Thread: Holy damned Scotland is well defended!!

Default Holy damned Scotland is well defended!!

I'm currently in Chapter 4 of the Americas campaign.
    Due to circumstances at the start of this chapter (attacking one of the adjacent Native tribes who happened to be allied with Britain), I've been at war with Britain since the start of the chapter, slowly kicking them out of the Americas (Nathaniel Green, Nine star general, has been very handy in that regard).
    Now, once I had a few nice ports, I started trading with people in Europe. Trouble is, those trade routes run right past the UK, so Britain have been pirating them something shocking.

So I thought I'd send a few ships to deal with them... took out one GB fleet, and decided to pirate their routes rather than try to kill them.
    This got me thinking.. why not invade?

So I built up another army (Nathaniels' army was still busy taking out the far northern outposts, and my southern army was holed up in Jamaica), guarded them with half a dozen third rates, and sent them to Europe.

I took Ireland pretty easily, one defensive stack (with twelve units of artillery), wiped it out, repaired, built a peacekeeping garrison, went on to attack Scotland.

Holy hell!
    So far, before even reaching the capital, I've been attacked by four full stacks of units in Scotland, and had to retreat for repairs twice. All units are mixed Infantry/Cav/Arty, every unit at least one chevron of exp.

I know Scotland has the most awesome scenery ever and so GB would want to hold onto it as much as they can, but holy crap thats a lot of troops!

Default Re: Holy damned Scotland is well defended!!

I think it has something to do with the absence of naval transport. The AI just recruits and recruits and recruits until the province is filled with full stacks. And it does not help their line infantry is the best; that means you need even more troops to subdue the islands.