Thread: Any good tycoon games out there

Senior Member Senior Member Oaty's Avatar

Default Any good tycoon games out there

I started playing RT3, railroad tycoon3 again for a short little while. I used to enjoy the game but it lost its playability for me. I know thier's Chris Sawyers lococommotion wich I've heard some good things about. Also thiers Industry giant but heard too many bad reviews of Jowood(out of business now) although from thier website the game did'nt seem too bad.

Well anyways any good reccomendations.
    When a fox kills your chickens, do you kill the pigs for seeing what happened? No you go out and hunt the fox.
    Cry havoc and let slip the HOGS of war

Default Re: Any good tycoon games out there

Port Royale I. It's a trading SIM with sea battles. The strategy map is 2d but the sea battle is sort of 3d with fixed camera. I haven't played PR II yet but you can only control a single ship at a time there (during battles, instead of 10), that's the downside to many players.

Sixty Towns to trade, many missions, and you can automize if you want. You can be a pirate, bucanneer, or trader or all. It is very polished

Senior Member Senior Member Oaty's Avatar

I have played port royale 1 and have to tweak my video card just to play that game. I liked it while I played it. I played the demo of Port Royale II, it has a completely new battle engine or a greatly enhanced version from the first. Unfortanately it brought a long with it only a slightly different economy from the first. What's horrible about the economy is that if too many towns are doing good you will eventually have a crash of the market, actually not a crash but supplies will be so short everywhere, easy profits can be made. Unfortanately they changed the graphics but left too much of the old gameplay in it, IMO.

RT3 had quite a unique economy. Where eventually the whole market becomes saturated since the rails were servicing the industries. So a saturated market = low prices.