PDA

View Full Version : EB system requirements?

raimix
05-21-2007, 22:59
Hello, I'm new to the mod world.
Although I been playing the regular game for a time, I recently came across EB mod, and learn to appreciate the modders, and the game's open source to modders.

I just downloaded EB, followed the instructions and ran EB. Unlike Rome:TW the load takes noticeably longer time, as well as during Campaign map I see stuttered units. (I.E. trade caravans moves, stop momentarilly and moves again. it's as if it's lag but a stop-and go lag)

Is this normal? If you run this game smoothly, please do post your system setting. Or system requirement for EB.
I also have vanilla(original) Rome installed on different folder, does sharing DLL files actually create bottlenecks for this game? (which i hardly doubt)
My comp is getting there. (to retirement)
AMD 2600+ XP
2x512 DDR 2700 (1gb)
2x WD 200gb 8mb buffer on raid 0.
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb

bovi
05-22-2007, 07:17
It is normal to get slower performance with EB, as we push the engine to its limits. There is no loss of performance by having multiple copies of RTW.

As for recommended specs, I don't know. My suggestion is to reduce video options until it runs as desired (particularly unit size for battle performance). If you're at rock bottom there and still can't get satisfactory performance you'll likely need an upgrade.

There are also some other things you can do with a bit of impact, such as disabling some stuff in the preferences.txt, and hiding the character and settlement names by pressing Ctrl-N and Ctrl-T.

Dexter
05-22-2007, 08:46