Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

  1. #1
    A Livonian Rebel Member Slaists's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,828

    Default ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    Once one techs up to ring baoyonets, the 'plug bayonet' button disappears. I was fine with that until the in-game advisor stated the following during the last battle:

    "... blah, blah, blah... ring baoynets allow the men to shoot while being attached however at a slower speed. to unplug the bayonets press the "unplug baoyonet button" on the right side of the screen".

    what button!? there is no button...
    Last edited by Slaists; 03-30-2009 at 19:07.

  2. #2
    Member Member Rufus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Posts
    332

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    Not sure but maybe because you don't have to unplug ring bayonets? That button is probably there only for plug bayonets so you can fix and remove them. When you get ring bayonets, you can shoot with them on so the button is unnecessary.
    An E:TW AAR on the American Revolution: The Long March of Liberty

  3. #3
    A Livonian Rebel Member Slaists's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,828

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
    Not sure but maybe because you don't have to unplug ring bayonets? That button is probably there only for plug bayonets so you can fix and remove them. When you get ring bayonets, you can shoot with them on so the button is unnecessary.
    well, the advisor was stating it clearly about ring bayonets... "ring bayonets allow shooting while on BUT at slower speed". the next sentence states "if you want to UNPLUG the bayonets (presumably to shoot at the original speed), press this button", the button that does not exist.

  4. #4
    Member Member Phog_of_War's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Fargo (Yeah, yeah, but IRL we dont talk like that here)
    Posts
    225

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    Im sure that it is just a misprinted text.

    When you have plug bayonetts there is a button to remove them. Sometimes (most times) the button does not work because the bayonetts are stuck in the barrel of the musket. Furiously jamming metal spikes into soft fleshy objects will do that.

    Reload is slower with the ring type of bayonetts because the blade of the bayonetts is way too close to the barrel and when reloading, if they were not careful, soliders could cut up or even cut off their fingers. The fact is, the design was on the right track it just needed a little refinement. The ring bayonetts could be removed but just like the plug type, however, they will get jammed on the barrel once used in melee. But at least you can still fire volleys.
    Last edited by Phog_of_War; 03-30-2009 at 19:45.
    Genius by birth, slacker by choice.
    <=== Member since 2000

    I have all the morality of a drunk eight-year-old and the self-awareness of a cold bag of ham, but in my occasional windows of clarity, even I'm cognizant of the fact that I am the last person on the planet who should have access to unstoppable mental powers. -Dan O' Brian @ Cracked.com

    Ja Mata, Tosa Inu

  5. #5

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    Don't listen to the advisor, he doesn't know what he is talking about

  6. #6
    Stranger in a strange land Moderator Hooahguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    The Fortress
    Posts
    11,660

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    i think the advisor part was recorded before they actually tried implementing it. i bet that when they realized it was too hard for the animations and the like, so they didnt do that, but forgot to change the advisor.
    On the Path to the Streets of Gold: a Suebi AAR
    Visited:
    A man who casts no shadow has no soul.
    Hvil i fred HoreTore

  7. #7

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    I also noticed when the Advisor talks about Square formation he suggest selecting multiple units to make a larger square, but it seems to me that you cant do it. You can try to manually make a square by placing them into position, but thy dont go defensive, front row kneels and brace their musket buts into the ground.
    di vos incolumes custodiant

  8. #8
    Praeparet bellum Member Quillan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phog_of_War View Post
    Im sure that it is just a misprinted text.

    When you have plug bayonetts there is a button to remove them. Sometimes (most times) the button does not work because the bayonetts are stuck in the barrel of the musket. Furiously jamming metal spikes into soft fleshy objects will do that.

    Reload is slower with the ring type of bayonetts because the blade of the bayonetts is way too close to the barrel and when reloading, if they were not careful, soliders could cut up or even cut off their fingers. The fact is, the design was on the right track it just needed a little refinement. The ring bayonetts could be removed but just like the plug type, however, they will get jammed on the barrel once used in melee. But at least you can still fire volleys.
    In my experience there is a button to install plug bayonets, but once installed they cannot be removed. Ring bayonets are permanently attached to the muskets; I don't know if they really slow down reloading in the game.
    Age and treachery will defeat youth and skill every time.

  9. #9
    Member Member Phog_of_War's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Fargo (Yeah, yeah, but IRL we dont talk like that here)
    Posts
    225

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    Touche'

    To be honest I have not pulled out the stopwatch to research this, but it sure seems that the reload time is slower to me. Not by much but in the heat of battle seconds count.
    Genius by birth, slacker by choice.
    <=== Member since 2000

    I have all the morality of a drunk eight-year-old and the self-awareness of a cold bag of ham, but in my occasional windows of clarity, even I'm cognizant of the fact that I am the last person on the planet who should have access to unstoppable mental powers. -Dan O' Brian @ Cracked.com

    Ja Mata, Tosa Inu

  10. #10
    Insane Imperialist. Member Feanaro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    The Greatest Country I've Ever Visited, the USA. The only country I've ever visited but still.
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    The advisors lie to you sometimes. You also can't assassinate them to get more reliable henchmen. So, take their words with a grain of salt.
    Due to the ailing economy, this space has been foreclosed.

  11. #11
    Future USMC Cobra Pilot Member Prussian to the Iron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Out too long in the midnight sea. Oh what's becoming of me?
    Posts
    3,404

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    you cannot unplug plug bayonets, ive tried. ive researched ring bayonets and socket bayonets, but for some reason i can never see them being used. is there a glitch where it doesnt show the bayonets but they use them? the abilities says they are using them, but i cannot see them nor a button sayingi can put them on/take them off.
    Add me on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001603097354
    I am an Unstoppable Force, an Immovable Object

  12. #12
    Provost Senior Member Nelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    2,762

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    This is how I thought various bayonets are supposed to work:

    Plug bayonets allows that muskets can fire until you fix bayonet then firing ends. Bayonet cannot be removed for the rest of the battle. Troops are melee only.

    Ring bayonets are like plug bayonets EXCEPT they can be removed to allow firing to resume. To use them in melee again they can be reaffixed.

    Socket bayonets are fixed permanently and allow firing. No need to ever unfix them.

    Am I mistaken?
    Time flies like the wind. Fruit flies like bananas.

  13. #13
    Member Member Dogfish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Wilmington, North Carolina, United States, Earth
    Posts
    97

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nelson View Post
    This is how I thought various bayonets are supposed to work:

    Plug bayonets allows that muskets can fire until you fix bayonet then firing ends. Bayonet cannot be removed for the rest of the battle. Troops are melee only.

    Ring bayonets are like plug bayonets EXCEPT they can be removed to allow firing to resume. To use them in melee again they can be reaffixed.

    Socket bayonets are fixed permanently and allow firing. No need to ever unfix them.

    Am I mistaken?
    Only in one respect: ring bayonets don't prevent you from firing, just interfere with the reloading process, thus slowing that down some. So you don't have to remove them to allow firing to resume, only to prevent the reloading interference.

  14. #14
    A Livonian Rebel Member Slaists's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,828

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    Quote Originally Posted by John-117 View Post
    you cannot unplug plug bayonets, ive tried. ive researched ring bayonets and socket bayonets, but for some reason i can never see them being used. is there a glitch where it doesnt show the bayonets but they use them? the abilities says they are using them, but i cannot see them nor a button sayingi can put them on/take them off.
    look at the animations: the units that can use them have baoynets on permanently.
    Last edited by Slaists; 04-01-2009 at 19:05.

  15. #15
    Future USMC Cobra Pilot Member Prussian to the Iron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Out too long in the midnight sea. Oh what's becoming of me?
    Posts
    3,404

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    i checked. for some reason i can never seem to see the bayonets, though it appears in the abilities tab. is it because im playing with low settings?
    Add me on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001603097354
    I am an Unstoppable Force, an Immovable Object

  16. #16
    A Livonian Rebel Member Slaists's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Posts
    1,828

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    Quote Originally Posted by John-117 View Post
    i checked. for some reason i can never seem to see the bayonets, though it appears in the abilities tab. is it because im playing with low settings?
    hmm. that is a possible explanation. probably on low settings the anti-aliasing does not work at all and the thin graphic of the bayonets just vanishes.

    on ultra: i can clearly see bayonets attached permanently once i have researched ring bayonets and higher.

  17. #17
    Future USMC Cobra Pilot Member Prussian to the Iron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Out too long in the midnight sea. Oh what's becoming of me?
    Posts
    3,404

    Default Re: ring bayonettes: another bug or omission?

    well then thats probably it. i think i have no anti-aliasing on. but thats because my other computer is barely holding up with playing it, its a 2ghz processor instead of 2.4ghz. on my main ocmputer it should run high if not ultra though.
    Add me on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001603097354
    I am an Unstoppable Force, an Immovable Object

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO