Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 91 to 120 of 122

Thread: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

  1. #91

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    EDIT: Double posted, I apologize.
    Last edited by mrguymiah; 11-20-2012 at 03:54. Reason: double post

  2. #92
    Annoyingly awesome Member Booger Flick Champion, Run Sam Run Champion, Speed Cards Champion rickinator9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    957

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Use Notepad++ to open it. Let's see the list of what you need to do with custom mapping:
    - Empty positions.txt
    - rivers, terrain, topology and trees need to be indexed in their very own color index.
    - adjacencies.csv just needs to have:
    Code:
    From;To;Type;Through;Comment
    -1;-1;-1;-1;x
    rickinator9 is either a cleverly "hidden in plain sight by jumping on the random bandwagon" scum or the ever-increasing in popularity "What the is going on?" townie. Either way I want to lynch him. - White Eyes

  3. #93

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Quote Originally Posted by rickinator9 View Post
    Use Notepad++ to open it. Let's see the list of what you need to do with custom mapping:
    - Empty positions.txt
    - rivers, terrain, topology and trees need to be indexed in their very own color index.
    - adjacencies.csv just needs to have:
    Code:
    From;To;Type;Through;Comment
    -1;-1;-1;-1;x
    First of all, thank you for your help (and so quickly too!).

    My positions.txt was already empty (filled with the info for the new province (which I remembered to flip map before getting the coordinates)). It turns out I forgot to re-index topology after I was done editing. I fixed that. I didn't know that I had to do that with adjacencies.csv, so I fixed that.

    Now, my mod loads past "initialising maplogic", but is failing when it gets to "Creating Rivers". I thought this may be due to having no rivers in the map whatsoever, so I placed one. The problem persist. I checked the error log and here is what I get:

    Code:
    [persistent.cpp:40]: Error: "Malformed token: .10, near line: 3673
    Malformed token: .25, near line: 3674
    " in file: "common/buildings/00_buildings.txt" near line: 3677
    [persistent.cpp:40]: Error: "Malformed token: .15, near line: 3689
    Malformed token: .25, near line: 3690
    " in file: "common/buildings/00_buildings.txt" near line: 3693
    [persistent.cpp:40]: Error: "Malformed token: .20, near line: 3705
    Malformed token: .50, near line: 3706
    " in file: "common/buildings/00_buildings.txt" near line: 3709
    I tried disabling rivers in the settings.txt, but that did not fix the error. I am now checking to see what it is talking about in 00_buildings.txt.

    EDIT: I fixed the 00_buildings.txt. I hadn't realized that all decimals must have something before the .decimal (in this case a zero). That has been fixed. It is still crashing at creating rivers. error.log is empty, but here is the graphics.log:

    Code:
    [provincetemplate.cpp:237]: Province 0 has invalid origin
    Last edited by mrguymiah; 11-20-2012 at 22:34. Reason: Fixed the error reported in post.

  4. #94
    Annoyingly awesome Member Booger Flick Champion, Run Sam Run Champion, Speed Cards Champion rickinator9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    957

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Could you upload the map files somewhere for me to see?
    rickinator9 is either a cleverly "hidden in plain sight by jumping on the random bandwagon" scum or the ever-increasing in popularity "What the is going on?" townie. Either way I want to lynch him. - White Eyes

  5. #95

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Yeah, one moment, please.

    EDIT: Here you go: map files put into a .zip
    Last edited by mrguymiah; 11-20-2012 at 23:55. Reason: Avoiding double post

  6. #96
    Annoyingly awesome Member Booger Flick Champion, Run Sam Run Champion, Speed Cards Champion rickinator9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    957

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    @mrguymiah:
    Fixed, you didn't have the valid color tables for the indexes.
    Ponymod.rar
    The european shape is probably the work of the colormaps. You'll have to edit those yourself. You should also raise your provinces a bit through topology.
    rickinator9 is either a cleverly "hidden in plain sight by jumping on the random bandwagon" scum or the ever-increasing in popularity "What the is going on?" townie. Either way I want to lynch him. - White Eyes

  7. #97

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    So you went into the text files and edited the index? I'll have to remember to do that. Thank you for the assist!

    EDIT: Did you try starting a new game with this map? I tried and it failed. I went back and realized that I wasn't overwriting the history files, so I adjusted my .mod. Had to go back and adjust when I realized I had two different names for the castle barony, so I fixed that. Now, I can select the count and hit play, but it crashes when 'adjusting history'. Any clue as to what's wrong? Do I have to replace every file in the 'history' folder to resolve this?
    Last edited by mrguymiah; 11-22-2012 at 04:54. Reason: New information

  8. #98
    Annoyingly awesome Member Booger Flick Champion, Run Sam Run Champion, Speed Cards Champion rickinator9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    957

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    I didn't get that far. My map did that too.
    rickinator9 is either a cleverly "hidden in plain sight by jumping on the random bandwagon" scum or the ever-increasing in popularity "What the is going on?" townie. Either way I want to lynch him. - White Eyes

  9. #99

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    I've got it! I was googling the problem when I ran across the ramblings of one Dr. Sunshine. This crazy man is creating a post-apocalyptic USA mod and ran into the same problem with his custom map. He thought to check the number for max provinces, the game doesn't like anything lower than the default 1036! I changed that number back and... BOOMB! It works! Though, after 3 days (in game) my screen was flooded with empty scrolls, forcing me to quit. Not to mention that every scripted character (The historical dukes, barons, kings, etc.) were all in my court!

  10. #100

    Default I need a little help please

    Quote Originally Posted by Kekvit Irae View Post
    I'll need to reverse engineer it then and see what the hell they did.

    The seamstress was designed to act like the court bishop's inquisition, only you can convert counties and characters to your culture. Sure beats having to wait decades for a county to convert on its own.


    EDIT: BINGO! Found in the Avatars.gfx file.
    Code:
    	EMFXActorType = {
    		name = "westerngfx_job_castellan"
    		actorfile = "gfx\models\Mapindicators\Western_Chancellor.xac"
    		
    		idle   = "gfx\models\Mapindicators\Western_Chancellor_Idle.xsm"
    		scale = 1.0f
    	}




    I want to ask you if i can change the job_title "chancellar" and the other job titles to another one for example to "MareLogofat". I want to name job titles just for a specific country. Is it possible to do that? But still to keep the "chancellor" name for other countries. I managed to do part of it myself but something was still wrong,with both names "chancellor" and "mareelogofat" being shown simultaneously. Still,i am not a moding expert so this is why i need some help. And if you know how it can be done could you show me the steps that have to be done? Thanks in advance!

  11. #101

    Default Re: I need a little help please

    If I understand correctly, you're trying to make everyone but a specific country have the "Chancellor" and that one country have "Mareelogofat"? Then, from what I gather in the example code, you would need to create a new culture group and its corresponding council members. I'm not too sure, though. That is not a lot of code to go on and I have not modded the council members before.

  12. #102

    Default Re: I need a little help please

    Quote Originally Posted by mrguymiah View Post
    If I understand correctly, you're trying to make everyone but a specific country have the "Chancellor" and that one country have "Mareelogofat"? Then, from what I gather in the example code, you would need to create a new culture group and its corresponding council members. I'm not too sure, though. That is not a lot of code to go on and I have not modded the council members before.


    For now i managed to mod the minor titles. But back at the chancellar thing,wouldn't it be possible to edit the chancellar description to avoid it being shown for a certain country,relligion or culture just as in the music dlc,for example:
    song = {
    name = "thebyzantineempire.ogg"

    chance = {
    factor = 2
    modifier = {
    factor = 0
    NOT = { culture_group = byzantine }
    }
    }
    }

    I tried this but can not make it work, using something similar to this "NOT = { culture_group = byzantine }". I must miss something.
    Now it crossed my mind,it is exactly like for muslims, if you look there instead of "chancellar" they have "grand vizier" but i can not find the that changes chancellar into grand vizier. Have a clue about where i can find it? Perhaps in the DLC?

  13. #103

  14. #104

    Default Re: I need a little help please

    I found this job_chancellor_arabic;Grand Vizier;Grand Vizir;Großwesir;;Gran Visir;;;;;;;;;x
    and another one job_spiritual_judaism_group;Chief Rabbi;Grand Rabbin;Groß-Rabbi;;;;;;;;;;;x;;;
    in localisation file.
    I will give it a try,but i think this is the answer :)
    Last edited by alin.birzu; 11-27-2012 at 20:53.

  15. #105

    Default Re: I need a little help please

    Quote Originally Posted by alin.birzu View Post
    I found this job_chancellor_arabic;Grand Vizier;Grand Vizir;Großwesir;;Gran Visir;;;;;;;;;x
    and another one job_spiritual_judaism_group;Chief Rabbi;Grand Rabbin;Groß-Rabbi;;;;;;;;;;;x;;;
    in localisation file.
    I will give it a try,but i think this is the answer :)


    I did it man,that was the answer,finally :) i just put these in two separate localisation files:
    job_chancellor_south_slavic;Mare Logofat;Mare Logofat;Mare Logofat;Mare Logofat;;;;;;;;;x

    and changet the description like this:
    job_chancellor_south_slavic_desc;The first boyar from the council that lead the lord cancelary.When both the lord or archbishop where absent he presided the cancelary.;;;;;;;;;;;;;x

    Perhaps you also would like to do this. For you to know,thanks anyway!

  16. #106

  17. #107
    Annoyingly awesome Member Booger Flick Champion, Run Sam Run Champion, Speed Cards Champion rickinator9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    957

    Default Re: I need a little help please

    Some progress on the Diadochi mod.


    I fixed some errors, a lot of them with the map. I deleted a file called Pdoxmap.lua which was making the map very bright. I fixed the history so stuff would not bug out.

    The satrapies are now still independent, as I haven't made the Babylon province yet(where the king/emperors reside). The bad province names in Asia Minor is caused by broken localisation because I am too lazy to edit that for now. I will be using the french language slot for native province names, for example:
    - Tarentum -> Taras
    - Athens -> Athenai
    Last edited by rickinator9; 12-11-2012 at 22:11.
    rickinator9 is either a cleverly "hidden in plain sight by jumping on the random bandwagon" scum or the ever-increasing in popularity "What the is going on?" townie. Either way I want to lynch him. - White Eyes

  18. #108

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Quote Originally Posted by mrguymiah
    If you look at the pictures, you can see the problem. That is the result of putting anything on the topology file. I have no clue what is causing it and though you might.


    To Clarify, I'm trying to make a custom map and this is what happens whenever I try to load the game. It is not rendering the ground and there is river being rendered where the ground should be but below the waterline. I have no idea what is wrong. I disabled rivers in my settings file and no fix. I re-enabled them and they no longer replace land but there is nothing being rendered there still.

  19. #109

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    For those who need it, here is the mod's current build http://www.mediafire.com/?qycvq2wqmfjyzbm.

  20. #110

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    I was wondering if anyone can help me. I'm trying to make an event for council members with unique options that will only be available to council members of the player, but the rest can be executed by ai. For this instance I'd like to give the player's council a unique way of completing an event.

    Something like:

    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    option = {
    name = "test"
    trigger = {
    liege = {
    is_player = yes
    }
    }
    scaled_wealth = -0.5
    hidden_tooltip = {
    remove_trait = test
    liege = { character_event = test.0 days = 365 }
    }
    }


    I know that's not an actual condition but was just an example.

  21. #111

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Updated link: http://www.mediafire.com/?f4x1c8f6nelxii8

    As for your problem Slvrbuu, I apologize I have a clue as to where to start with your problem. I understand that you want to have unique options available based on the skill of your council members. Your condition would be a simple skill check, but I don't know what the variable name for your council members skills are. I would check the council member actions (Such as the Chancellor's fabricate claim) and check what they base the success chance on. You'll probably find the variable you need there.

  22. #112
    Annoyingly awesome Member Booger Flick Champion, Run Sam Run Champion, Speed Cards Champion rickinator9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    957

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    @Slvrbuu

    I would advise you to go to http://forum.paradoxplaza.com/forum/...4#post14917464 . That's a thread on the Paradox Forums which is pretty much made for questions like this.
    rickinator9 is either a cleverly "hidden in plain sight by jumping on the random bandwagon" scum or the ever-increasing in popularity "What the is going on?" townie. Either way I want to lynch him. - White Eyes

  23. #113

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Hey I really want to learn how to Mod CK2. Could someone please teache me how to do it step by step??

  24. #114
    Annoyingly awesome Member Booger Flick Champion, Run Sam Run Champion, Speed Cards Champion rickinator9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    957

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Quote Originally Posted by Commander19 View Post
    Hey I really want to learn how to Mod CK2. Could someone please teache me how to do it step by step??
    Depends on what part of CKII you want to mod. I started with events and later moved on to mapping. I now know how to mod most of CKII.
    rickinator9 is either a cleverly "hidden in plain sight by jumping on the random bandwagon" scum or the ever-increasing in popularity "What the is going on?" townie. Either way I want to lynch him. - White Eyes

  25. #115
    The Abominable Senior Member Hexxagon Champion Monk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    YU-ESS-AY
    Posts
    6,666

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Quote Originally Posted by rickinator9 View Post
    Depends on what part of CKII you want to mod. I started with events and later moved on to mapping. I now know how to mod most of CKII.
    That's pretty much how I did it, minus the mapping. Started with events, moved to history files, landed titles and so on. There's tons of information on the CK2 mod forums, but mostly I've found modding ability comes by necessity. You want to do x, so you learn how to implement it. I wanted to make some event chains so I learned how to code events. I wanted to balance Iberia so I messed with history, tech levels in defines.lua, and buildings. I wanted to force armor on characters in command.. ect. ect.

    So yeah, what would you like to mod?

  26. #116
    Senior Member Senior Member Ibn-Khaldun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Estonia
    Posts
    5,489
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    I had an idea for the ERE that once I create the Roman Empire then the Emperor will be able to recruit old legion style armies (some 4-5 mercs units that are only available to the Roman Emperor just like the Varangian Guards) and vassals will get a small recruitment/levy penalty. But is it possible to do this?

  27. #117

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Hello to everybody from a new member,

    I'm using the mod CK2+ when playing Crusader Kings 2. In this mod you can employ a Marshal, a Chancellor, a Priest and a Steward. A priest costs 10 piety and all other cost 20 gold. The bad thing is that their skill is random. So when I pay 20 gold for a Chancellor I maybe get one with the skill of 2 in diplomacy. Paying 20 gold for such a lousy Chancellor is way too expensive.

    I have now been thinking about changing the cost of employment to 10 gold but also make the characters I employ better at their work. The random skill in diplomacy, of for example the Chancellor, would be from 10 to the max skill (which is what 20?).

    The example from the specialist_decisions.txt from the CK2+ mod has the lua script "random_traits = yes". I guess this part is what I have to edit to give the chancellor a random skill of 10 to the max skill (20?). I probably have to make it "random_traits = no" and even add what trait the new chancellor should have or keep "random_traits = yes" and add something to make it a random between 10 to max (20?). But how do I give the Chancellor a random skill between 10 to the max skill (20?)?

    Maybe anyone of you experienced CK2 modders could give me some help with this and tell me what editing there is to be done to make the change I'd like to have?

    A small part of the specialist_decisions.txt is in the spoiler.
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 

    decisions = {
    employ_chancellor = {
    potential = {
    ai = no
    is_ruler = yes
    }
    allow = {
    NOT = { has_character_modifier = employment_timer }
    treasury = 20
    }
    effect = {
    treasury = -20
    create_random_diplomat = {
    random_traits = yes
    dynasty = random
    female = no
    }
    add_character_modifier = {
    name = employment_timer
    duration = 180
    hidden = yes
    }
    }
    revoke_allowed = {
    always = no
    }
    ai_will_do = {
    factor = 0
    }
    }

    }


    I also have a question when it comes to the Tyrant trait and the heir inheriting that trait when the Ruler dies.

    I had earlier an issue when my Ruler became a tyrant, caused by banishing two or three Dukes (and relatives) who constantly caused problems. When I hovered over the tyrant symbol it gave the info that tyranny goes away at the rate 5 points every 5 years (1 point every year) and my Ruler had 70 points of tyranny.

    The tyrant Ruler (Ruler [T] as in tyrant) was later on removed by other vassals in a revolt where they forced him to abdicate and put his son (Ruler [H] as in heir) on the throne. Ruler [H] inherited the tyrant trait along with all the titles and holdings from Ruler [T]. That meant that Ruler [H] was viewed as a tyrant for 70 years (if he would live that long) for something his dad did. The vassals of Ruler [H] had an opinion of him by -100 percent, caused by his dad being a tyrant and him inheriting that trait, and their opinion of the new Ruler didn't change in the positive way although he didn't rule in a bad way.

    If Ruler [T] is a tyrant and gather a stack of tyrant modifier opinions I don't think it's a good solution to let Ruler [H] suffer from that too much. A better solution could be to let the vassals be suspicious to Ruler [H] in the beginning of his rulership (They might kind of think "What if he's just the same as his father?") and during the first years of his rulership he could get different events where the desicions made deside if Ruler [H] is going to stay as a tyrant or lose that trait within maybe three or five years. The timespan three to five years could be the time required for the vassals to understand, caused by the desicions made to the events presented to the player, that ruler [H] isn't like his dad.

    Some more of this in the spoiler:
    Spoiler Alert, click show to read: 
    If for example Ruler [T] is a tyrant and his heir becomes the new Ruler an event could pop up for the player with a few choises. This event could maybe be something like: Ruler [T] had the tyrant trait with an opinion of -50 by his vassals. Do you as the new Ruler want to follow the way of Ruler [T]? After that the player has two or three options to chose from.

    Option 1 - The heir is approving the way of Ruler [T] and will continue in the same way giving result A (The vassals will have the same opinion of him as they had for Ruler [T].)

    Option 2 - The heir will not follow the way of Ruler [T] giving result B (The vassals won't hate him as they hated Ruler [T] and improve their opinion of him quicker if he proves to be a better Ruler. Different events should pop up which would make the vassals' opinion of the new Ruler improve or stay as it is depending on the desicions made by the Ruler)

    Option 3 - The new Ruler hasn't decided yet how he will rule giving result C (There is a 40 percent possibility that the vassals might transfer their opinion of Ruler [T] to him, 30 percent possibility that they will gradualy think better of him and 30 percent possibility that they will think better of him in the hope that he's better than Ruler [T]. The vassals' opinion of him will improve by time if he doesn't rule in a bad way - the desicions made by the Ruler in different events will decide the Vassals' opinion of the new Ruler).

    I don't know much of the lua script and how it works in CK2. But I think there would have to be tags something like:

    is_ruler = yes
    has_inherited_trait_tyrant = yes
    ...

    has_banished_vassal = no
    has_executed_vassal_unlawfully = no
    ...

    Then there should be some events triggered to pop up for desiding whether or not Ruler [H] deserves to be free from the tyrant trait. If Ruler [H] fulfils the events in a positive way the tyrant trait should be changed to a lower one. It could probably be something like:

    remove_trait_tyrant = tyrant10 = {#168
    add_trait_tyrant = tyrant8 = {#166
    (the numbers of the different tyrant traits are found in the file ck2plus_traits.txt in mod\CK2Plus\common\traits)


    I've been thinking a bit about the homosexual trait. We have in Sweden had two kings who were homosexual, maybe one of them was bisexual but prefered men. Both of them had to marry and produce an heir for the sake of the dynasty and the Kingdom. Sometimes I see male and female characters in CK2 who could have become good spouses to my ruler's children and sometimes my ruler gets a child who is homosexual, maybe even the heir. I have also noticed that a character who is homosexual, and doesn't want to get married, sometimes, but seldom, produces children anyway.

    It is of course good that a homosexual character sometimes can produce children. But it would be interesting if there was a possibility for the Ruler, through the diplomacy option, to tell a homosexual character that he expects of him/her to produce children for the dynasty. The effect to this could be that the homosexual character should loose trait_homosexual and instead get trait_chaiste and maybe even trait_depressed or maybe trait_stressed or something else to picture the reaction of that character when being forced to live with the ruler's expectation as a Democle's sword over his/her head.

    Every event has a picture with a text under it and sometimes different choises for the player. Where do I find these pictures to chose which picture is best to what event?
    Last edited by Pethom; 04-26-2013 at 19:38.

  28. #118
    Member Member Alexander the Pretty Good's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    New Jersey, USA
    Posts
    4,979

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    So I woke up this morning with a vague idea of adding kidnapping to CK2. I'm not sure yet whether it would be more fun as a plot or as an action you can take from the diplomacy screen (or both, ala assassinations). It would sort of be like the imprison mechanic but it would be based on intrigue and you could (theoretically) target people outside your court and vassals.

    My questions are - is something like that possible, and would the AI know how to do it?
    Last edited by Alexander the Pretty Good; 06-01-2013 at 13:08.

  29. #119

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    Quote Originally Posted by Alexander the Pretty Good View Post
    So I work up this morning with a vague idea of adding kidnapping to CK2... is something like that possible, and would the AI know how to do it?
    I'm pretty sure you have that option in the mod CK2+ or maybe it's in the AGoT mod. Download and check them out.

  30. #120

    Default Re: Crusader Kings II - Mod General

    hi i'm new to this whole thing. I'm trying to create an event similar to the one posted above where my direct children are the ONLY children to inherit my trait called "Legendary" This i what i got thanks in advance.

    character_event = {

    id = 4
    desc = "The ghost of an ancient soldier bestows his gift upon you."
    picture = "GFX_evt_knight_kneeling"
    border = GFX_event_normal_frame_religion

    max_age = 1
    trigger = {
    AND = {
    is_child_of = ROOT
    father_even_if_dead = { trait = Legendary }
    }
    NOT = { trait = Legendary }
    }
    mean_time_to_happen = { days = 1 }


    option = {
    name = "The spirit fuses with your own."
    add_trait = Legendary
    give_nickname = nick_the_magnificent


    }
    }

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO