Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

  1. #1

    Default Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    Hey guys (and girls, I hope :P), I'm really glad to find this place...I waa shogun fan when it first came out--not so much of medieval, but let's not get into that.

    Anyways, does anyone know if there's a patch or something that can help me play as ronin in the game? I know there's a cheat in it for Medieval (.conan.) but I've always wanted to know whether I could play as ronin in shogun, and could never seem to find anyway. I have both the original shogun and the world edition and if anyone knows of any patch that can help me play a ronin for either, I'd greatly appreciate it.

  2. #2

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    it's the same cheat for shogun.

  3. #3
    Weird Organism Senior Member Drisos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Chushingura
    Posts
    3,610

    Talking Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    Nice to hear this, an intresting new campaign without downloading.

    Welcome persianlor!!
    - Chu - Gi - Makoto - Rei - Jin - Yu - Meiyo -

  4. #4
    He Who Must Have More Mods Member Gray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    34

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    Indeed the campaign with the rebbels is quite refreshing.
    "Never interuppet an enemy when he is making a mistake" ; Napoleon Bouneparte

  5. #5

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    YOUR ALL CHEATS!!!!
    :P
    J/k

    Hope you have fun playing :)
    Last edited by Shambles; 05-25-2005 at 07:30.

  6. #6
    The Black Senior Member Papewaio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    15,662

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    .conan.

    You play Ronin in Japan which is unhonourable.

    But taking Ronin is often more difficult then taking a clan. So more difficult makes it honourable.

    It is a cheat code which is unhonourable.

    It is more fun so stuff the above logic and just charge
    Our genes maybe in the basement but it does not stop us chosing our point of view from the top.
    Quote Originally Posted by Louis VI the Fat
    Pape for global overlord!!
    Quote Originally Posted by English assassin
    Squid sources report that scientists taste "sort of like chicken"
    Quote Originally Posted by frogbeastegg View Post
    The rest is either as average as advertised or, in the case of the missionary, disappointing.

  7. #7
    Like new! Slightly used! Member WombatSlayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Texas, United States
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    Anybody want to tell me the cheat :)
    We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams.

  8. #8
    Toh-GAH-koo-reh Member Togakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Zen Garden
    Posts
    2,705

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    1. Start a Sengoku Jidai campaign (not 1530, 1550, 1580, or Mongol campaigns in STW-MI/WE--these will not work). Choose any clan, as it will not matter.

    2. Begin the game. When you are at the Strategy Map, type:

    .conan.

    Include both periods. After typing this you should hear a click, and instead of the clan you originally chose, you will be in control of the Rebels and Ronin instead.

    Notes: R&R can't produce strategic agents in STW-MI/WE (emissaries, shinobi, ninja, geisha). They can in the original STW. Hence, they cannot port-jump-attack in MI-WE either. Any rebels that appear on the map come under your control (unless you choose not to fight the rebellion battle, in which case they will disband/disappear).
    Be intent on loyalty
    While others aspire to perform meritorious services
    Concentrate on purity of intent
    While those around you are beset by egoism


    misc kanryodo

  9. #9
    Weird Organism Senior Member Drisos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Chushingura
    Posts
    3,610

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    I did a short R&R campaign lately, at expert in Sengoku Jidai. It was too easy, I could defeat the Oda in few seasons and then Easily Crush the west. I stopped when there were only a few Uesugi and Hojo armies left in the east.

    I guess 1580 R&R campaign are more hard, so I'll try that one sometime, then.

    - Chu - Gi - Makoto - Rei - Jin - Yu - Meiyo -

  10. #10
    Like new! Slightly used! Member WombatSlayer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Texas, United States
    Posts
    39

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    Quote Originally Posted by TogakureOjonin
    1. Start a Sengoku Jidai campaign (not 1530, 1550, 1580, or Mongol campaigns in STW-MI/WE--these will not work). Choose any clan, as it will not matter.

    2. Begin the game. When you are at the Strategy Map, type:

    .conan.

    Include both periods. After typing this you should hear a click, and instead of the clan you originally chose, you will be in control of the Rebels and Ronin instead.

    Notes: R&R can't produce strategic agents in STW-MI/WE (emissaries, shinobi, ninja, geisha). They can in the original STW. Hence, they cannot port-jump-attack in MI-WE either. Any rebels that appear on the map come under your control (unless you choose not to fight the rebellion battle, in which case they will disband/disappear).

    Is this for Shogun original? That's all I have
    We are the music makers, and we are the dreamers of dreams.

  11. #11
    Toh-GAH-koo-reh Member Togakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Zen Garden
    Posts
    2,705

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    I believe it will work with the original Shogun, based on the thread created here by Irinami called "Ronin Ramblings," a couple of months back. As the original Shogun only has the Sengoku Jidai campaign, you don't have to worry about choosing the wrong one. Just start a campaign, go to the first turn on the Strategy Map, and then type:

    .conan.

    You should then be in control of the R&R. Note that, in Irinami's thread, it became apparent that in the original Shogun you can produce strategic agents (Shinobi, emissaries, etc.) as the R&R, which makes it even easier to win if you choose to use them to start rebellions and to bribe armies (any rebels automatically become yours to control, and spies create rebellions, etc. ...). If you find this too easy, I suggest playing the R&R without using emissaries, spies, ninja, or geishas. This is how it works in STW-MI/WE and makes it a bit more challenging.

    The R&R campaign is great for a "blitzkrieg" military expansionist strategy. When I play it, I try to take over the map as quickly as possible.
    Be intent on loyalty
    While others aspire to perform meritorious services
    Concentrate on purity of intent
    While those around you are beset by egoism


    misc kanryodo

  12. #12
    Flavius Claudius Julianus Member NodachiSam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    601

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    Playing them reminds me of playing the hojo against the mongols, you are underdeveloped and will lose a number of territories before you war engines really get rolling.
    Please check out my art http://calcaneus.deviantart.com/

  13. #13

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    I've heard the Ronin sometimes ignore orders X_X
    http://z8.invisionfree.com/Ages_of_Conflict/index.php?
    - check out my brand new historical ancient war discussion site!

  14. #14

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    Sorry to revive an old thread. But as far as I know, .conan. works in any time period. There does seem to be the drawback that you are superweak if you use .conan. in any time period except the original. So weak in fact that I have only once won a battle, with severe losses, so I gave up afterwards. You can't avoid this by autoresolving either >.<;

    If you are bored and looking for a bit of a challenge, try playing a r&r game where you keep each rebel faction seperate from the others. This takes some paper/pencil/calculation work to figure out income percentages, but it can get mad challenging and thus, fun.

  15. #15
    Weird Organism Senior Member Drisos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Chushingura
    Posts
    3,610

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    Don't worry about reviving old threads. New info is always cool!

    Quote Originally Posted by HKagemusha
    There does seem to be the drawback that you are superweak if you use .conan. in any time period except the original. So weak in fact that I have only once won a battle, with severe losses, so I gave up afterwards. You can't avoid this by autoresolving either >.<;
    I must say I did experience some extraordinary stuff in unit stats as well, when playing Rebels. I think we had another thread (or even several) about this 'cheat' where I described this. I'll try to look it up.

    iirc, my archers had superpowers and melee units were extremely weak.

    Cya


    Edit: Shame, I couldn't find the the other threads about this.
    Last edited by Drisos; 03-18-2008 at 00:46.
    - Chu - Gi - Makoto - Rei - Jin - Yu - Meiyo -

  16. #16

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    Yup that's how I won my one battle heh. Projectiles seem to work as normal but melee combat is so one sided, you might as well just run around the map and pray they don't catch you XD

  17. #17
    through Blood and Fire... Member TechnoMage of Shadows's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Temporary Residency Status Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    143

    Default Re: Is it possible to play as ronin with any patch?

    Quote Originally Posted by HKagemusha View Post
    If you are bored and looking for a bit of a challenge...
    try looking for the campaign packs that were made,
    there's one campaign called iron man (tucked away in a pack) where you start with lots of enemies (INCLUDING MONGOLS) but only one province...
    try THAT on Hard...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO