Thread: Taking out the Barbary States - good idea?

Default Taking out the Barbary States - good idea?

I'm new to ETW, just starting my first campaign. Playing as England, and reading some of the strategies, I'm avoiding getting involved in European wars and focusing on North America and India. Before I start declaring war, I thought it might be easy pickings to take out the pirates, whom I'm already at war with. In addition, I'll be wanting to maximize trade and pirates would run counter to that. The pirate islands in the Caribbean seem to be a no-brainer. But what about the Barbary pirates? Are they worth taking? Or are they going to be weak provinces requiring constant garrisons to keep rebellions down?

Blog Entries

Default Re: Taking out the Barbary States - good idea?

Just post a few ships at gibralter to blockade the mouth of the Mediterranean and kill off all the ones outside it, that way you can just ignore them completely for the rest of the game.
    Being better than the worst does not inherently make you good. But being better than the rest lets you brag.

Quote Originally Posted by Strike For The South View Post
    Don't be scared that you don't freak out. Be scared when you don't care about freaking out
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

Slixpoitation Member A Very Super Market's Avatar
    Vancouver, BC, Canada, North America, Terra, Sol, Milky Way, Local Cluster, Universe

Your only trade partner where the Barbaries will threaten in the Ottomans, and the Barbary states are allied with them. So, no real risk there. I wouldn't go after them, because it will bring you into an annoying sideshow (The Med)
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    WELCOME TO AVSM
    Cool store, bro! I want some ham.
    No ham, pepsi.
    They make deli slices of frozen pepsi now? Awesome!
    You also need to purchase a small freezer for storage of your pepsi.
    It runs on batteries. You'll need a few.