Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Trading Posts??

  1. #1

    Default Trading Posts??

    OK well I am playing my first game as Sweeden on H/H...Needless to say I just got smacked down by the Danish and Prussians (I should have accepted that territory swap from the prussians because they just declared war instead and smoked me)...

    Anyhow I have managed to get 2 Indiamen trading ships onto 2 seperate trade ports in Brazil. However, I am not showing a trade route coming back home? Any advice, I'm guessing I have to build something but since I don't have the manual not sure what I need to do.

    Also the AI seems a bit erratic but thats probably a good thing (predictability leads to exploiting the AI...I have gotten crushed in my Sea battles and fought pretty evenly on the land battles. Good news there is I was not able to just sweep them aside.

  2. #2
    the G-Diffuser Senior Member pevergreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,585
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Trading Posts??

    As far as I can tell, its just automatic trade income. Check various trade scrolls throughout your empire, i guess.
    Quote Originally Posted by TosaInu
    The org will be org until everyone calls it a day.

    Quote Originally Posted by KukriKhan View Post
    but I joke. Some of my best friends are Vietnamese villages.
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemur
    Anyone who wishes to refer to me as peverlemur is free to do so.

  3. #3
    The Laughing Knight Member Sir Beane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Heanor, Derbyshire, England
    Posts
    1,724

    Default Re: Trading Posts??

    Actually I think this may be a bug. I had a similar problem, and previously the trade routes had worked fine.

    They disappeared one turn and suddenly my ships acted as if I was trying to make them move onto land, wherever I told them to go. I eventually had to disband them.


    ~ I LOVE DEMOS ~

    . -- ---------- --
    . By your powers combined I am!
    . ----------------------


  4. #4
    the G-Diffuser Senior Member pevergreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,585
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Trading Posts??

    They did say something about trade was going to be patched.
    Quote Originally Posted by TosaInu
    The org will be org until everyone calls it a day.

    Quote Originally Posted by KukriKhan View Post
    but I joke. Some of my best friends are Vietnamese villages.
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemur
    Anyone who wishes to refer to me as peverlemur is free to do so.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Trading Posts??

    ok glad to know it should be automatic...also when I moved my trade ship in I had an escort with it...next time I'll move the trade ship in alone..

  6. #6

    Default Re: Trading Posts??

    Well I have tried again to establish trade by moving an indiaman shiip onto a trade port. this time I am in the Ivory Coast area and I don't get any trade results.

    Do I need a special tech?

    Also do I need to have an open trade route from my port (both my trade routes are currently taken by trade with England and France)?

    Any help would be great because I am not getting the trade route dotted line to run from the trade port back to my capital.

  7. #7
    Member Member Phog_of_War's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Fargo (Yeah, yeah, but IRL we dont talk like that here)
    Posts
    225

    Default Re: Trading Posts??

    Do you have a trade port in your far flung province? And at least one trade port in you homelands?
    Genius by birth, slacker by choice.
    <=== Member since 2000

    I have all the morality of a drunk eight-year-old and the self-awareness of a cold bag of ham, but in my occasional windows of clarity, even I'm cognizant of the fact that I am the last person on the planet who should have access to unstoppable mental powers. -Dan O' Brian @ Cracked.com

    Ja Mata, Tosa Inu

  8. #8
    Member Member Gustav II Adolf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: Trading Posts??

    I have this problem too. I have an indianman in a tradeslot in Brazil and it generates no trade. I have several tradeports in different regions but they dont seem to trade either. If this is supposed to be CA needs to explain better how the game works. The manual says very little about this game and it's complicated mechanics.


    G
    Last edited by Gustav II Adolf; 03-05-2009 at 21:42.
    The renaissance total war, colonial total war, imperial total war - That┤s what we need

  9. #9
    Ranting madman of the .org Senior Member Fly Shoot Champion, Helicopter Champion, Pedestrian Killer Champion, Sharpshooter Champion, NFS Underground Champion Rhyfelwyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    In a hopeless place with no future
    Posts
    8,646

    Default Re: Trading Posts??

    This feature seems to be working fine for me. Just a single Indiaman gets me 320 per turn from sugar in one of the Brazilian ports. You can check it by going to the faction info screen (the big button between objectives/end turns, and then look at the Trade tab.
    At the end of the day politics is just trash compared to the Gospel.

  10. #10
    The Laughing Knight Member Sir Beane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Heanor, Derbyshire, England
    Posts
    1,724

    Default Re: Trading Posts??

    Quote Originally Posted by Rhyfelwyr View Post
    This feature seems to be working fine for me. Just a single Indiaman gets me 320 per turn from sugar in one of the Brazilian ports. You can check it by going to the faction info screen (the big button between objectives/end turns, and then look at the Trade tab.
    It worked for me initially but then one turn the trade route just disappeared for no reason. Then my ships decided the sea was land, and I had to disband them. Just a heads up, i ncase you have any expensive/important ships as escorts. You might want to move them.


    ~ I LOVE DEMOS ~

    . -- ---------- --
    . By your powers combined I am!
    . ----------------------


Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO