Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 59

Thread: time limits

  1. #1
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    Hello, I have been playing for a long time, and for one reason or another I have NEVER won a game, not so much because I get conquered, but more because I keep running out of time, no matter how far I strech my recorces, and no matter which way I go, no matter how many battles I win, no matter what country I am,no matter what AGE I'M IN, I just can't beat it before the time limit expires Does anyone have any tips on what I'm doing so horribly wrong? Or how to turn off the stupid time limit?

  2. #2
    Member Member Hoplite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    96

    Default

    You can switch off the campaign battle time limit in the options menu.

  3. #3
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    That's not what I mean, all that does is whenever your in a battle you don't have a time limit so the defender doesnt win after 5 minits. What I mean is the little sign that sais 1140 A.D. thats what I mean, but thx for at least responding.

  4. #4
    Member Member Knight Keimo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    205

    Default

    There has been a very good thread somewhere about modding the game so it won´t quit, or how to change the ending year later.

    Just can´t remember which forum it was

    If our wise and helpfull Moderators could help and find that thread somewhere. I guess it was at Main Hall or Dungeon. I did try to find it for you but didn´t find.
    If you got time, try to check all forums to find it.
    Good luck
    -Pakkanen kesyttää nudistin-

  5. #5
    Member Member Hoplite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    96

    Default

    You don't need to be a moderator to find topics.

    Here

    You need to modify your definition files, which are located in the \campmap\startpos folder. Notepad will do fine, and remember: ALWAYS back up your files before editing.

    Enjoy.

  6. #6
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    I found the file entitled game end but all that it has in there is a bunch of squares and y's with little dots over them, is there any way to tell what they say or decode them?

  7. #7
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    on closer inspection I think what it means by that is what happens when you win because when you click on that file it has a lot of other smaller files that have things like egypt_end or turkish_end so I'm not sure that was the right file could some one just do kind of a walk-through? for instance lets start from the total war file, you open that, then you go to what file?

  8. #8
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    absalutely....no progress on my side. anyone else come up with something?

  9. #9
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    hmm... this isn't working, for anyone who cares to listen I tried doing as it said an the link hoplite posted but it failed I went to a file called startpos then clicked on another file in that file called early and typed in underneath the start times SetGameEndDate


    like so:

    SetStartDate:: 1087
    SetPeriod:: EARLY
    SetEarlyPeriodStartDate:: 1087
    SetHighPeriodStartDate:: 1205
    SetLatePeriodStartDate:: 1321
    SetGameEndDate:: 9999

    What exactly am I doing wrong? If anyone has an answere I would be happy to hear it.

  10. #10
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    12,969

    Default

    |OSC|, I'm not going to get into modding the game as I'm not a modder.

    Let's address the problem from the other end: why you can't finish the game in 300-400 years (from the early era). Here are a few questions:

    Are you playing the Conquest game or Glorius Achievements?

    Are you having problems with not enough florins?

    If florin income isn't a problem, are you keeping your troop and building production queues active?

    Are rebellions keeping you busy with internal problems instead of conquering new territory?

    Do you use agent units (spies, assassins, bishops, etc.)?

    Do you build up a navy? If so, do you do so fairly quick or does your navy come along later?

    When you are at war with another faction, do the wars last for years or decades?

    Hopefully, when you answer these questions (any other questions folk?), we'll get some idea as to why victory is so slow in coming.
    This space intentionally left blank

  11. #11
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    first thing first, it's |OCS| not |OSC|, and just call me Virus huh? =D Anyways that aside, I'm playing the game as conquest, I usualy play as the Egyptians, at first I will build up my economy untill I'm making at least 800 florins per turn {this usualy takes about 5 or 6 turns} I envest mostly in farming untill I can get some docks in after I have need of ships for trade and battle. I'll build up an army and take out the almohads to my left as I send my emmasary out to the turkish and byzinians so I can keep an alliance w\ them untill I need to take them out. I don't have many rebelions untill I hit portugal, but by that time I have saved up enough for a full army to stay there {although a drag on the economy it is nessacary} then I conquer up to Navere and Aragon then I stop my expansion that way and continue twords the turks after I have succsesfully taken them out, I have conquered up to Georga. then I get together a fleet to take out the opposing forces and start trading w\ others, after succsesfully geting a few trade routs going I build up enough of an army so I can take up to constantanople. after getting that it gives me 1\2 of europe, this is were I start getting an emmasary out to Byzinite. Then things take a turn for the worst every time. I start seeing the almohads reapear, so I usualy lose the two units of urban militia I have in each of my teritorys. Thus I also lose my territory untill I can get backup, after I take that over it usualy comes out of whatever forces I have near by and sence I havn't had enough time to build up the space the almohads use to occupy I build Inns and start recruting mercanarys untill I can get more professional soldiers in. then either france or england attacks Arragon or Navere so I have to start a war witch inturupts my plans to expand tword the russians. so I usualy try to get an emmasary there and take care of that while keeping my forces in Arragon and Navere. then assuming I eventualy succede I continue to khzar, vulgaria, and muscovy. then the horde attacks me and sence forces are strong I can delay them but they eventualy get into my homelands {usualy to about Palistine} then they start to get beaten back by whatever forces I can get. this usualy puts me in debt. then I try agian to expand, by going east form novgord I get pretty far but I have a hard time finding enough men to put a decent army together, then once I do finaly reach the byzinians on the other side of them they see my forces are so weak they can just roll in and take them over so the Byzinians keep going untill I'm back to Novgord, knowing this from previous encounters I send as many as I can by seas and most of those come from Castile which I get the best Iron and armor from {assuming I get enough time} so there pretty high quality, but there is only so much spears and axes can do, byzinians don't usualy surcome to those weapons, so I try to get swords in there but there are only so many, I think I can get fuedal men-at-arms but thats about it. then after I'm trying to reclaim lost lands I try to get a Jihad together, but they usualy fail anyways so by the time I have almost beaten them off with a stick I'm either going o suicide missions on a last ditch effort to gain land or time has already ended. usualy forces are to strong to move out from navere or aragon and constantanople belongs to the Byzinians. Well that's my story, if you want more details you'll have to be spacific I have been sitting here for ten minits typing like mad. LoL

  12. #12
    The Lordz Modding Collective Senior Member Lord Of Storms's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Paisley,Florida
    Posts
    2,302

    Default

    /========================================
    //Start Date
    //The year in which this
    //campaign will begin
    //========================================

    SetStartDate:: 1687
    SetGameEndDate::1887 SetPeriod:: LATE
    SetEarlyPeriodStartDate:: 1687
    SetHighPeriodStartDate:: 1705
    SetLatePeriodStartDate:: 1821
    This is the heading being used in our Napoleonic mod
    and it works just fine, open your period of choice startpos file add the command line SetGameEndDate:: save the file and exit. Now if you leave the period start dates as is you wont notice anything different until you play the campaign out. I suggest you change the period dates so you can see if your changes are being affected right away, experimanet and see what happens. Just be sure to back up whatever files you edit just in case . LOS P.S. The setperiod line goes under setgameend date line damn boxes



    Taking life one day at a time!

  13. #13
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    12,969

    Default

    Sorry about the |OSC| I swapped the letters and didn't realize it. And as requested, Virus it shall be.

    Okay, it sounds like you might be a little florin poor. The main thing you can do about this via trade using your navy. It sounds from your description that a navy is a secondary thought. Build up your navy and start with building a port in all coastal provinces that have 2-3 trade items. Also build a trading post/merchant. You should try to stretch your navy as far as you can, the ultimate being a ship in every (shallow) sea area on the map. This will maximize your trade and get the florin flowing. It also allows maximum flexibility as far as amphibious landing for an army.

    Once you are swimming in florin, you can upgrade your military's quality and quantity. That should give you some muscle for the other factions. Concentrate this effort in your original provinces and longest held conquered provinces (most loyal).

    However, you cannot just concentrate on military matters, especially in (newly) conquered provinces. You must keep those people happy or you'll have a revolting problem. If your trade is in high gear, you will have more florin than you can spend, so spend money in these new acquisitions building ports (especially if 2-3 trade items), trading posts, farm improvements, town watch, border forts (to prevent spies from stirring up trouble), churches/mosques, etc. These types of improvements will help keep these people happy with minimal military presence and very high taxes. The presence of (your) spies will also help keep things in order. The farm improvements are critical because eventually you will be at war with everyone and your trade income will almost vanish. You'll need the farm improvements to keep you in the florin. For more reading on revolts and how to prevent them, go to Table of Contents and check out the links in the revolts section. This topic is also very helpful in many aspects of the game.

    I think once you solve your florin problem, that will allow you to do the necessary building to keep the conquered from revolting. This in turn will allow you to have an awesome military and focus on defeating the other factions.

    Last note, once you eliminate a faction, take some time from conquest (5-10+ years) to do some of the building I mention above before you move on to your conquest of the next faction. Consolidate your new holdings before you move on. There is a saying amongst NASCAR racing drivers Sometimes to go faster, you must go slower. That applies to MTW too.
    This space intentionally left blank

  14. #14
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    two questions, how many provences are there, and how many year do I have to conquer them? then I can do the math LoL

  15. #15
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    well thx for all your help but that aside I still would like to mod the game, not in the same way but I have posted on several forums that I want the mod to get gothic foot knights can anyone just make it realy easy, I mean quite literaly a link that will let me download it automaticly, I can install it if someone would just give me the d*** link so could anyone just put the link right there? I have been in four other forums asking this exact same question, and most of them were computer n00bs like me though...

  16. #16
    Resident Northern Irishman Member ShadesPanther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Northern Ireland
    Posts
    1,616

    Default

    just give them a building eaasy

    just work out where it would go and insert it in there if you dont have Genome editor(which is somewhere in the org downloads)

    "A man may fight for many things: his country, his principles, his friends, the glistening tear on the cheek of a golden child. But personally, I'd mudwrestle my own mother for a ton of cash, an amusing clock and a stack of French porn."
    - Edmund Blackadder

  17. #17
    Member Member Hoplite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    96

    Default

    I hope you got everything you need to change the end date from Lord of Storms, he's one of the best modders around.

    As for foot knights, here. Copy this file to your main game directory. Make sure you make a backup copy of your existing Unitprod11 file first. I modified feudal, chivalric and gothic foot knights to be buildable.

  18. #18
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    and that made.....what, no sence to me what-so-ever... WTF ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT? sry but I'm an outsider and have little to no idea what you are saying.

  19. #19
    Member Member Hoplite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    96

    Default

    Do you mean my post or ShadesPanthers?

  20. #20
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    that last post was to shadowpanther

  21. #21
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    sry I had to reply before I even read your, yours makes sence exept what is the game directory?

  22. #22
    Member Member Hoplite's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    96

    Default

    It's the directory where you game is installed.

    For example, if your game is in D:\Games\Medieval\

    then you'd copy the file in the directory called Medieval.

    Oh yeah, directories are called 'folders' in Windows. Silly me.

  23. #23
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    FINALY AFTER SO LONG do I just ctrl+C ctrl+V it?

  24. #24
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    hold on, strike that last question. does this file already exist, if so all I need is to know the name, and what parts to edit.

  25. #25
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    12,969

    Default

    Virus, you will get much farther if you refrain from using such phrases as WTF when asking some else to spend their time trying to help you. A simple I don't understand what you mean ShadePanther. Could please you explain in more detail? would have sufficed.

    As for modding, a good place to start is to read the various pinned topics in the Dungeon. You will find a wealth if information there on many aspects of modding. After reading those post, then you can ask specific questions about what you don't understand or what you have tried and that had not worked.
    This space intentionally left blank

  26. #26

    Arrow

    Virus, do just what Hoplite said. The link he provided points to a file. Take that file and put it in the install folder of your Medieval game. Before you do that, back up the exisiting file of the same name in there, so you can use it again if smth. goes wrong without needing a full install again.
    However, I think you will need to play a Catholic faction in order to enjoy building Footknights, because I think Hoplite didn't enable them for Muslim factions such as the Egyptians.
    Ignoranti, quem portum petat, nullus suus ventus est. -Seneca, Epistulae Morales, VIII, 71, 3

  27. #27
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    to gregoshi, the reason I did not respond to what you or brutal is because I had recently gone to sleep, please do not take offence, as requested I will try to watch myself I'm sry if what I said was offenceive in any way, most of the forums I go on have different rulse. But this is your forum and I will abide by your rules, I meant no offence by it. I am simply trying to feel my way around every server is different, if I get outta hand just tell me. If this post seems some how odd it's probly because of the fact I just woke up and am still tired. well thanx for all your help.

  28. #28
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    Oh yeah I almost forgot to tell everyone I did manage to mod the time limit on my game. and can switch whatever year I want it to start and stop at will. anyways, I'm still lookin' for the file, and will continue doing so. and I'll check out the dungeon as you have told me to, perhaps there is something in there.

  29. #29
    Moderator Moderator Gregoshi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Central Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    12,969

    Default

    Congratulations. You've taken your first step as a modder.
    This space intentionally left blank

  30. #30
    |OCS|Virus
    Guest |OCS|Virus's Avatar

    Default

    YAY anyways, sry to keep bringing this up agian, but what is unitprod11? because I can't find it so I can get gothicfootknights =} what file is unitprod11 under? oh yeah and thanx Lord of Storms for your tips on moding the time =D they are still working like a charm.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO