Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Techincal isues

  1. #1
    Nec Pluribus Impar Member SwordsMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,517
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Techincal isues

    Models, textures, editing, etc.

    This thread is for discussing/sharing achievements, or issues that have been arising from the practical modification of the game´s features.
    Managing perceptions goes hand in hand with managing expectations - Masamune

    Pie is merely the power of the state intruding into the private lives of the working class. - Beirut

  2. #2
    The Lion Prince Member Sundjata Keita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    505

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Quote Originally Posted by SwordsMaster
    This thread is for discussing/sharing achievements, or issues that have been arising from the practical modification of the game´s features.
    Sounds technical to me

  3. #3
    Nec Pluribus Impar Member SwordsMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,517
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Quote Originally Posted by Sundjata Keita
    Sounds technical to me
    Yeah, and I spèlled "technical" wrong too
    Managing perceptions goes hand in hand with managing expectations - Masamune

    Pie is merely the power of the state intruding into the private lives of the working class. - Beirut

  4. #4
    The Lion Prince Member Sundjata Keita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    505

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    You spelled spelled spélled, spelled's spelt s p e l l e d

  5. #5
    Nec Pluribus Impar Member SwordsMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,517
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Quote Originally Posted by Sundjata Keita
    You spelled spelled spélled, spelled's spelt s p e l l e d

    AAAAARGH!!!

    Anyway, MAX question: is it possible to create a "plane" object with a circular shape? Cause I used the sphere, but my rapier has 7k+ poligons
    Managing perceptions goes hand in hand with managing expectations - Masamune

    Pie is merely the power of the state intruding into the private lives of the working class. - Beirut

  6. #6
    Altogether quite not there! Member GodsPetMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    839

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Quote Originally Posted by SwordsMaster
    AAAAARGH!!!

    Anyway, MAX question: is it possible to create a "plane" object with a circular shape? Cause I used the sphere, but my rapier has 7k+ poligons
    7000 polys!!!

    Thats like 10x the ammount you expect in a highest LOD model alone!

    Give us a pic of what your trying to achieve and I'll see if I can help you.
    Caligula and Hadrian - Unit and Building editors for Rome: Total War.
    Now editing -
    export_descr_unit.txt, export_descr_unit_enums.txt, export_units.txt, descr_model_battle.txt
    export_descr_buildings.txt, export_descr_buildings_enums.txt, export_buildings.txt

  7. #7
    Nec Pluribus Impar Member SwordsMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,517
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Techincal isues



    Yeah, I know, hence my problem. I´m using a split "sphere" object for the handle, which takes about 5k polis I think, so If I could use something different it would be most useful.
    Last edited by SwordsMaster; 04-03-2005 at 22:45.
    Managing perceptions goes hand in hand with managing expectations - Masamune

    Pie is merely the power of the state intruding into the private lives of the working class. - Beirut

  8. #8
    Altogether quite not there! Member GodsPetMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    839

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Right, well for a start, when drawing your sphere, set the sumber of segmants to 8! Sure, it looks blocky, but its a small thing anyway, and you need the polys down low.

    For the blade, hexagon prisms are your friend, wether it be round of flat! Using the Cylinder tool, set the number of sides to 6, and draw away, leave it as it is for a rounded blade (like a fencing sword) or drag the north and south faces towards the center (flattening it out). I tend to merge the vertices at the end to form to point, and use poly tools to add any new vertices I need (great plugin!).

    Remember, its a small object in game, so low detail wont be easy to notice anyway. The highesh detail of my weapon models (sabre with curved blade and guard) uses about 96 polys....



    And I think that is an extremely large number (which is dramatically reduced in my lower detail models).

    Luckily I can save a few... the grip is larely hidden by the hand of the model, so I just reused the standard RTW grip, which is a lot lighten on the polys then my original curved version.
    Last edited by GodsPetMonkey; 04-03-2005 at 23:27.
    Caligula and Hadrian - Unit and Building editors for Rome: Total War.
    Now editing -
    export_descr_unit.txt, export_descr_unit_enums.txt, export_units.txt, descr_model_battle.txt
    export_descr_buildings.txt, export_descr_buildings_enums.txt, export_buildings.txt

  9. #9
    Nec Pluribus Impar Member SwordsMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,517
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    For the blade and the grip in straight swords, daggers, etc, I just scale the existing RTW weapons and edit the grip, sometimes adding a guard or whatever is needed. It´s just with that round guard that I ran into problems.

    Thanks! Somehow haven´t thought of setting the sphere to 8 segments (done it with the shield tho...)

    Other thing: is it necessary to texture the weapon separately from the actual model, or can it be done all together?

    Cheers.
    Managing perceptions goes hand in hand with managing expectations - Masamune

    Pie is merely the power of the state intruding into the private lives of the working class. - Beirut

  10. #10
    Altogether quite not there! Member GodsPetMonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    839

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Quote Originally Posted by SwordsMaster
    For the blade and the grip in straight swords, daggers, etc, I just scale the existing RTW weapons and edit the grip, sometimes adding a guard or whatever is needed. It´s just with that round guard that I ran into problems.

    Thanks! Somehow haven´t thought of setting the sphere to 8 segments (done it with the shield tho...)

    Other thing: is it necessary to texture the weapon separately from the actual model, or can it be done all together?

    Cheers.
    All elements/objects in a model should use the same material (RTW doesn't support multiple materials for one unit model).
    Caligula and Hadrian - Unit and Building editors for Rome: Total War.
    Now editing -
    export_descr_unit.txt, export_descr_unit_enums.txt, export_units.txt, descr_model_battle.txt
    export_descr_buildings.txt, export_descr_buildings_enums.txt, export_buildings.txt

  11. #11
    Nec Pluribus Impar Member SwordsMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,517
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Reduced the poly count down to 1006. Cant really see how could it be reduced further...
    Managing perceptions goes hand in hand with managing expectations - Masamune

    Pie is merely the power of the state intruding into the private lives of the working class. - Beirut

  12. #12
    The Lion Prince Member Sundjata Keita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    505

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    I can reduce it some more if you want, you just need to make sure the polygon count for all seperate objects is the lowest it can be before distorting the shape. You can check this with the polygon welding modifier.

  13. #13
    Nec Pluribus Impar Member SwordsMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,517
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Yup, I just realized I could still squeeze out a nother couple of polis here and there. Its just about 900 now.
    Managing perceptions goes hand in hand with managing expectations - Masamune

    Pie is merely the power of the state intruding into the private lives of the working class. - Beirut

  14. #14
    The Lion Prince Member Sundjata Keita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    505

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    900 is still way too much, you need to make it about 100 or less. I just had a go and you can make a nice hand guard thing with 96 polys and with a bit of vertex welding this can be reduced to 68. The rest of the rapier should only take about 20-30 polys if not less and so this should leave the model about 100 polys altogether.

  15. #15
    Nec Pluribus Impar Member SwordsMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,517
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Quote Originally Posted by Sundjata Keita
    900 is still way too much, you need to make it about 100 or less. I just had a go and you can make a nice hand guard thing with 96 polys and with a bit of vertex welding this can be reduced to 68. The rest of the rapier should only take about 20-30 polys if not less and so this should leave the model about 100 polys altogether.

    I meant 900the whole figure: soldier, shield and weapon.
    Managing perceptions goes hand in hand with managing expectations - Masamune

    Pie is merely the power of the state intruding into the private lives of the working class. - Beirut

  16. #16
    The Lion Prince Member Sundjata Keita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    505

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Oh ok, sorry, my mistake

  17. #17
    Nec Pluribus Impar Member SwordsMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    3,517
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Question: if I want to put a model into the game, I have to redo all the versions of the model, right? otherwise it will look different depending on the distance to the camera, right?
    Managing perceptions goes hand in hand with managing expectations - Masamune

    Pie is merely the power of the state intruding into the private lives of the working class. - Beirut

  18. #18
    The Lion Prince Member Sundjata Keita's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    England
    Posts
    505

    Default Re: Techincal isues

    Well you could just use the one model you did, for all of the different versions but this is not recommended. I suggest using the vertex weld modifier to automatically reduce polys and then save for a lower detailed model. Keep doing this to get all the different versions.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO