Thread: First Impressions

Flavius Claudius Julianus Member NodachiSam's Avatar

Default First Impressions

Hello all!

This is a bit late since I bought the game about a week ago but I want to contribute! I've been playing shogun for like two years now and I am pretty familiar with how the battles and such go. I started going through tutorials but I became bored after the second or third one and so far I havn't really done badly. I did start on easy though, I think that was probably a mistake but it has still been fun.

I started off as the danes and took sweden and norway and then ate away at the HRE and then I took all of central europe. I eventually got exommunicated and have spent most of the game in that state. It felt really really good to invade the papal lands and eventually Rome. The Pope doesn't know when to quit though! I think it is kind of dumb that he continues to reappear. It would be awsome if I could establish a new pope somewhere else and make the one in Rome utterly illegitimate. I own maybe 75% of Europe now anyways. He somehow seems to get stronger everytime he comes back too. I hate when games have things like that. Just because the pope has had major influence in reality doesn't mean he should continue to be powerful in the game regardless of the situation. I suppose I will play an orthadox faction next time and make everyone everywhere orthadox and see if he still comes back though he would have zilch support base. Next time he reappears I will sack Rome utterly and surround him with armies and finish him off last.

I don't think I will bother to play past 60% again though. It is just clean up now. Also, for some inexplicable reason, 200% loyalty provines all over started to rebel. One year I got 10 rebellions for instance.