PDA

View Full Version : Too Big, too quick??

King Kurt
07-28-2005, 11:21
I am currently doing a GA, hard, early English campaign (original MTW). Things have gone pretty well. I have put France, Alohmads, Arragon and Spain to the sword. Empire spreads from Tunisia via Iberian peninsula, France to Northen Germany - currently Saxony. I have recently been excommunicated - Spain attacks me, I defend myself, Pope issues warning, I wipe them out in 2 years, save some rebels in a couple of castles and he still excomms me :furious3: - no justice. I have the largest income, but big expenses and a nice trade network, but no allies to boost income. Currently I am at war with HRE, Egypt and Novogrod. The germans look on the way out, but the Russkis look strong. Egypt looks up for the taking then its' all the middle east for the taking. Troop wise, I have been pumping longbows from wales for about 20 years, feudal knights from wessex for about 10years and wessex has just started billmen as well (mercia will have bills in about 4 years). It is about 1168.
So why am I worried? well the war with HRE seems a bit of a meat grinder. Last night the battle for saxony was very bloody - both generals killed with me loosing about 35% of my 20 unit army and about 20% of the Germans making it back to the castle. The battle was very medieval - flowing back and forwards - i thought i had won twice, but troops kept popping up. I would like to keep a bit of HRE between me and the russkis. Also, my king is 70, so I assume he will pop his clogs soon, removing excomm. I worry about war on 2 fronts - north africa and northern europe. So - long post - but what do people think?? ~:cheers:

Maeda Toshiie
07-28-2005, 15:49
Have you been teching up the iron provinces of Iberia?

"I have been pumping longbows from wales for about 20 years, feudal knights from wessex for about 10years and wessex has just started billmen as well (mercia will have bills in about 4 years). It is about 1168."