Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: What unit scale do you use?

  1. #1
    Hǫršar Member Viking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hordaland, Norway
    Posts
    6,426

    Default What unit scale do you use?

    Somehow, I, since the very first day of playing RTW, have played with large unit scale.

    What unit scale do you use??

    Am I the only one charging my seleucid 54 men big cataphract units into helpless 120 men big eastern infantry units??
    Runes for good luck:

    [1 - exp(i*2π)]^-1

  2. #2

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    I'm probably the odd one out, but I use the standard unit scale, mainly because my 'puter hasn't got the grunt to handle anything more.

  3. #3

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    I use the default settings (which I think are small), does it make any tactical difference?? or is it just for show!!!

  4. #4
    One of the Undutchables Member The Stranger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nowhere...
    Posts
    11,757

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    huge ofcourse

    We do not sow.

  5. #5
    Hǫršar Member Viking's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hordaland, Norway
    Posts
    6,426

    Default Sv: Re: What unit scale do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by screwtype
    I'm probably the odd one out, but I use the standard unit scale, mainly because my 'puter hasn't got the grunt to handle anything more.
    I thought i was the odd one!

    I think the default setting is normal(sounds logic).

    Moreover, i believe that units rout later then larger unit scale you use, since there`s now more men to kill
    Runes for good luck:

    [1 - exp(i*2π)]^-1

  6. #6
    Robot Unicorn Member Kekvit Irae's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    3,758

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    Large. Big enough to have fun, small enough to not flood the battlefield on both sides and delay victory

  7. #7
    Ultimate Member tibilicus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    2,663

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    Used to go large now im on medium. might actually go back to large........................


    "A lamb goes to the slaughter but a man, he knows when to walk away."

  8. #8
    agitated Member master of the puppets's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    where destruction lay around me from a fight i could not win
    Posts
    1,224

    Talking Re: What unit scale do you use?

    i used to love the large...with a full stack of urbans you could stretch a ribbon over the entire field, when it breaks at one point just bring the rest around in flank
    A nation of sheep will beget a a government of wolves. Edward R. Murrow

    Anyone who claims to be in the light but hates his brother is still in the darkness. —1 John 2:9

  9. #9

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    I use large... don't know why, i guess it just feels right..

  10. #10

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    i use default size just because i always forget to reset it, but i'd really like to try to edit preferences.txt so that it's set to 100, producing very even unit sizes (100 man legions)
    skinner looking for a mod to call home!
    http://www8.brinkster.com/nid649/art.html my personal gallery, 237 pieces and counting.

  11. #11
    robotica erotica Member Colovion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Victoria, Canada
    Posts
    2,295

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    Large
    robotica erotica

  12. #12
    Senior member Senior Member Dutch_guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Holland.
    Posts
    5,006

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    large unit scale
    I'm an athiest. I get offended everytime I see a cold, empty room. - MRD


  13. #13
    Member Member Benny Moore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    77

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    Large is the historically accurate one for the Roman faction. Or, rather, it is as close as you can get to the historically accurate size. If all of the officers were included, the centuries should be over eighty men.

  14. #14

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    Moreover, i believe that units rout later then larger unit scale you use, since there`s now more men to kill
    More importantly, the larger the scale you use, the more significant battlefield losses become--retraining a full stack of huge units can drain a good 2000 people from a city. All of a sudden population management becomes a real strategic concern.

    I use Huge, of course.

  15. #15
    Amanuensis Member pezhetairoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South of Sabara
    Posts
    2,719

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    mxim has a point. I use huge mainly because of the hoplites... in a real historical battle it's much much harder to wheel hoplites around etc than it seems on small mode/normal. Those puny little blocks of little mannikins with sharp pointy sticks don't do justice to the grand spectacle of long long lines of infantry in rank after rank marching forward inexorably into the history books. of course, population worries are also an important concern.

    It makes no sense, does it? Population stays the same while unit size decreases, making your life easier. I thought if you could train a 240-man unit in a 24000-population city, then the equivalent in small mode should be training 40-men units in a 6000-man city. Makes sense, don't it? But instead we get 40-men units in 24000-population cities. Which state would field such small armies when they could field bigger ones?


    EB DEVOTEE SINCE 2004

  16. #16

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    It appears to make sense that population should be scaled according to the selected unit size, but I'm not sure how it could be done because smaller sized cities would get very little in the way of population growth. 2% of a 5000 pop city is 100, 2% of 500 is 10.

  17. #17

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    Have to admit my laptop can't take more than regular size... 40, but I AM looking forward to the new AMD 64 in a month:-P

  18. #18

    Thumbs up Re: What unit scale do you use?

    Quote Originally Posted by mxlm
    More importantly, the larger the scale you use, the more significant battlefield losses become--retraining a full stack of huge units can drain a good 2000 people from a city. All of a sudden population management becomes a real strategic concern.

    I use Huge, of course.
    and that, ladies and gentlemen, is the reasoning behind going with huge.

  19. #19
    Member Member oompalumpa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    I used large for a while, but now I cant stop using huge.

  20. #20
    Vermonter and Seperatist Member Uesugi Kenshin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    The Mountains.
    Posts
    3,868

    Default Re: What unit scale do you use?

    Since I upgraded I have switched to Huge, because my comp can now handle 11000+ soldiers on the field.
    "A man's dying is more his survivor's affair than his own."
    C.S. Lewis

    "So many people tiptoe through life, so carefully, to arrive, safely, at death."
    Jermaine Evans

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO