Thread: Treasury - how bad is it to be rich?

Default Treasury - how bad is it to be rich?

Hello,

I've read a couple of strategy articles before undertaking my first campaign with Rome:TW (patch 1.2), notably frogbeastegg's . Being a newbie I'm playing on easy and so far it's going quite well, but I'm earning tons of money. Normally this wouldn't be problem but having read that it's imperative to keep your treasury below 50,000 I was wondering how bad it is not to?

Currently I'm giving away 5,000-10,000 denari every turn/every other turn while building units and expanding my cities and it's a bit tedious, so how bad is it to be filthy rich?

Will all my governors turn into raving lunatics or what exactly?

Humanist Senior Member Franconicus's Avatar

Default Re: Treasury - how bad is it to be rich?

You wont get to heaven!

When you have a large treasury your govenors tend to get traits which are negative with either Manegment or bringing in money. It isn't terrible no, with such a large income, you really don't need govenors with super good manegment, and you will oft have enough gained from retinues (from say an acadamy or some such building) that it will offset those negative traits.

Member Member itsgottabeworthatry's Avatar

In my experience it depends on which faction you're playing. When playing Carthage, Egypt and Eastern factions, my family members tend to get bad, money related vices much more often than when playing Barbarian, Hellenistic and roman factions. I have, for instance, never had any greater problems with wildly extravagant barbarians, greeks or seleucids, while my Parthian and Carthaginian family members seems to aquire these at an alarming rate.
    The word that has heralded progress throughout the ages: "It's gotta be worth a try..."

Lesbian Rebel Member Mikeus Caesar's Avatar

Actually, being rich is good, because you can afford the best and most high quality troops, which means you don't have to care about how good your generals are.