PDA

View Full Version : Victoria: An Empire Under the Sun

thrashaholic
03-04-2005, 09:01
I recently bought this game, yesterday to be precise (well actually I ordered it from amazon a couple of days ago and it arived yesterday, but that's neither here nor there), and as soon as I started playing it I was astonished by the scale and depth of the thing. It was much bigger and more complex than I expected, even after doing a bit of research into it. I'm afraid to say it, but this game puts the TW series to shame. I can tell this is going to be one of those games that eats into my social life...

Now to get down to the heart of the matter. I remember a thread about this game being here a while back, so I know there some veterans lurking out there somewhere. I've printed off 'November's Brazil Guide' off VickyWiki and that got me started quite well, but I was wondering if there were any other good, preferably concise, guides for new players? Also, which in your opinion are the best countries to start off as being a new player? And one last question, how does one turn those blasted rectangles that represent the armies into the little groups of men that you see in the manual?

Oh, and I almost forgot, what are people's opinions on this stunningly detailed game?

Stefan the Berserker
03-04-2005, 09:45
I recently bought this game, yesterday to be precise (well actually I ordered it from amazon a couple of days ago and it arived yesterday, but that's neither here nor there), and as soon as I started playing it I was astonished by the scale and depth of the thing. It was much bigger and more complex than I expected, even after doing a bit of research into it. I'm afraid to say it, but this game puts the TW series to shame. I can tell this is going to be one of those games that eats into my social life...