Thread: What's the consensus on TW Shogun 2?

Sideswipe feature king Member shingenmitch2's Avatar

Default What's the consensus on TW Shogun 2?

Hi all,
    I've been away A LONG TIME, but just caught some vids of Shogun 2 and it looked like the game-play has gotten back to the control an play-ability of the old Total War. Is that the case? How are the multiplayer battles? I couldn't stand the speed and complete lack of control that was happened in Rome and wondered after all these years has it gotten better.

Recommendations to start playing again?
    Retreat? Hell, we're just attacking in a different direction...

THE DEADLY SHINGEN

Clan Takiyama Senior Member CBR's Avatar

Default Re: What's the consensus on TW Shogun 2?

Hello Mitch

Don't want you to feel completely alone in here although I have no personal experience with MP. I have seen some of the old players like it and others who hate it. IMO it is still too fast and MP has AFAIK all kinds of abilities and whatnot.

Senior Member Senior Member Tomisama's Avatar

Hiya Mitch!

Very good to hear from you

There have been so many changes in Total War over the years, the only remnant of what we knew before, would be what is now known as “Classic”. Classic Battles multiplayer is what was standard up until Shogun 2’s Avatar system, which raises the startup learning curve by scientific notation multiples. There are very few Classic players, the option is mostly only used for community competitions, but it is still there, and can furnish AI opponents for practice.

Would I recommend you start playing again?