Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Basic Question about Ships

  1. #1
    Member Member esanaan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Umm.. I've tried and so have my RL friends to figure out why I we can't get armies on ships? Is this because of the size of the naval vessels or something else? I've looked through the instructions over and over but don't see anything about how to do this. Help

  2. #2
    Master of Few Words Senior Member KukriKhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    10,415

    Default

    Welcome to the.Org, esanaan

    In MTW you don't actually embark and disembark troops on boats. The vessels are meant to represent the ability to move troops over the water to another province.

    If you have:
    1) an unbroken string of ships from say Constantinople to Rome
    2) troops in Constantinople you want to move to Rome in 1 turn (instead of the 6-7 turns it would take overland.
    3) ports in Constantinople and Rome
    Then:
    Just pick up your troop unit & move them to Rome.
    Obviously, the 'trick' is getting the unbroken string of ships.
    Be well. Do good. Keep in touch.

  3. #3
    Member Member RunAway!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Actually, you only need a port on the receiving end for agents moving port to port; regular armies are allowed to do amphibious assaults. But like Kukrikhan wrote, just get a ship in every water territory from a port you control to a water territory adjacent to where you want to land, and you can move your troops in. Also, while you're in the process of doing this, if you connect your string of ships through territories that have docks belonging to other factions, you can build merchants in your territories. These merchants drastically increase your income, so try them out If this seems confusing, just build a ship for every water territory, and build merchants and docks in all your provinces that can use them.

  4. #4
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    12,969

    Default

    Hello esanaan.

    To build on what the others said, that unbroken string of ships is broken if an enemy ship is in a sea territory with your ships and there is no other clear ship-path around that sea territory.
    This space intentionally left blank

  5. #5
    Member Member Mr Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    In a chair
    Posts
    520

    Default

    As I understand it :
    Those ships represent naval assets in place to defend your actual civillian trade fleets . That is why Denmark {for an example} can only produce one GAME longboat per three years at maximum ; in reality Denmark could have produced many individual longboats in that time {they are an entire country , after all} but to micro-manage production on a unit-by-unit basis would probebly be too fiddly for most players .
    Thus each ship can be considered to represent several {one ship could not possibly cover , say , the entire North Sea} .
    It is the trading vessels which transport your troops , but the traders of your country can't {or won't} put vessels to sea unless you can protect them from piracy {so they only venture IN NUMBER in seas you protect with your navy} . That is why when an actual enemy faction has even one game ship in a sea , you can't use that sea for trade or troop movements ; it is not just one single enemy ship but a small fleet represented by one game ship , which can prey on your merchant fleet unless you destroy it .
    7 out of 10 people like me ,
    I'm not going to change for the other three .

  6. #6
    Corporate Hippie Member rasoforos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Athens, Greece
    Posts
    2,713

    Default

    this might be helpfull to some people new to the game. to understand better how the thing works and where you can go or not you can use the 'v' button to see your trading routes ( these routes mean that you have a ship to the sea areas that are marked green and that there is no blockade so you can transfer armies if you have a port)
    Αξιζει φιλε να πεθανεις για ενα ονειρο, κι ας ειναι η φωτια του να σε καψει.

    http://grumpygreekguy.tumblr.com/

  7. #7
    Member Member Mr Frost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    In a chair
    Posts
    520

    Default

    Oops , forgot to put this in : It is those merchant ships {that you neither see , nor deliberately create} that transport you troops and for that matter , the goods your trading provinces make the nice florins from .
    All your navy does is provide security . So , for trade flow and troop transport , it is simply a matter of :build it {the navy} and they {the traders} will come
    7 out of 10 people like me ,
    I'm not going to change for the other three .

  8. #8
    Master of Few Words Senior Member KukriKhan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    10,415

    Default

    Yikes Mr Frost You are one prolific poster

    I guess I'll quit chasing you 'round the Entrance Hall and just say it here: Welcome to the.Org

    Good thoughts on naval power.
    Be well. Do good. Keep in touch.

  9. #9
    Member Member RunAway!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    58

    Default

    I'm curious...what does yellow mean when you hit V? I know red is blocked, green is clear; but I get yellow if there's an allied fleet in the sea.

  10. #10
    Freedom Fighters Clan LadyAnn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Somewhere unexpected
    Posts
    1,310

    Default

    That's exactly that Run_away: yellow means neutral ships in area.

    Annie
    AggonyJade of the Brotherhood of Aggony, [FF]ladyAn or [FF]Jade of the Freedom Fighters

  11. #11
    Member Member rpasell's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Posts
    71

    Post

    I thought yellow meant you don't have a ship in the region.
    Only the dead have seen the end of war - Plato

  12. #12
    Member Member esanaan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for the help

    Makes total sense now that I think about it.

  13. #13
    Member Member RunAway!!'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    58

    Default

    Ok...checked a bit again; I get yellow when I have no ships in a territory; but an ally does. I get red when an enemy does; and when there's no ships, there's no coloring.

  14. #14
    Member Member Balrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kentucky, USA
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [b
    Quote[/b] (RunAway @ Dec. 11 2002,22:51)]Ok...checked a bit again; I get yellow when I have no ships in a territory; but an ally does. I get red when an enemy does; and when there's no ships, there's no coloring.
    does this mean that an ally can complete a trade network for you in this way?

    In other words if you have a one ocean section that is occupied by your ally in between two ports will the ally complete the link?




  15. #15
    Member Member JoeBax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    niagara falls ny
    Posts
    20

    Default

    First off, and maybe I am wrong. You need a certian type of ship to move troops across water. I made longboats and couldnt move across, I read the book 5 times and was getting really frustrated. Then I tried making the other type of boat, and lo I could move my troops across water. So I figure longboats are for taking/holding a water region and the other boats are for troop transport.

    One tip, if you send your army to take over a territory that does not have a port, or if the port is destroyed during the invasion then you troops are STUCK there. So dont send any troops thinking you can get them home if you need them.

    As for yellow, when trying to move across land you can move a troop thats more than one province away. When you hold it over the province its yellow to let you know that it will take more than one turn to arrive there.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO