PDA

View Full Version : The best way to assault a settlement?

EvilNed
03-20-2005, 23:43
I was just wondering, since I am not that good at this game yet, what is the best way of assaulting a settlement? I'm talking about the big sieges, with stone walls and siege towers, not the little, puny ones that are over in a couple of minutes. I just came from my second big siege, and I noticed that even though I won, my casualties were rather high (You should have seen the other guy, tho ;) ). I lost 36 war elephants! That is an outrage! Arrh!

Anyway, if I have onagers in my army, is it even worth getting Siege Towers and battering rams? I found that my Onagers can do both of their jobs well. Sege towers are used to break the walls and then capture the gateway and then open the gates. But if I destroy the gateway and gates with my onagers, that kinda renders the siege towers obsolete. Only good thing is that when the fighting takes place inside the gate, it can be good to have soldiers pouring out through the gatehouse, as they sometimes land behind the enemy...

Oh, and other tips for sieges, please. I don't want to loose another 36 elephants!

The_Doctor
03-21-2005, 00:00
Personaly, I take the walls with siege towers/ladders. I send some heavy troops to do the fighting and light (fast) troops to capture all of the towers and gatehouses. The arrows coming from the captured towers/gatehouses forces the enermy away from the walls and makes it easier to get troops into the city move them around. It also means that my troops don't get shot at when they are inside and can go where they like.

Then I send my troops at the enermy from every direction, making it easier to destroy them.

I hope that helps ~:)

Quietus
03-21-2005, 00:01
You have to take the walls first!! Why? You need to turn off the arrow towers. The arrow towers will shoot at the enemy depending who controls it.