Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: quick q

  1. #1
    Stranger in a strange land Moderator Hooahguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Swampville
    Posts
    11,474

    Default quick q

    if i go and go to add remove programs, then remove EB through there, then erase the EB folders in the RTW folder, is it ok to then install EB v1.1 in it, or do i have to completely remove everything and start over?
    thanks!
    On the Path to the Streets of Gold: a Suebi AAR
    Visited:
    A man who casts no shadow has no soul.
    Hvil i fred HoreTore

  2. #2
    People's Padishah Emperor Member Emperor Burakuku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Salusa Secundus
    Posts
    437

    Default Re: quick q

    I guess you must remove RTW also. Well, I am sure you must remove it.
    "The more people I meet, the more I like my dog"

  3. #3

    Default Re: quick q

    I guess you must remove RTW also. Well, I am sure you must remove it.
    Thats just evil.

    You dont have to reinstall RTW. Just install EB1.1 after removing EB 1.0

  4. #4
    Stranger in a strange land Moderator Hooahguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Swampville
    Posts
    11,474

    Default Re: quick q

    thanks!
    On the Path to the Streets of Gold: a Suebi AAR
    Visited:
    A man who casts no shadow has no soul.
    Hvil i fred HoreTore

  5. #5
    People's Padishah Emperor Member Emperor Burakuku's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Salusa Secundus
    Posts
    437

    Default Re: quick q

    That's because I am evil. Honestly, I thought you have to remove it... sorry. I saw that no one is willing to help the poor poor Hooahguy and... ups! Now seriously, I had no intention!
    "The more people I meet, the more I like my dog"

  6. #6
    NOBAΛO AYΣE Member Ayce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    București, România
    Posts
    442

    Default Re: quick q

    I actually installed over 1.0

  7. #7

    Default Re: quick q

    You need to reinstall Rome: Total War before installing EB 1.1 ONLY IF.......

    ....you've installed any mini-mod (apart from EB 1.0) in the main Rome: Total War/data/ directory itself.

    EB 1.0 has all it's data stored in a separate sub-folder (called EB), so it doesn't change your main Rome Total War/data/ folder.

    But other small mini-mods might have been installed directly into your main folder.

    In other words, if your main Rome Total War/data/ folder has been modified since you applied the latest patch, i.e. you've dropped various altered text files directly into that folder, then you'll need to reinstall R:TW from scratch, so you have what's called a 'CLEAN' installation.

  8. #8

    Default Re: quick q

    Quote Originally Posted by Ayce
    I actually installed over 1.0

    I just renamed the eb folder and installed 1.1 I can now run both the 1.0 and 1.1 versions.

  9. #9
    EB TRIBVNVS PLEBIS Member MarcusAureliusAntoninus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    The State of Jefferson, USA
    Posts
    5,722

    Default Re: quick q

    Quote Originally Posted by Xurr
    I just renamed the eb folder and installed 1.1 I can now run both the 1.0 and 1.1 versions.
    The problem with that is that some files reference things under the "EB" folder. That means your renamed v1.0 install will be referencing v1.1 files for some operations. You many never have a problem, but if some files that are being referenced have changed substantially since v1.0 you'll get a random CTD.


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO