PDA

View Full Version : Thats 20,000 florins for me....

Scurvy
02-02-2006, 22:49
I was just playing campaign on xl as english, and about halfway through early era was attacked by a massive danish army in Flanders lead by their king, my army mainly made up of saxon huscarles and norman knights smashed through the viking infantry, but i then managed to circle completely and in the chain rout captured the danish king, 4 princes, several nobles, and around 700 normal men, the danes then paid up giving me 20,000 florins for my effort (which for me is huge as im not very good at the whole money thing...)

anyhow, i'd be interested to know what the largest ransom money amounts you've gained.... :2thumbsup:

Budwise
02-03-2006, 00:14
Um, thats by far the biggest I have seen. I don't keep track but I think my biggest was about 14,000.

Geezer57
02-03-2006, 00:51
Playing on Expert, I've had almost the same amount paid under similar circumstances. It's obvously a lucky phenomenon that doesn't happen often. But, boy, what fun when it comes your way!:laugh4:

Budwise
02-03-2006, 04:11
I ransomed the Egyptian king back twice in two turns, getting over 20,000. Which is really really nice playing Turks on Early within the first 10 years. After that bump, I have been unstoppable.

Betito
02-03-2006, 05:24
We would have to make this extensive to rebel captures but...

In one of my Turkish campaigns, i deicded not to face the Horde, so i, who was in control of Khazar, simply backed off before they came.

1230, the Horde comes, the Khan dies!(How?? i don't know, and i didn't really care)

so, by 1231 i send a Jihad... well, more like 20 Jihads and 2 full stacks, to reconquer Khazar. To my surprise, the rebels decided to let me "go through" without resistance.

The outcome of all that was: 18000 soldiers captures, for a total of 96,000 florins... i released them all for showing true piety ~D

Other than that, a couple king ransoms for 15k... that's it

NodachiSam
02-03-2006, 05:34