Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Training large units

  1. #1

    Question

    The readme-files to both version 1.0 and 1.1 of MTW states:

    Training Large Units

    When you increase the basic size of units they will take longer to train, so that a unit of 200 peasants may take two years to train rather than the default one year.

    But how do I do it? I have read through the manual and tried and tried and tried. But I just cannot figure it out.

    Any help is appreciated.

  2. #2
    Provost Senior Member Nelson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 1999
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    2,762

    Default

    I believe unit size is a slider bar in video options.

    BTW, you will need some major CPU and GPU horsepower to use the largest units. The AI wants cycles for every single soldier.



    Time flies like the wind. Fruit flies like bananas.

  3. #3

    Default

    Main menu, options,game options, slide bar, set it to huge .
    Note that the 200 men unit also takes a year longer to train now..
    Abandon all hope.

  4. #4

    Question

    Nope, I'm afraid that doesn't help me either.

    I have put the slide on huge, but then what? Do I need some special type of building or should I press some button when putting something in the queue? Or...

  5. #5
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    12,969

    Default

    Are you trying this in an existing campaign? I think once you start a campaign, the unit size is fixed. You need to start a new campaign to see the large units.

    BTW, welcome to the Org varulv.
    This space intentionally left blank

  6. #6

    Default

    Are you from sweden Varulv?it means Werewolf in swedish
    It's time to get physical whitchoo,foo'

  7. #7

    Thumbs up

    Ok, that solved the problem. When I started a new campaign, I did get large units. Thanks for the help

    BTW, thanks for welcoming me to the Org, and yes, I'm from Sweden.

  8. #8
    Member Member Qilue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    236

    Default

    Hmm, I felt kind of foolish after reading this thread. I thought that refered to the size of the little men graphics used in battles.
    Skill counts for nothing when an angel pees down the touchhole of your musket. - Anonymous soldier.

  9. #9
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    12,969

    Default

    You were right the first time Qilue.

    Just kidding. Welcome to the Org, where being a fool is sometimes cool. Or so they tell me.
    This space intentionally left blank

  10. #10
    Member Member SmokWawelski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    627

    Default

    Well, what do you know, I am another fool here :joker: . Does anyone have experience playing with the larger unit sizes that she/he could share with the rest of us here?

  11. #11
    Member Member Musashi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    The Mists of Legend
    Posts
    811

    Default

    I do have one piece of advice for when you're playing with large units: Remember that it takes at least 2 years to produce a new unit, but only 1 year to refit/retrain one. So don't combine underpower units if it will completely remove one, just retrain them because it's quicker.

    I've often times found myself sending an army back for retraining and carefully combining units so that I have just four or five units to retrain, but make sure you don't destroy a unit completely that way.

    -Musashi
    Fear nothing except in the certainty that you are your enemy's begetter and its only hope of healing. For everything that does evil is in pain.
    -The Maestro Sartori, Imajica by Clive Barker

  12. #12
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    12,969

    Default

    Moved to the Library for archiving.
    This space intentionally left blank

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO