Thread: Moronic Fort Placement

Default Moronic Fort Placement

I have been playing this game for many years, and one thing has always bothered me. Who designs where the forts are placed? What drooling idiot determined their locations? Not on the strategic map, but on the battlefield level. I mean, I am no general, but why are the forts inevitably placed in a valley surrounded by steep hills? Even I could take a look at the lay of the land and choose better than the positioning of the forts in this game. Forts are at a huge disadvantage in this game. I have a besieged army right now that I simply cannot extricate from their doom. They are in a great position on the strategic map, cuting off the access across a mountain range, but in the battlefield there they sit in a valley, with an enemy army ahead of them on a hill, and another to the left flank. No matter what strategy I use, I lose massive casualties before I even get close to them. What general would choose this site to make a fort? Why not place it on the hill, giving strategic command of the area? It makes no sense!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I am an incompetist. I am a believer in incompetism. This is the belief that the universe was created by an utterly and competely incompetent god. Which god it is is unimportant. Work this out for yourself. It is the only possible answer.

Default Re: Moronic Fort Placement

Welcome to the org ptolemyauletes, enjoy your stay

Often enough its hard to tell the topography of the battle map from the strategic map, especially the slope locations, unless one has faught many times before there, so i feel your pain.

I personally abstein from using forts for more than a turn, as the player can exploit the feature and be virtually untouched from AI attacks especially in areas that have few access routes, like Anatolia, Armenia, Media.

In that way i am more on an equal footing with the AI.

The Caravel Mod: a (very much) improvedvanilla MTW/VI v2.1 early campaign