The Situation:

A private army is being constructed for Kagemusha. In 1129-2, his army consists of his bodyguard, 2 town militia, and 1 spear militia. Nearby is an army which apparently was originally recruited to help bulk up Kage's PA. This army consists of 2 peasant archers and an Alan Light Cavalry. Trebizond is also nearby, and its garrison consists of Lisas Attaleiatas, a peasant archers, and a Skythikon (HA unit).

The Megas Thread includes the following posts at the start of the 1129 turn:

Kan: I recruited a HA at Treb to replace the cavalry I am taking back from him.

...

The Alan Cav that came from Trebizond is now reclaimed by the office of the Megas. It is not to be moved.
The second line references the Alan Light Cavalry which is in the nearby Captain-led 3 units stack. This statement clearly prevents that unit from being moved by anyone.

Kage then takes the save, moves his stack slightly east, and merges into it the following units: 1 peasant archers and the Alan Light Cavalry from the nearby 3-unit stack, and the Skythikon from Trebizond. This is found in 1129-3.

At this time, Trebizond is owned by Lisas Attaleiatas and the following orders apply to its garrison:

Garrison movable by any Komnenodoukai general, as long as 2 units are left to act as a garrison.

...

leave all units unless ordered to move
Following this, PK takes the save and does the following: disbands the Alan Light Cavalry in the stack with Kage's avatar and merges the remaining peasant archers into the stack. This is found in 1129-5.

At the time, Kage's SOT orders for his PA are:

Private Army:
My private army should be gathered in Tblisi.
----------

Analysis:

Kage's movement of the Alan Light Cavalry is a clear violation of the rules. The rules very clearly do not allow him to have command over the nearby Captain-led stack of 3 units. That is the domain of the Megas alone. Though all three of these units were initially recruited to make up Kage's PA, PK very clearly stated that the Alan Light Cavalry were no longer his to use and were not to be moved. As they were still in the Captain-led stack at the time this order was made, it was valid. Kage had no right to move the Alan Light Cavalry and violated the rules by doing so.

Kage's movement of the HA is legal, because he is a Komnenodoukai general and Lisas Attaleiatas and one other unit remain inside Trebizond, meeting the Trebizond SOT orders.

PK subsequently disbands the Alan Light Cavalry inside of Kage's army. This is an act of retribution for Kage's illegal movement of the Alan Light Cavalry. This disbanding is legal because Kage did not put any restrictions of any kind on the composition, movement, or disbanding of any units in his PA. Kage claims this is illegal, because the Alan Light Cavalry was his only unit of cavalry, since the Skythikon counts as archers instead of cavalry. This argument is irrelevant to Kage's own rule violation, though it has bearing on PK's actions and raises an issue that I will clarify for future reference:

Horse Archer units count as BOTH cavalry and archer when determining whether they meet PA/RA minimum strength requirements. Thus, a unit of HA can count towards the cavalry requirement or the archer requirement

----------

Conclusion:

Kage violated a game Rule by moving a unit that he had no right to command under the rules and which the Megas had specifically stated could not be moved. Even if Kage was correct that HA counted only as archers, he still had no right to move the Alan Light Cavalry. If I had ruled that HA were only archers, then Kage should have used the proper legal method for dealing with a Megas' failure to bring his PA up to minimum strength.

PK's disbanding of the Alan Light Cavalry was legal because there is no possible way to read Kage's SOT post as forbidding such an action and it did not reduce Kage's PA below the minimum requirements, because HAs can count as cavalry or archers. However, he disbanded the Alan Light Cavalry unit full well knowing that it was unclear whether HAs counted as cavalry or archers. Had I ruled that HAs counted as archers only, he would have violated the rules by reducing Kage's PA below the minimum strength requirements. While this thread and its instructions were not posted at the time that he did this, PK knew exactly what was going to start happening with this thread because he read and acknowledged my post on it in the OOC thread. Thus he was aware that unclear situations like this must be clarified first and that even though I have ruled that he acted properly, the fact that he did not check before doing something that was known to be vague is itself a rule violation. The proper course of action should have been to contact me to determine whether HAs count as cavalry or archers.

Kagemusha is hereby given a warning due to a rule violation. There are no penalties for a warning.

Privateerkev is hereby given a warning due to a rule violation. There are no penalties for a warning.