PDA

View Full Version : You have to find them in order to bribe them

kadingir
07-08-2005, 21:58
Hi, all. I'm going to try to sneak two questions into the same message. I'm playing a "quick" game as the Brutii, and it's been going pretty well. It's my first try with that faction, and they certainly seem to be more, umm, solvent than the Julii. A couple of turns ago the Thracians, for reasons best known to themselves, decide to attack me in Nicomedia. I have no time for this--I'm running an empire, after all--so, since I have over a million denarii, I figured I'd offer the Thracian a nice bribe. Imagine my annoyance when, having sent one of my diplomats tottering over to the invaders, I discovered that the "bribe" option wasn't available. I couldn't find anything in the manual (stop laughing) about special conditions applying to bribes. Could anyone offer any hints as to when bribes are and aren't possible?

My other question is a little embarrassing: I've lost the Macedonians. More accurately, I can't find them. They have no territories left, and I thought I had killed all of the little buggers, but I haven't "won" (the Greeks are gone), the Macedonians still show up in the faction list, and a few turns ago the Julii declared war on them. If I knew where they were, I'd stomp them. (Any of you who have played Civilization 3 will recognize this as a variant of the "settler in a boat" dilemma.) I suppose I could send spies all over Europe and the Near East to try to bump into a Macedonian, but I'm hoping that someone out there can suggest a better tactic.

Thanks much.

Marcellus
07-08-2005, 22:09
Welcome to the org, Kadingir ~:wave:

There are some people who you can't bribe, for example faction leaders.

As for the Macedonians, are you sure that they didn't spread away from their homeland? For example, the Macedonians in one of my games managed to capture Cyrene across the sea.

kadingir
07-08-2005, 22:44