PDA

View Full Version : I need some help with STW and XP

Swilly53
03-08-2005, 09:53
I am new to STW and also to this site. Someone on another site told me I could probably get help with the problems I am having trouble playing STW on windows XP. I have a fairly new computer running Windows XP SP 2. 3.2 gig intel pentium, 512 MB RAM, and NVIDIA Geforce FX 5200 card with 128 video memory. I bought the game from Sold-Out video and everthing installed alright. It is the Warlord Edition. I also installed the STWWF_v1.02b patch that came on the game CD. I have encountered a couple of problems.
1. Sometimes when I click the game icon to start the game my computer restarts. I am then able to play the game by clicking the icon again.
2. Lately the game has been freezing up when I try to start or leave the game. The screen goes blank and I have to use the off switch to restart.
3. The game will always crash if I attempt to use the battle screens. The one where you lead the battle yourself. When the battle is over and it gives you the result screen, when I try to leave that screen the game crashes.
The person who referred me said something about using Windows compatibility mode???
Sorry for the long post. I don't know much about computers. I might be better off playing Rome, Total War. I just found out about it and am assuming that my computer could handle it. :help:

Togakure
03-08-2005, 10:21
Hello Swilly53, and welcome to the Org. Hopefully the moderator will see this and move or copy it to the Apothecary, where you are more likely to get good technical advice.