PDA

View Full Version : Antesignani, cohors evocata and vigiles

LegVIIGemina-Tarraconense
09-14-2005, 08:36
I would like to ask a few questions and make some suggestions about these three roman units.
1) Antesignani. Where did you get that antesignani were elite legionaries armed with spears and javelins? I am not an expertise in ancient warfare or roman army, but according to what I have read the term "antesignani" made reference to a picked group of men -possibly hastati, who fought in the front ranks of the legion and who were ordered specific duties. Some historians believe antesignani were just velites or hastati and that they did not form a combat unit like it is shown in EB.
2) Cohors evocata. The presence of evocatii is well documented and there is no doubt about the existence of this kind of legionaries. Most of them came from the praetorian cohors. However, I would point up that if you create an elite legionary unit like these evocatii, many EB players will have the "temptation" to create roman staks only with these kind of troops. It is wise to believe that evocatii were a minority within the legionaries. So, could it be possible for the game to only have the possibility to recruit one or two evocati units only in Rome and only once every 15-20 turns? This is my suggestion.
3) Vigiles. Another suggestion quite similar to the previous one. Vigiles were not expected to enter in campaing battles. So, they should be prevented, somehow, to get out of cities. Is that possible? Otherwise, you may came across vigiles attacking and conquering land thousand of miles away from the roman borders.
That is all I wanted to say. For the rest of the preview, great job!!! ~:cheers:

Urnamma
09-14-2005, 09:08
1) Several journal articles, and some painstaking research. Remember, some of us are professiona historians, so in EB, you may get a very educated opinion in regards to some units.