Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Need help w/ ships

  1. #1

    Default Need help w/ ships

    I am new to the game and I can't figure out how to make units board ships to cross over seas. I have longships. Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Caged for your safety Member RabidGibbon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Leeds.
    Posts
    356

    Default Re: Need help w/ ships

    If I remember rightly your troops dont board the ships, instead you need to create a chain of ships (ie: one or more ships in every sea zone) all the way to wherever you want your troops to go.

    You'll need ports at both ends of the chain if your just shuttling troops about your empire. If your launching an amphibious invasion you need to clear the intervening sea zones of enemy ships first.

    Hope this helps
    Last edited by RabidGibbon; 05-03-2005 at 20:23.

  3. #3
    Tired Old Geek Member mfberg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    NC, USA
    Posts
    757

    Default Re: Need help w/ ships

    The "v" key shows the status of your seas, green are yours (or yours and neutral/allies) and red have an enemy presence, no color shows none of your ships are in that sea..

    Lift your army and all the areas they can move to (next door and across the oceans) are highlighted.

    mfberg
    It is not complete until the overwieght female vocalizes.

    Pinky : Gee Brain, what do you want to do tonight?
    Brain : The same thing we do every night Pinky. Try to take over the world!

  4. #4
    Master of Puppets Member bretwalda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary, Europe, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Little White Marble
    Posts
    607

    Default Re: Need help w/ ships

    Actually I think you dont need a port in the destination even if it is your province. (Of course you dont need a port in enemy held territory otherwise it would be hard to take Ireland
    This space is for sale. Anybody wanting to advertise little blue pills, pumping body parts or financial services that cost you a fortune may do it here for a small fee instead of packing my mailbox. Thank you.
    ----------------------------------
    Awright, here is the all_can_crusade_mod. This is v2.
    Magyarország

  5. #5
    woudloper Member viermaaldomi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    42

    Default Re: Need help w/ ships

    That's right, you don't need a port in the destination provice to move your troops,but you do need one to move your agents there
    "Gold , Frankenstein and Grrr!"

    Richard Richard

  6. #6
    Guardian of Scotland Member Sir William Wallace's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Buffalo, New York
    Posts
    117

    Default Re: Need help w/ ships

    yeah, only in RTW do the troops actually go in the ships,, which often times is suicide if you have a weak navy agaisnt a naval power, but thats a different game altogether, so just do what everyone else said above
    Formerly Maximus Aurelius

  7. #7
    ! Member Deus Ex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: Need help w/ ships

    Quote Originally Posted by bretwalda
    Actually I think you dont need a port in the destination even if it is your province. (Of course you dont need a port in enemy held territory otherwise it would be hard to take Ireland
    But you will need a port in the destination province eventually - if you want to move your troops out of there...

    DE

  8. #8
    Master of Puppets Member bretwalda's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Budapest, Hungary, Europe, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Little White Marble
    Posts
    607

    Default Re: Need help w/ ships

    Unfortunatelly ports have the tendecy to be destroyed on the course of attacking so it is easy to get stranded on an island. This is why you shouldn't take your king to Ireland

    Since -again - Ireland does not have a port you cannot bribe those handsome gallowglasses and kerns because your AGENTS need ports as it has been mentioned.
    This space is for sale. Anybody wanting to advertise little blue pills, pumping body parts or financial services that cost you a fortune may do it here for a small fee instead of packing my mailbox. Thank you.
    ----------------------------------
    Awright, here is the all_can_crusade_mod. This is v2.
    Magyarország

  9. #9
    Member Member aldarion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Need help w/ ships

    Quote Originally Posted by bretwalda
    Unfortunatelly ports have the tendecy to be destroyed on the course of attacking so it is easy to get stranded on an island. This is why you shouldn't take your king to Ireland
    LOL although I didn't send my King there, in my current campaign I sent a large army there only to find it stuck I desperately needed to use the troops again on another front, but had to wait a few years to build a port and get them off. Oh well, you live and learn and it's these surprises that keep the game interesting.

  10. #10
    Toh-GAH-koo-reh Member Togakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Zen Garden
    Posts
    2,715

    Default Re: Need help w/ ships

    There is one exception to requiring a port to leave a region by sea: if you are playing as the Vikings in the Viking Era campaign. Vikings in this campaign can both attack and leave by sea without a port being present in the region. An unbroken line of ships between source and destination is still required, and enemy ships in a sea region (enemy, not neutral) will block any path requiring that sea region.
    Be intent on loyalty
    While others aspire to perform meritorious services
    Concentrate on purity of intent
    While those around you are beset by egoism


    misc kanryodo

  11. #11
    Chief Sniffer Senior Member ichi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    3,132

    Default Re: Need help w/ ships

    When you attack by sea to a province that is cut off from the rest of your empire, send a spy and assassin with the attacking army before the port gets destroyed.

    Also don't be afraid to send a few extra garrison troops along with the invasion force, if the enemy cuts off your sea connection the loyalty can go down.

    ichi
    Stay Calm, Be Alert, Think Clearly, Act Decisively

    CoH

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO