Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

  1. #1

    Default Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    At the moment i am playing with Bactria EB 1.1. All works fine and i just conquered the first Indian City. The AS is at war with the Phalavan, Saka, Ptolemy and the Hellenes. The problem is they still attack my capital Bactria, although i am in an alliance with them. I mean are the stupid or what the F***.

    We are at war with every neighbor and loosing at all fronts, but because we are the stupid AS we will break our last alliance with you, muhahaha......

    Is it possible to change the computer that they will not break an alliance when they are already at war with someone or something like that? In Medieval II some mods made it, and it works better now.

    Hope you can help me, game doesnt make any more fun.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    You'd probably better get used to the baffling AI. The AI is not EB's strong point. There was a Force Diplomacy mod for EBv1.0, that was handy in keeping other factions in check. Although, I'm not sure if it has been updated for EBv1.1.

    Give it time though, I'm sure it'll come.
    Last edited by Horst Nordfink; 04-08-2008 at 22:42.
    Only a few seek liberty; the majority seek nothing more than fair masters - Sallust

    A lie told often enough becomes truth - Vladimir Lenin

  3. #3
    War Lord Member Kepper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Portugal /Algarve/Olhão
    Posts
    272

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    The AI is very stupid, i don't now if Force Diplomacy Minimod is working it 1.1.
    If don't maybe cheating use auto_win attacker if the Grey death cames after you and some region to help your economy just massacre the population to get some money

  4. #4

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    Thanks for the answers, i already have the forced diplomacy mod and it works with 1.1. I can make peace every turn again and again, but the next turn the stupid AS again attacks, really annoying, i hope there is a solution....
    Last edited by BigChef; 04-08-2008 at 22:48.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    have you tried paying a tribute? Like 100 mnai per 20 turns.

    That's how I kept my Romani-AS truce for many years, although in Gameplay terms, tributes are a seriosuly embarrassing thing.

    It used to work in 1.0, although again the AI would make stupid plans.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    Quote Originally Posted by BigChef
    At the moment i am playing with Bactria EB 1.1. All works fine and i just conquered the first Indian City. The AS is at war with the Phalavan, Saka, Ptolemy and the Hellenes. The problem is they still attack my capital Bactria, although i am in an alliance with them. I mean are the stupid or what the F***.

    We are at war with every neighbor and loosing at all fronts, but because we are the stupid AS we will break our last alliance with you, muhahaha......

    Is it possible to change the computer that they will not break an alliance when they are already at war with someone or something like that? In Medieval II some mods made it, and it works better now.

    Hope you can help me, game doesnt make any more fun.
    What Campaign Difficulty Level are you playing on?

    If it's Very Hard (VH) then every AI faction hates your guts and will attack you at every opportunity, alliance notwithstanding.

    Try Medium Campaign Difficulty and see what happens then.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    Yeah, i tried it 200 for 10 years, but it didnt help. I raised the garrison in Bactria and at some point they dont attack anymore until the bring again a bigger army and break the alliance again...

    Campaign difficulty is hard. Is there really such a differnce between medium and hard? I knew that with very hard, but with hard? Does this really work?
    Last edited by BigChef; 04-08-2008 at 23:07.

  8. #8
    Bruadair a'Bruaisan Member cmacq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Where on this beige, brown, and olive-drab everything will stick, sting, bite, and/or eat you; most rickety-tick.
    Posts
    6,160

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    Try smaller for longer? 100 for 20 turns works for me too. Prospective, I look at it as a long term foreign investment. Early on, make common cause by supporting the weaker against the stronger and sow the seeds of antagonism among all your rivals. If and when the balance shifts redirect your support. Or support both sides just enough so that they wont stop fighting. However, if a beleaguered AS is attacking your capital, shouldn't you be grateful for the pretext?
    Last edited by cmacq; 04-09-2008 at 07:25.
    quae res et cibi genere et cotidiana exercitatione et libertate vitae

    Herein events and rations daily birth the labors of freedom.

  9. #9
    Member Member Sand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Kildare, Ireland
    Posts
    57

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    Maybe try making the AS a protectorate using Force Diplomacy? The AI tends to respect protectorate deals more than alliances.

    There was a bug whereby your treasury would be wiped out be a Protectorate before, but I *believe* it was fixed. Certainly would be worth a try.

    As for offering them tribute...to be honest, no matter the combination the AI hates your guts and will attack you. The tributes and peace are not significantly correlated I believe. As Makedon I had the Getai nice and peaceful, sharing borders, for decades whilst I expanded elsewhere and I didnt pay them a penny.

  10. #10
    EB TRIBVNVS PLEBIS Member MarcusAureliusAntoninus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The State of Jefferson, USA
    Posts
    5,722

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    Protectorates are bugged and the 'protector' will get a crazy profit/loss every turn. The money script makes this weird treasury even worse.


  11. #11
    EBII Hod Carrier Member QuintusSertorius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    21,303

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    Quote Originally Posted by BigChef
    Thanks for the answers, i already have the forced diplomacy mod and it works with 1.1. I can make peace every turn again and again, but the next turn the stupid AS again attacks, really annoying, i hope there is a solution....
    FD works with 1.1? Does that mean not a lot was changed in the export_descr_advice.txt files? The creator of it hasn't checked yet, so wasn't sure if it did work.
    It began on seven hills - an EB 1.1 Romani AAR with historical house-rules (now ceased)
    Heirs to Lysimachos - an EB 1.1 Epeiros-as-Pergamon AAR with semi-historical houserules (now ceased)
    Philetairos' Gift - a second EB 1.1 Epeiros-as-Pergamon AAR


  12. #12
    Like the Parthian Boot Member Elmetiacos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    The Forests of Roestoc
    Posts
    1,708

    Default Re: Problem with Alliances/Diplomacy

    They do this to me every time as well. I came to the conclusion it's a much better idea to spend your money bribing the Parthians so they stick with you when AS does stab you in the back.
    'you owe it to that famous chick general whose name starts with a B'
    OILAM TREBOPALA INDI PORCOM LAEBO INDI INTAM PECINAM ELMETIACUI

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO