Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: A problem with RTR

  1. #1

    Default A problem with RTR

    From what I have heard of RTR, it sounds very exciting. Unfortunately I have installed it twice and it has not worked once. Whenever I try to launch a new provincial campaign, the game kicks me back to the desktop. I looked at RTR's FAQ and followed all the steps to fix this particular problem (deleted a map file). Now when I try to run the provincial campaign, it kicks me back to the previous menu.

    You guys have a lot more experience with this kind of thing than I have. Any help would be appreciated.
    Ah...morality. The last bastion of a coward.

  2. #2
    Kanto Kanrei Member Marshal Murat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Eye of the Hurricane (FL)
    Posts
    3,372

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    What version???
    "Nietzsche is dead" - God

    "I agree, although I support China I support anyone discovering things for Science and humanity." - lenin96

    Re: Pursuit of happiness
    Have you just been dumped?

    I ask because it's usually something like that which causes outbursts like this, needless to say I dissagree completely.

  3. #3
    Scourge of God Member Count Belisarius's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bat Country!
    Posts
    107

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    Hmm. I have never had this problem. Did you download the R:TW 1.2 patch before installing R:TR? Which R:TR version did you download? I installed 5.4 before the 5.4 "Full" was available, so maybe there is a glitch in 5.4 Full. You may need to uninstall and then reinstall both R:TW and R:TR. If you installed 5.4 using the Full download, you could go back and follow the steps for installing 5.4 piecemeal.
    Just call me sui generis, and leave it at that.
    - Huey P. Long

  4. #4
    Spends his time on TWC Member Simetrical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,358

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    Did you install the three parts of the 5.4 full version in order (5.2, 5.3, 5.4)? Maybe it's not working for some reason—I've received a lot of complaints about it. Try downloading the separate 5.2/5.3/5.4 updates. I'll see if I can get Tyr to package 5.3, 5.4, and 5.4.1 in a single patch.

    Also, make sure you get the 5.4.1 patch. It fixes two important crash bugs.

    -Simetrical
    TWC Administrator

    MediaWiki Developer

  5. #5
    Blue Eyed Samurai Senior Member Wishazu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Great Britain
    Posts
    1,679

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    can you install 5.4.1 over 5.4 and still keep any campaigns you have running?
    "Wishazu does his usual hero thing and slices all the zombies to death, wiping out yet another horde." - Askthepizzaguy, Resident Evil: Dark Falls

    "Move not unless you see an advantage; use not your troops unless there is something to be gained; fight not unless the position is critical"
    Sun Tzu the Art of War

    Blue eyes for our samurai
    Red blood for his sword
    Your ronin days are over
    For your home is now the Org
    By Gregoshi

  6. #6

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    Let's see here.....I downloaded version 5.4 and and the 5.4.1 patch onto RTW with the 1.2 patch.
    Ah...morality. The last bastion of a coward.

  7. #7
    One of the Undutchables Member The Stranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nowhere...
    Posts
    11,757

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    have you also modded RTR manually, i never had it, but my CDT's after the 4th turn, before i downloade 4.5.1 patch, maybe yuor file is corrupted

    We do not sow.

  8. #8

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    No no, I followed the troubleshooting on the FAQ to the letter.
    Ah...morality. The last bastion of a coward.

  9. #9
    One of the Undutchables Member The Stranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nowhere...
    Posts
    11,757

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    as i said maybe your file is corrupted

    We do not sow.

  10. #10
    Spends his time on TWC Member Simetrical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    1,358

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    Quote Originally Posted by Wishazu
    can you install 5.4.1 over 5.4 and still keep any campaigns you have running?
    Yes, but you won't benefit from the fixes until you start a new campaign.
    Quote Originally Posted by Titus Livius
    Let's see here.....I downloaded version 5.4 and and the 5.4.1 patch onto RTW with the 1.2 patch.
    From what I understand, the 5.4 full installation should include three EXE files: one for 5.2, one for 5.3, and one for 5.4. Is this the case? If so, did you install them in order?

    -Simetrical
    TWC Administrator

    MediaWiki Developer

  11. #11
    Blue Eyed Samurai Senior Member Wishazu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Great Britain
    Posts
    1,679

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    thanks matey
    "Wishazu does his usual hero thing and slices all the zombies to death, wiping out yet another horde." - Askthepizzaguy, Resident Evil: Dark Falls

    "Move not unless you see an advantage; use not your troops unless there is something to be gained; fight not unless the position is critical"
    Sun Tzu the Art of War

    Blue eyes for our samurai
    Red blood for his sword
    Your ronin days are over
    For your home is now the Org
    By Gregoshi

  12. #12
    One of the Undutchables Member The Stranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nowhere...
    Posts
    11,757

    Default Re: A problem with RTR

    and does it work

    We do not sow.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO