Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Crash on starting a Campaign

  1. #1
    The drunken Duke Member Suraknar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Navigating the realm of Ideas
    Posts
    684

    Default Crash on starting a Campaign

    Alright, have been trying to fix this for the past 2 days.

    Whenever I would click the button to start a new Grand Campaign, the screen would go White, and I would get an Exception which would result in the game crashing, or a memory Dump that would cause my system to restart.

    Uninstalled the game via Steam and reinstalled, and would not fix the issue.

    (I noticed a problem here this time, after the game installed Steam started updating it, but the final installation screen has the check to launch the game, so the game did try to launch with the updating being at 34%, it may have corrupted some files)

    Nevertheless, I started thinking drivers issue (or worse Video Card issues), so Updated Nvidia Drivers from Asus (not from Nvidia), and also got the latest DirectX 9c (November 2008 edition), as I am running WinXP SP3.

    Then reinstalled the game a third time.

    Low and behold, the crash happened again, I was out of options.

    Finally it hit me to try to clear the preferences file under Documents and Settings\(Your Profile)\Application Data\The Creative assembly\Empire\Scripts\ and renamed the Preferences.empire_script.txt to Preferences.empire_scripts.bak and started the game, Also deleted Saved Game Files too, both of which do not get removed when you uninstall the game with steam, this time all worked nicely.

    I also did notice a more fluid performance, most possibly due to the updated Drivers and DirectX.

    Just thought to share this here for anyone else that may have experienced this.


    Event viewer data:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    Faulting application empire.exe, version 1.0.0.0, faulting module empire.exe, version 1.0.0.0, fault address 0x008037cc.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

    0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74 Applicat
    0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c ion Fail
    0010: 75 72 65 20 20 65 6d 70 ure emp
    0018: 69 72 65 2e 65 78 65 20 ire.exe
    0020: 31 2e 30 2e 30 2e 30 20 1.0.0.0
    0028: 69 6e 20 65 6d 70 69 72 in empir
    0030: 65 2e 65 78 65 20 31 2e e.exe 1.
    0038: 30 2e 30 2e 30 20 61 74 0.0.0 at
    0040: 20 6f 66 66 73 65 74 20 offset
    0048: 30 30 38 30 33 37 63 63 008037cc
    0050: 0d 0a ..


    System Specs:

    WINXP SP3
    AMD Phenom 3X 2.4 Ghz
    4 Gig of DDR2 1066 Mgz RAM
    Nvidia 9600 GT 512 DDR3 1800 Mgz VRAM
    EIDE HDDs. (I know they slow going SATA soon).

    Cheers!
    Last edited by Suraknar; 03-14-2009 at 19:25.
    Duke Surak'nar
    "Η ΤΑΝ Η ΕΠΙ ΤΑΣ"
    From: Residing:
    Traveled to: Over 70 Countries, most recent: and

    ~ Ask not what modding can do for you, rather ask what you can do for modding ~
    ~ Everyone dies, not everyone really fights ~

  2. #2
    Monk of the Blue Ridge Member Mori Zennousha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Salem, Virginia, U.S.A.
    Posts
    181

    Default Re: Crash on starting a Campaign

    Greetings Suraknar,

    Thanks a million for this post... you have saved me from a lot more aggravation than I have already experienced, and I am certain you will save many others as well!

    This is the first game I have gotten through Steam, and I was seriously beginning to wonder if I had made a mistake. I'm not blaming Steam at all, mind you; it's just that, when things go wrong, there's one more software layer there that could be causing problems...

    One thing I would say to the patch-makers at CA: if the cause for crashes like these is something as simple as this, can't you take care of it when the patch is applied? One was just released on the 10th, right? Just throwing that out there...

    Thanks again, Suraknar,

    z

    oh yeah:
    WinXP Pro SP3
    AMD Athlon X2 4200+
    3GB OCZ DDR2
    Gigabyte 9800GT 1GB GDDR3
    Last edited by Mori Zennousha; 03-14-2009 at 19:53. Reason: more info

  3. #3

    Default Re: Crash on starting a Campaign

    Pardon the n00b question, but, how do I find out my computer's sceps?

  4. #4
    Slixpoitation Member A Very Super Market's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vancouver, BC, Canada, North America, Terra, Sol, Milky Way, Local Cluster, Universe
    Posts
    3,700

    Default Re: Crash on starting a Campaign

    You could look at the sticker on your computer.
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    WELCOME TO AVSM
    Cool store, bro! I want some ham.
    No ham, pepsi.
    They make deli slices of frozen pepsi now? Awesome!
    You also need to purchase a small freezer for storage of your pepsi.
    It runs on batteries. You'll need a few.
    Uhh, I guess I won't have pepsi then. Do you have change for a twenty?
    You can sift through the penny jar
    ALL WILL BE CONTINUED

    - Proud Horseman of the Presence

  5. #5

    Default Re: Crash on starting a Campaign

    Quote Originally Posted by jsberry View Post
    Pardon the n00b question, but, how do I find out my computer's sceps?
    Run (or search if on vista) "dxdiag"

  6. #6

    Default Re: Crash on starting a Campaign

    Thanks Monarch. Can somebody please tell me if this is supposed to be sufficient for ETW:

    Time of this report: 3/14/2009, 21:59:07
    Machine name: HOME-5BB1502475
    Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_qfe.080814-1242)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    System Model: NVDAACPI
    BIOS: )Phoenix - Award WorkstationBIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
    Memory: 958MB RAM
    Page File: 597MB used, 946MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode

  7. #7
    Monk of the Blue Ridge Member Mori Zennousha's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Salem, Virginia, U.S.A.
    Posts
    181

    Default Re: Crash on starting a Campaign

    Quote Originally Posted by jsberry View Post
    Thanks Monarch. Can somebody please tell me if this is supposed to be sufficient for ETW:

    Time of this report: 3/14/2009, 21:59:07
    Machine name: HOME-5BB1502475
    Operating System: Windows XP Home Edition (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 2 (2600.xpsp_sp2_qfe.080814-1242)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    System Model: NVDAACPI
    BIOS: )Phoenix - Award WorkstationBIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3600+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
    Memory: 958MB RAM
    Page File: 597MB used, 946MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\WINDOWS
    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 5.03.2600.2180 32bit Unicode
    Hey man,

    I was going to ask about your video card, but that's probably not even necessary... 958MB RAM? That's not going to cut the proverbial mustard. And if you're on an integrated graphics machine, well, you're going to have some work to do before it's ready for ETW. Depending on what you've got, a new machine may be in order.

    hope that helps,
    z

  8. #8
    the G-Diffuser Senior Member pevergreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    11,585
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default Re: Crash on starting a Campaign

    If that can play a decent battle on low settings, I would be surprised.
    Quote Originally Posted by TosaInu
    The org will be org until everyone calls it a day.

    Quote Originally Posted by KukriKhan View Post
    but I joke. Some of my best friends are Vietnamese villages.
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemur
    Anyone who wishes to refer to me as peverlemur is free to do so.

  9. #9
    The drunken Duke Member Suraknar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Navigating the realm of Ideas
    Posts
    684

    Default Re: Crash on starting a Campaign

    Quote Originally Posted by Mori Zennousha View Post
    Greetings Suraknar,

    Thanks a million for this post... you have saved me from a lot more aggravation than I have already experienced, and I am certain you will save many others as well!

    This is the first game I have gotten through Steam, and I was seriously beginning to wonder if I had made a mistake. I'm not blaming Steam at all, mind you; it's just that, when things go wrong, there's one more software layer there that could be causing problems...

    One thing I would say to the patch-makers at CA: if the cause for crashes like these is something as simple as this, can't you take care of it when the patch is applied? One was just released on the 10th, right? Just throwing that out there...

    Thanks again, Suraknar,

    z

    oh yeah:
    WinXP Pro SP3
    AMD Athlon X2 4200+
    3GB OCZ DDR2
    Gigabyte 9800GT 1GB GDDR3
    Greetings Mori Zennousha,

    Your welcome, glad it helped.

    ---

    JSberry, I would put another Gig or Ram, and you should be good to go.
    Last edited by Suraknar; 03-15-2009 at 17:37.
    Duke Surak'nar
    "Η ΤΑΝ Η ΕΠΙ ΤΑΣ"
    From: Residing:
    Traveled to: Over 70 Countries, most recent: and

    ~ Ask not what modding can do for you, rather ask what you can do for modding ~
    ~ Everyone dies, not everyone really fights ~

  10. #10
    Member Member Phog_of_War's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Fargo (Yeah, yeah, but IRL we dont talk like that here)
    Posts
    225

    Default Re: Crash on starting a Campaign

    The solution for the GC crash is here. Hope it works for you.

    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?t=114404
    Genius by birth, slacker by choice.
    <=== Member since 2000

    I have all the morality of a drunk eight-year-old and the self-awareness of a cold bag of ham, but in my occasional windows of clarity, even I'm cognizant of the fact that I am the last person on the planet who should have access to unstoppable mental powers. -Dan O' Brian @ Cracked.com

    Ja Mata, Tosa Inu

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO