Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

  1. #1
    Auspicious Interceptor Member YellowMelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    374

    Default 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    Slow Motion bug - no idea what caused this and I tried to minimize the game to open fraps and record it because it was quite funny looking. Basically I could move around fine, but the men were going slow like a scene from a Zack Snyder movie. Serves me right for sieging Quebec.

    Strange siege scenario - I occupied Niagara and was under siege, so I sent an army to relieve. Well in battle, my army occupying the town reinforced from off the map. The ai started right in front of the fort and walked in, making it impossible for me to win. Hurray!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Senior Member Fisherking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East of Augusta Vindelicorum
    Posts
    5,575

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    And you are sure the game speed was not set to slow motion?

    I have had no luck minimizing the demo, but I don’t have the game yet.

    I hope it was inadvertent selection of the slow mo speed…


    Education: that which reveals to the wise,
    and conceals from the stupid,
    the vast limits of their knowledge.
    Mark Twain

  3. #3
    Auspicious Interceptor Member YellowMelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    It was on Normal speed, I had to have it on double time and even then it didn't look like normal.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Senior Member Fisherking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East of Augusta Vindelicorum
    Posts
    5,575

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    You system is….?

    Was the machine hot?

    Maybe just a temporary overload in processing?


    Education: that which reveals to the wise,
    and conceals from the stupid,
    the vast limits of their knowledge.
    Mark Twain

  5. #5
    Illuminated Moderator Pogo Panic Champion, Graveyard Champion, Missle Attack Champion, Ninja Kid Champion, Pop-Up Killer Champion, Ratman Ralph Champion GeneralHankerchief's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    On a pirate ship
    Posts
    12,283
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    I was France, loading an army off a fleet into Canadian territory (owned by me). The game repeatedly said that I did not have access to this land and gave me the three options screen. Pressing "cancel" just brought up the screen again. I eventually clicked "ask for military access" and it gave me a diplomacy screen with France... negotiating with France.

    A second later, the game CTD'd.
    "I'm going to die anyway, and therefore have nothing more to do except deliberately annoy Lemur." -Orb, in the chat
    "Lemur. Even if he's innocent, he's a pain; so kill him." -Ignoramus
    "I'm going to need to collect all of the rants about the guilty lemur, and put them in a pretty box with ponies and pink bows. Then I'm going to sprinkle sparkly magic dust on the box, and kiss it." -Lemur
    Mafia: Promoting peace and love since June 2006

    Quote Originally Posted by TosaInu
    At times I read back my own posts [...]. It's not always clear at first glance.


  6. #6
    Member Member Alexander the Pretty Good's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    4,979

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    Maybe you surrendered.

  7. #7
    Slixpoitation Member A Very Super Market's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada, North America, Terra, Sol, Milky Way, Local Cluster, Universe
    Posts
    3,700

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    LOL!

    Probably a random glitch.
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    WELCOME TO AVSM
    Cool store, bro! I want some ham.
    No ham, pepsi.
    They make deli slices of frozen pepsi now? Awesome!
    You also need to purchase a small freezer for storage of your pepsi.
    It runs on batteries. You'll need a few.
    Uhh, I guess I won't have pepsi then. Do you have change for a twenty?
    You can sift through the penny jar
    ALL WILL BE CONTINUED

    - Proud Horseman of the Presence

  8. #8
    The Laughing Knight Member Sir Beane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Heanor, Derbyshire, England
    Posts
    1,724

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    I have found a couple:

    My boats seem to think the English channel is land, and won't sail to certain areas of it.

    Boats in the second furthest north trade spot off the Brazil coast got stuck, the trade route cancelled itself and they decided they were on land and could not move. I had to disband them.


    ~ I LOVE DEMOS ~

    . -- ---------- --
    . By your powers combined I am!
    . ----------------------


  9. #9
    Ashigaru Member Vlad Tzepes's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Romania, The Impaler's Training Ground
    Posts
    393

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    I've experienced that slow motion effect myself, I've seen the AI doing it (was too amazed to check my own units). In RTI battle. Lasted for about 10-20 seconds, then it came back to life.
    "Whose motorcycle is this?", "It's a chopper, baby.", "Whose chopper is this?", "Zed's.", "Who's Zed?", "Zed's dead baby. Zed's dead." - Butch and Fabienne ride off into the sunset in Pulp Fiction.

  10. #10

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    I had the same slow moving troops when fighting on the Quebec map.

    I don't think it is a bug though, there are parts of that map which are swamp land. It was hard to see but when I zoomed in close to my slow moving units I saw that the terrain seemed to be waterlogged; there was high grass with water beneath it. I'm playing on medium settings so it was difficult to spot, maybe this type of terrain is easier seen when playing on a higher graphic option. But once I finally managed to get out of that terrain (after a bloody massacre of French, Native and my own troops) my remaining army was moving fine at normal speed.

  11. #11
    Auspicious Interceptor Member YellowMelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    It happened to me on the Quebec map as well.

  12. #12
    Bland Assassin Member Zatoichi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    London
    Posts
    438

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    I just had a repeatable CTD attacking the port outside Quebec with my fleet loaded with my army during the RTI campaign. I'd click on the port with my fleet, they'd sail up to it, turn slightly, then the game CTD. I tried it 3 times in a row.

    Other than that, it seems pretty stable so far.

  13. #13

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    The exceptionally slow motion is caused by swampy ground. It's kind of tough to spot but cannon balls make splashes when they fire in it. The men move faaaaaaaaar slower then they should however.

    Also not a bug but is their anyway to turn off the automatic re-ordering of my unit stacks :( Sometimes it puts new units at the back and i like to have it neat.
    Last edited by Zoring; 03-05-2009 at 04:56.

  14. #14
    Member Member Szun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    66

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    i had a ctd with the following message:

    Error, out of graphic memroy

    i got a 4x2.6GHz 8gig ram, with GTX-280 1GB

    i was like rofl...a game that puts my comp to the limit

    i also had a couple random ctds

  15. #15
    Auspicious Interceptor Member YellowMelon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    I still think it was a bug, because on the Quebec map I killed/routed everyone, and the battle wouldn't end. I had to quit out and it said defeat :/

  16. #16

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    I have had two CTDs in 4 hours of playing the campaign. . . one on the campaign map, one during a naval battle . . . no obvious relation between the two.
    "I think it was the right decision to disarm Saddam Hussein, and when the President made the decision, I supported him, and I support the fact that we did disarm him." Senator John Kerry, May 4, 2003

    "It's the wrong war, in the wrong place at the wrong time." Senator John Kerry, 7 September, 2004

  17. #17
    Senior Member Senior Member Fisherking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East of Augusta Vindelicorum
    Posts
    5,575

    Default Re: 1 Hour in, Bugs found

    I am guessing that it is indeed the swamps that cause the slow motion.

    Some glitches have been found and they are listed in the first 24 hours thread.

    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?t=113715

    Too many threads are not getting their just discussions and this one seems solved.

    So…


    CLOSED!


    Education: that which reveals to the wise,
    and conceals from the stupid,
    the vast limits of their knowledge.
    Mark Twain

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO