Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: The office of consul

  1. #1

    Default The office of consul

    Romani, ~234BC. I had 3 or so family members getting the Roman Triumph, vanquishers of Carthagians and Macedonians, I have a ton of pergect administrators, 5-7 stars veterans, maximum influence FM, senators, but still no Consul! None of the Romani Family members are or have been Consul(s). Does anyone knows what criteria they have to accomplish in order to become one?
    The script has been activated every time a game was loaded. The Romani campaign is the only one I play at the moment.

  2. #2
    Xsaçapāvan é Skudra Member Atraphoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    İstanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    1,402

    Default Re: The office of consul

    ;------------------------------------------
    Trigger Elected_Patrician_Consul
    WhenToTest CharacterTurnStart

    Condition Trait Patrician = 1
    and Trait Season = 1
    and Trait TurnsAlive > 3
    and Attribute Influence > 7
    and Attribute Command > 0
    and Trait Aedile < 1
    and Trait notPraetor > 0
    and Trait notConsul < 1

    Affects Consul 1 Chance 30

    ;------------------------------------------
    Trigger Elected_Plebeian_Consul
    WhenToTest CharacterTurnStart

    Condition Trait Plebeian = 1
    and Trait Season = 1
    and Trait TurnsAlive > 3
    and Attribute Influence > 7
    and Attribute Command > 0
    and Trait notPraetor > 0
    and Trait notConsul < 1

    Affects Consul 1 Chance 30

    ;------------------------------------------
    Trigger Elected_Consul_Again
    WhenToTest CharacterTurnStart

    Condition FactionType seleucid
    and Trait Season = 1
    and Attribute Influence > 7
    and Attribute Command > 1
    and Trait Censor < 1
    and Trait Consul < 1
    and Trait notConsul > 0
    and Trait TurnsOutOfOffice = 2

    Affects Consul 1 Chance 35
    these must be the consul trait triggers in "export_descr_character_traits" file just make the red number a higher number 60 / 90 maximum must be 100 but I never pass 90, too cautious am I.

    In theory save game compatible but with my experience with ancillary modification AI gives random and illogical ancillaries namely I got Legatus Legionis while playing with pahlava so any even small bit of modification corrupts some game mechanics but it does not mean it will CTD but AI will give some funny errors.

    like this : this is last status of my save game after I changed ancillary files.

    Baktrian Basileus is traitor in fact he works for pontus and he was promised the land of Thrace.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Bug.jpg 
Views:	150 
Size:	99.6 KB 
ID:	126  



    My Submods for EB
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    My AAR/Guides How to assault cities with Horse Archers? RISE OF ARSACIDS! (A Pahlava AAR) - finished
    History is written by the victor." Winston Churchill

  3. #3

    Default Re: The office of consul

    Thank you! So, minimum 8 influence, 1 command star and not Praetor?

  4. #4
    Xsaçapāvan é Skudra Member Atraphoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    İstanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    1,402

    Default Re: The office of consul

    yes you can lower them or delete a line, too.

    P.S. I can advice you for adoptions classical sharp/charismatic/vigorous generals ..
    Last edited by Atraphoenix; 05-11-2009 at 17:01.



    My Submods for EB
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    My AAR/Guides How to assault cities with Horse Archers? RISE OF ARSACIDS! (A Pahlava AAR) - finished
    History is written by the victor." Winston Churchill

  5. #5

    Default Re: The office of consul

    I had these same problems in my campaign. Konny has a mod that relaxes the standards drastically, so that you will have consuls, praetors, tribunes and quaestors virtually every year after the first 20-30 turns. It is also integrated into the Modpack too offered in the mod section too. I really can't play a romani campaign without them after using them, because using a "faction leader/heir" to be the leader in republican Rome doesn't make sense.

  6. #6
    Peerless Senior Member johnhughthom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Looking for the red blob of nothingness
    Posts
    6,344

    Default Re: The office of consul

    Generally the problem is the command star, they are so hard to come by and those annoying traits which take them away are too common. I used Konny's mod before and it did seem to improve it.

  7. #7
    Guitar God Member Mediolanicus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    On the banks of the Scaldis.
    Posts
    1,355

    Default Re: The office of consul

    I use standard EB and I'm swimming in offices for my FM's.

    I even got 3 consuls at once one year.

    I have consuls, praetors, tribunes and quaestors virtually every year after the first 20-30 turns.
    __________________

    --> - Never near Argos - <--

  8. #8
    Xsaçapāvan é Skudra Member Atraphoenix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    İstanbul, Turkey
    Posts
    1,402

    Default Re: The office of consul

    Quote Originally Posted by johnhughthom View Post
    Generally the problem is the command star, they are so hard to come by and those annoying traits which take them away are too common. I used Konny's mod before and it did seem to improve it.
    I did not touch them cos I use Konny's mod, too.
    And my mod is living happily together with his mod cos our mods are cousins not brothers, I use ancillaries he uses traits.



    My Submods for EB
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    My AAR/Guides How to assault cities with Horse Archers? RISE OF ARSACIDS! (A Pahlava AAR) - finished
    History is written by the victor." Winston Churchill

  9. #9

    Default Re: The office of consul

    I just don't get it. Following the Cursus Honorum you had to be Praetor before you could be a Consul.
    Vulnerat omnes, ultima necat



  10. #10
    Guitar God Member Mediolanicus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    On the banks of the Scaldis.
    Posts
    1,355

    Default Re: The office of consul

    Yes, that's the reason your FM's cannot become consul in EB before having been a praetor.
    __________________

    --> - Never near Argos - <--

  11. #11

    Default Re: The office of consul

    Quote Originally Posted by cezarip View Post
    Thank you! So, minimum 8 influence, 1 command star and not Praetor?
    I was talking about this. He is saying your FM must not have been Praetor.
    That sounds not right.
    Vulnerat omnes, ultima necat



  12. #12
    Guitar God Member Mediolanicus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    On the banks of the Scaldis.
    Posts
    1,355

    Default Re: The office of consul

    Not being praetor.

    Not not having been praetor.
    __________________

    --> - Never near Argos - <--

  13. #13

    Default Re: The office of consul

    Now that makes sense.

    But it would have been better if you said those are flags and the part saying

    and Trait notPraetor > 0

    Means the flag for notPraetor is off, so the negation of a negative is a positive. Math sign rules (- times - equals +) that's it. Thanks for clarifying.
    Vulnerat omnes, ultima necat



Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO