PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on disbanding starting army & navy with WRE

Mahrabals apprentice
01-12-2006, 16:33
I am new to BI and need some advice on a strategy that I want to try with the WRE.
I plan to abandon most of the WRE to the rebels (after building Christian chapels in every city with doesn’t have one and razing all other buildings) and try to hold onto some of the juicier cities. In order to have a functioning economy I am going to need to disband most army and navy.
Initially I intended to retain Carthage (my new capital), Lepsis Magna (city east of carthage?) and Syracuse. However I have since decided that this idea may be over doing it. So I now also intend to keep:
1 city in Spain, which ever deal I can enforce Christianity on without rebellions (hopefully the city in the South East corner),
Ravenna, Rome and the Southern most Italian city,
Palma,
Sardinia.

I plan to evacuate all my useful Christian family members to Italy and Spain (and later into North Africa) as governors.
I intend then to get peace and trade rights with the rebels a.s.a.p. and have a stack invade Berber territory and establish a North African base of operations to retake mainland Europe. Pagan family will find themselves used as heavy cavalry (with little regard to whether the family members die, I doubt corpses will start civil wars).

Anyway to get to the question I wanted to ask,

How much military units do you think I can maintain with these cities without killing my economy?

I need as much military as possible to take North Africa and defend what I plan to keep in Europe, and would like a small navy to ship units between the 2 continents. So if I don’t disband enough I will have money troubles early on, but if I don’t keep enough I will struggle to defend/invade.

Advice please.:help:

TinCow
01-12-2006, 17:11