PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Cavalry...

Tratorix
10-06-2007, 04:04
Alright, I need some help here. I just got RTW about two weeks ago. I'm currently playing a campaign as the Greeks on medium/medium difficulty and i'm have a lot of trouble. I'm strapped for cash and i'm having to rely almost entirely on hoplites. Their phalanx formations deal with infantry easy enough, but I can't do a thing against cavalry. Now, i'm no expert here, but i'm pretty sure if a unit of light cavalry charges into a wall of spear points, they should die. A single unit of light cav. can completely break my phalanxes with a frontal charge. Does anyone have any tips on how to deal with this?

SSJVegetaTrunks
10-06-2007, 04:49
Militia Hoplites = Fail.

Regular Hoplites = Less Fail.

Armored Hoplites = Pwn.

Spartan Hoplites = Massive Pwnage.

Which kinds are you using?

mrdun
10-06-2007, 10:21
Use deeper formations, right click and drag.

Benandorf
10-06-2007, 20:21
Do you have it on VH? Because there's a bug (or there used to be) with cavalry and phalanxes on VH that made Cav completely destroy phalanxes.

If not, then just make the formations deeper.

Tratorix
10-06-2007, 23:33
OK, I think i've got it down. I have to make sure the formation is deep enough to stop them, but also wide enough to make sure they don't end up hitting partially on the flanks :dizzy2: . It's tricky at times, but I'm managing well enough. I think the battle that inspired me to post this was kind of a fluke. I had a unit of regular hoplites blocking off a gate, when a unit of equites charged through and ripped them apart. It either must have been a really veteran unit or just got lucky. I've also learned that regular hoplites can't stop heavy cav. You need to use spartans for that. :beam:

caravel
10-06-2007, 23:41
Enable guard phalanx mode and they will go into proper formation.

Benandorf
10-07-2007, 20:07
I've also learned that regular hoplites can't stop heavy cav. You need to use spartans for that. :beam: