PDA

View Full Version : Question on Swordsmen in MTW...

rvg
11-29-2005, 20:46
Specifically, what in the world is their purpose?

I have developed an intense dislike for swordsmen after playing a Dane camaign and watching those dirt-cheap Vikings slaughter MAA, Cavalry and anything else in head-on melee...
Basically, no matter what the task, swordsmen do not shine at it. What, killing Spears? Well, welcome to the Anything-But-Light-Cavalry club. Charging Archers? Nah, Swords usually get shot up too badly during the charge. Flanking? Pretty much every other non-spear melee unit makes a better flanker. Heck, even Urban Militia will do a better job, not to mention those magnificent Gallowglasses.
Even when I play the sword-heavy Byz, I only make Byz Inf until I get the Varang assembly line going.

Now, I'm rather new to MTW, so I really hope that I am missing something about the use of Swordsmen. Can anyone please enlighten me on the subject?

Gtafanboy
11-29-2005, 21:52
They are usefull against spearmen and pikemen. With 2 or more units you can use them to take out archers. So yeah they are useful. Really onlf for the things listed though.

Papewaio
11-29-2005, 21:56
Swordsmen... I use them for a countercharge... I prefer Vikings and Billmen. Vikings and billmen get armour piercing, they are a great counter against swordsmen.

However swordsmen are good once the spearmen have received a charge from cav you flank with the swordsmen.

Also if you don't have any swordsmen, vikings or billmen you will find it hard going against an army with a lot of swordsmen if you are spearmen heavy.

Combined arms are always good.

rvg
11-29-2005, 22:02
Swordsmen... I use them for a countercharge... I prefer Vikings and Billmen. Vikings and billmen get armour piercing, they are a great counter against swordsmen.

However swordsmen are good once the spearmen have received a charge from cav you flank with the swordsmen.