and open, there should be a readme and a download icon, click and download. Also what version do you have, for the New Mods need the VI and 1.01 and such,if you have VI, but for basic MTW use the ones in the files and folders in the download section area here.

Bots
10-12-2003, 01:05
Thanks I have donloaded the patches for MW & VI

Downloaded NTW again but there is no icon to launch game.

(1) Does downlaod have to be in safe folder as VI?
(2) Do I need VI CD in or CD I burned NTW onto (aswell as downloading it)?

Sorry but IT is not my strong point.

Thanks

Marshal Murat
10-12-2003, 01:15
No you do not need to burn, I guess i'll ask LoS or LK

Lord Of Storms
10-12-2003, 02:50
Quote[/b] (Bots @ Oct. 11 2003,19:05)]Thanks I have donloaded the patches for MW & VI