Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

  1. #1
    ERROR READING USER PROFILE Member AqD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112

    Talking All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Is it a bug or a new feature in 1.2? I just realized all of my families in cities become type 4 governors (client rulers?) and impostors, even through all settlements have either type 1 (Royal Pontic Territory) or type 2 (Pontic Persian Satrapy) governments......

    So clearly the "Imposter" is triggered by being type 4 governor and siting in some settlement without type 4 government. But why did my families (including leader and heir) become type 4 governors?

    going to fix that myself ....

  2. #2
    Member Member Macilrille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Aarhus, Denmark
    Posts
    1,592

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    I know nothing of that, but should this not be in the bug reports section?
    'For months Augustus let hair and beard grow and occasionally banged his head against the walls whilst shouting; "Quinctillius Varus, give me my legions back"' -Sueton, Augustus.

    "Deliver us oh God, from the fury of the Norsemen", French prayer, 9th century.
    Ask gi'r klask! ask-vikingekampgruppe.dk

    Balloon count: 13

  3. #3
    ERROR READING USER PROFILE Member AqD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    112

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    oh so it's really a bug? well some moderator please move the thread :P

  4. #4
    the universal person Member everyone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    1,340

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    have you possibly attempted to load a v1.1 save onto v1.2? doing so would lead to weird traits like them being 'slain by sabaeans'

  5. #5
    EB on ALX player Member ziegenpeter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    COLONIA CLAVDIA ARA AGRIPPINENSIVM
    Posts
    741

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    yep thats pretty mucg what happened to my 1.1 savegame when I loaded it on 1.2

    "A wise man once said: Never buy a game full price!"
    - Another wise man

  6. #6
    Haruhiist Member Zett's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Republik Freies Wendland
    Posts
    244

    Default AW: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    I had the same problem too. After I adopted a recruited general (Man of Honor event) it happens that several other familiemembers lost their 'familie member' trait and get the 'client ruler' trait. I reinstalled EB reloaded my save games, killed all the affected familie members (let them die in battles) and it didn't happen again. But I'm to 90% sure that my old EB installation was ok, I only made some EDU and EDB changes nothing more.

    Ceterum censeo Romam esse delendam

    Edit: I'm using rtw.exe
    Last edited by Zett; 03-18-2009 at 22:29.


    Balloon Count: 4

    My Greek Nobles:
    from satalexton, his name is Plato
    from satalexton, his name is Sōkrátēs
    from satalexton, his nam is Aristotélēs

  7. #7
    Member Member Ravenfeeder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Plymouth, UK
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    If you are using bi.exe (and alex.exe?) and upgraded from 1.1 to 1.2, the upgrade will not have overwritten descr_strat.txt in ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\barbarian_invasion

    This file updated all the starting FM's to have the 'Family Member' trait. I noticed this after both Phyrros and some Hai FM's became mercenary generals!

  8. #8

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Quote Originally Posted by Ravenfeeder View Post
    If you are using bi.exe (and alex.exe?) and upgraded from 1.1 to 1.2, the upgrade will not have overwritten descr_strat.txt in ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\barbarian_invasion

    This file updated all the starting FM's to have the 'Family Member' trait. I noticed this after both Phyrros and some Hai FM's became mercenary generals!

    and how can you fix this, I have the same problem with BI ??

  9. #9
    Member Member Ravenfeeder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Plymouth, UK
    Posts
    121

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    copy descr_strat.txt from ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\imperial campaign to ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\barbarian_invasion, overwriting the old one.

    This will not affect a game that has already been started.

  10. #10
    Member Member Raygereio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Arnhem
    Posts
    139

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Quote Originally Posted by Ravenfeeder View Post
    If you are using bi.exe (and alex.exe?) and upgraded from 1.1 to 1.2, the upgrade will not have overwritten descr_strat.txt in ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\barbarian_invasion
    Alex.exe doesn't have this problem as you can point it toward the imperial_campaign with the -noalexander command.
    As for BI, erm, why not simply grab the EB1.2 descr_strat.txt file from imperial_campaign and place it into barbarian_invasion?
    Last edited by Raygereio; 03-23-2009 at 13:19.

  11. #11

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Thanks a lot, that was it
    Last edited by Teutobod II; 03-23-2009 at 20:11.

  12. #12

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Quote Originally Posted by Ravenfeeder View Post
    copy descr_strat.txt from ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\imperial campaign to ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\barbarian_invasion, overwriting the old one.

    This will not affect a game that has already been started.

    but now I can´t get any type 4 governors for e.g. Tarras or Rhegion ???


    Last edited by Teutobod II; 04-01-2009 at 09:47.

  13. #13
    Member Member Nachtmeister's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Hamburg, Germany
    Posts
    386

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Weird... In my current Sweboz campaign, I encountered a similar problem: A type IV governor recruited in a Type IV settlement (Scandinavia) got the "interloper" trait...
    Installed RTW Gold, installed EB1.1, installed EB 1.2, applied the adjustments from
    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showp...3&postcount=85.
    All done in same order as written above.
    Thus, the descr_strat.txt issue should not be responsible...
    Everything else seems to be working just fine.

    I am honoured to have been presented with my first baloons - - by Ibrahim for tactical observations
    and with my second balloon by Christopher Burgoyne for physical elaboration on the advantages conferred by the Kontos over the Xyston.

  14. #14

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Quote Originally Posted by Teutobod II View Post

    Originally Posted by Ravenfeeder
    copy descr_strat.txt from ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\imperial campaign to ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\barbarian_invasi on, overwriting the old one.

    This will not affect a game that has already been started.
    but now I can´t get any type 4 governors for e.g. Tarras or Rhegion ???


    no help ?

  15. #15
    EB annoying hornet Member bovi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11,412

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Some regions don't have recruitable generals. You can import one from another gov4 city.

    Having problems getting EB2 to run? Try these solutions.
    ================
    I do NOT answer PM requests for help with EB. Ask in a new help thread in the tech help forum.
    ================
    I think computer viruses should count as life. I think it says something about human nature that the only form of life we have created so far is purely destructive. We've created life in our own image. - Stephen Hawking

  16. #16

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Quote Originally Posted by bovi View Post
    Some regions don't have recruitable generals. You can import one from another gov4 city.
    OOOHHH, at least its not a bug, thanks for the info

  17. #17
    EB annoying hornet Member bovi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11,412

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Well, it's a bug per se, but I have not been able to get historian input on what unit type the remaining settlements should have, so it will remain unfixed. I think perhaps there is an unofficial mod which adds them though.

    Having problems getting EB2 to run? Try these solutions.
    ================
    I do NOT answer PM requests for help with EB. Ask in a new help thread in the tech help forum.
    ================
    I think computer viruses should count as life. I think it says something about human nature that the only form of life we have created so far is purely destructive. We've created life in our own image. - Stephen Hawking

  18. #18

    Lightbulb client rulers 2

    simple solution here

    stupid me - if you dont copy the fixes into the proper files off corse it cant work then
    Last edited by Teutobod II; 04-14-2009 at 19:17.

  19. #19
    EB annoying hornet Member bovi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    11,412

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Not quite sure what you're trying to ask here, but yes. The fixes need to be installed in the correct location.

    Having problems getting EB2 to run? Try these solutions.
    ================
    I do NOT answer PM requests for help with EB. Ask in a new help thread in the tech help forum.
    ================
    I think computer viruses should count as life. I think it says something about human nature that the only form of life we have created so far is purely destructive. We've created life in our own image. - Stephen Hawking

  20. #20

    Default Re: All my families become Type4Governors and Impostors!

    Originally Posted by Ravenfeeder
    copy descr_strat.txt from ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\imperial campaign to ..RTW\EB\Data\world\maps\campaign\barbarian_invasi on, overwriting the old one.

    This will not affect a game that has already been started.

    but now I can´t get any type 4 governors for e.g. Tarras or Rhegion ???


    Quote Originally Posted by bovi View Post
    Not quite sure what you're trying to ask here, but yes. The fixes need to be installed in the correct location.

    I didnt have any type 4 governors at all because the script fix landed in the wrong place, its where it belongs now and working fine
    Last edited by Teutobod II; 04-17-2009 at 12:38.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO