Thread: recommended difficulty

Wandering Metsuke Senior Member Zim's Avatar

Default recommended difficulty

Did a few searches but didn't find anything recent (I apologize if I missed an obvious thread due to poor search word choices ).

I'm just coming back to try ETW after not playing it for a year (finally have a computer that can handle it). I've heard with the recent patches the game is much harder. I've been wondering what difficulty most orgers play the game at.
    V&V RIP Helmut Becker, Duke of Bavaria.

Come to the Throne Room for hotseats and TW rpgs!

Kermit's made a TWS2 guide? Oh, the other frog....

Default Re: recommended difficulty

Well I'm new to the game but not TW in general. I wouldn't use harder than M for Campaign if you like diplomacy. Take your pick for difficulty for battles. I generally use M or H.
    EDIT: And the diplomacy is WAY better in this than previous TW games. Though from what I gather the AI is more aggressive (well, interestingly so at least), but diplomacy works on M, so...
    Last edited by LordCurlyton; 02-20-2010 at 08:37.
    Balloons:
    From gamegeek2 for my awesome AI expansion -
    From machinor for 'splainin -

Senior Member Senior Member Fisherking's Avatar

I think that these days most are playing on Normal or Medium Campaign difficulty.

Battles may be changed in-game so that if you would like hard land battles and easy naval battles you can do that before you fight.

You may know that already though.

Hard and Very Hard give massive bonuses to the AI pretty much across the board and make them much more belligerent and unwilling to make any sorts of agreements. You will likely also have your own money problems and the game will seem like it is out to get the human player...which it is.

Even if you play on Easy you may not find the game a total breeze.

Education: that which reveals to the wise,
    and conceals from the stupid,
    the vast limits of their knowledge.
    Mark Twain