Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: quick question - replacing family portraits and cards

  1. #1
    J-23 Member Hans Kloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Richmond upon Thames
    Posts
    245

    Default quick question - replacing family portraits and cards

    I'm sure that has already been discussed before but is replacing possible at all ?
    I have xpacked PAK files,moved then to UI folder, overwritten old (while keeping the same numbers) ones but game still shows me original cards and portraits

    any ideas ?

  2. #2
    is not a senior Member Meneldil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    France
    Posts
    3,074

    Default Re : quick question - replacing family portraits and cards

    Delete the pak file (if you've moved all unpacked files to your date folder).

  3. #3
    J-23 Member Hans Kloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Richmond upon Thames
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: quick question - replacing family portraits and cards

    OOOOPsss...CTD on campaign's starts after that

  4. #4
    J-23 Member Hans Kloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Richmond upon Thames
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: quick question - replacing family portraits and cards

    OK...I guess it was just a ui_0 that needed to be deleted.I did that..and I still get the old portraits showing up although I have replaced them with new ones ...

    utterly

  5. #5
    J-23 Member Hans Kloss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Richmond upon Thames
    Posts
    245

    Default Re: quick question - replacing family portraits and cards

    Finally got it working - it was ui_0.pak only that needs to be deleted.Some portraits are very similar and I was replacing wrong ones

  6. #6

    Default Re: quick question - replacing family portraits and cards

    One thing I noticed when unpacking...the batch file with the unpack program DOESN'T INCLUDE THE PATCH PAK FILE!

    You need to manually edit/creatde a new batch file and extract that one as well. There were a couple of files in there which were updates of old files in other pak files. A bit of care was needed!!!!

    Once you unpack that file, you can delete ( or rename ) all the PAK files
    Careless Orc Costs Lives!

  7. #7
    Axebitten Modder Senior Member Dol Guldur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,550

    Default Re: quick question - replacing family portraits and cards

    Deleting (or renaming) ui_0.pak causes R:TW not to boot up.

    How does one extract the patch pak file if it is not included in the original XPAK extraction process? Is there an XPAK update for 1.2?

    I have not been able to get any moved/new portraits to work whatsoever.
    "One of the most sophisticated Total War mods ever developed..."

  8. #8
    Axebitten Modder Senior Member Dol Guldur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,550

    Default Re: quick question - replacing family portraits and cards

    Have any mods succesfully implemented portraits for the Carthaginians?

    I would have thought this something solved long ago.

    I've been through all the threads; and yes, I unpacked the 1.2 patch pak as well.

    Nothing seems to work. It never changes.
    "One of the most sophisticated Total War mods ever developed..."

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO