Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can someone explain this

  1. #1
    Member Member Gazza the Lionheart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Wollongong, N.S.W, Australia
    Posts
    63

    Default

    I was just having a look at the README file for MTW and saw this.

    Training Large Units

    When you increase the basic size of units they will take longer to train, so that a unit of 200 peasants may take two years to train rather than the default one year.

    Can someone explain to me what exactly this means because to me it seems like you can train bigger units than what's available in the game ie. 200 peasants make up one unit instead of the usual 100.
    God must love crazy people, he made so many of them.

  2. #2
    1000 post member club Member Quid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Confoederatio Helvetica
    Posts
    1,026

    Default

    hmmmmm....yes...you can change the size of the unts in the options section of the set up...from small to gigantig...lol. So what it effectively means is that a unit of 200 will take you 2 years to train where a unit of 100 only one year. Simple as that

    Go forth and enjoy

    Quidster
    ...for it is revenge I seek...


    Cry Havoc and let slip the dogs of war
    Juleus Ceasar, Shakespear

  3. #3
    Guardian of the Fleet Senior Member Shahed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Leading the formation !
    Posts
    7,918

    Default

    unit size = 100
    training time = 1 year

    unit size= double the last one
    training time = double the last one too

    I guess that's the way it works, though i have not played on large unit size in SP ever.
    A Gamecenter with a dedicated Total War fanbase!
    Check out our Facebook!
    Email: shahed@outpost.be


  4. #4
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    12,969

    Default

    However, you set the game's unit size in the options menu. The unit size at the start of a campaign is the unit size for the duration of that campaign. You can't suddenly start building 200 man peasant units when the campaign started with 100 man units.
    This space intentionally left blank

  5. #5
    Member Member Knight_Yellow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    3,261

    Default

    hmmmmm seems as if ive missed sumthing ive never seen this unit size thing oh wait yes i have GAH

    damn i thought that was an option on how tall/small a unit would be hieght wise to make it seem as if the maps r mutch larger.

    im kicking myself no need to help

    British Army: be the best

  6. #6
    Bored Avid Gamer Member Alrowan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Sydney, Australia... that place down under...
    Posts
    2,603

    Default

    intersting, but what if you make the units smaller?? does this mean thatthey take half a turn to build??
    Llew Cadeyrn/Alrowan - Chieftain of Clan Raven

  7. #7
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    12,969

    Default

    You're a rabble rouser Alrowan.
    This space intentionally left blank

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO