View Full Version : phalanxes and sieges

Zanar
04-04-2007, 04:13
I'm still kinda new to Rome:tw and i came across something while playing the
Greek faction that seems to bounce around in my mind alot. I just got finished
building an army (after about 7 turns of spartan plague later) comprised of
mostly those armored hoplites, a few spartans, and the rest archers. I began
my siege of Athens and afterwards i hate to say i was kinda mad. Is it me
or do phalanx type units suck for sieging settlements? I'm not sure if it's just
because i'm new to it, but in general they seem just too cumbersome for city
takeovers. Plus i had have to switch on phalanx and put my units back in formation over and over turned out to be a real hassle. I was thinking of maybe
incorperating some cav into my future armies but the Greeks don't seem to
have any useful units in that field of expertise. Any thoughts?

stirfriedYen
04-04-2007, 04:29
Unless I'm missing something big, I'm pretty sure the Greeks have predominantly defense-oriented units, making them a pain when it comes to sieging. I found a nice way around it would be merely to wait for the enemy to sally out to you, where you have the advantage.

(But that might just be me, I have an excessively defensive playing style...)

Zanar
04-04-2007, 04:33
well i did wait for them to come out for about 10mins, by then my archers ran
out of arrows :thumbsdown:

stirfriedYen
04-04-2007, 05:59
No, I mean wait them out outside of battle, that way:

A. If they don't attack you quickly, they'll lose units and, as a result, are weaker.
B. If they don't attack at all, you gain the city without a fight (just takes a tad bit longer)
C. If (and when) they do attack, you'll have a slightly weakened opponent who's forced to work aggressively and, possibly, on a time limit.

It's how I've captured all my cities, really. Most often, I find that they tend to sally out when there's only 1 turn left before the city is automatically given to you.