Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 61 to 90 of 129

Thread: Need help installing on new comp

  1. #61
    Member Member Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Originally just outside of Detroit, now in Orlando.
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Thanks for all the help so far R'as.

    Ok, that file was gone in the temp folder so I ran Shogun again to get a new error report and this is the file:

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16"?>
    <DATABASE>
    <EXE NAME="SHOGUN.ICD" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_PRIVACY">
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="clcd16.dll" SIZE="6784" CHECKSUM="0xECFDD7A5" MODULE_TYPE="WIN16" S16BIT_DESCRIPTION="CLCD16.exe" S16BIT_MODULE_NAME="CLCD16" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="clcd32.dll" SIZE="30208" CHECKSUM="0xE166416A" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 11:10:14" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 11:10:14" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="clokspl.exe" SIZE="177152" CHECKSUM="0xB4903A10" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 11:09:49" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 11:09:49" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="dplayerx.dll" SIZE="136704" CHECKSUM="0xB34F375F" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 11:16:24" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 11:16:24" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="drvmgt.dll" SIZE="34304" CHECKSUM="0x4A83E51C" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 11:23:37" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 11:23:37" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="IP.exe" SIZE="832000" CHECKSUM="0xE1151566" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.5.0.0" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.5.0.0" PRODUCT_VERSION="1,6, 0, 0" FILE_DESCRIPTION="InfoPro (System Information &amp; Benchmark Program)" COMPANY_NAME="EASTern DiGiTAL Inc." PRODUCT_NAME="InfoPro®" FILE_VERSION="2.1" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="IP.EXE" INTERNAL_NAME="IP" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright © 1996-1997 by EASTern DiGiTAL Inc." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x10005" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.5.0.0" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.5.0.0" LINK_DATE="12/19/1997 21:11:56" UPTO_LINK_DATE="12/19/1997 21:11:56" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="mcp.dll" SIZE="67584" CHECKSUM="0xE419F8E1" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.6.0" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.6.0" PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.6.0" FILE_DESCRIPTION="" COMPANY_NAME="" PRODUCT_NAME="" FILE_VERSION="1.0.6.0" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="" INTERNAL_NAME="" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.6.0" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.6.0" LINK_DATE="06/19/1992 22:22:17" UPTO_LINK_DATE="06/19/1992 22:22:17" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="Shogun Total War_eReg.exe" SIZE="618496" CHECKSUM="0x19AA7553" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.0.1" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" PRODUCT_VERSION="2, 0, 0, 0" FILE_DESCRIPTION="EReg MFC Application" COMPANY_NAME="" PRODUCT_NAME="EReg Application" FILE_VERSION="1, 0, 0, 1" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="EReg.EXE" INTERNAL_NAME="EReg" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright (C) 1999" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x4" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.0.1" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" LINK_DATE="05/04/2000 18:31:51" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/04/2000 18:31:51" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="Shogun Total War_uninst.exe" SIZE="65536" CHECKSUM="0xF337A16" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 15:37:31" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 15:37:31" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="Shogun.exe" SIZE="341279" CHECKSUM="0xFE5B5B1D" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.0.1" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" PRODUCT_VERSION="1, 0, 0, 1" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Shog_CPP" COMPANY_NAME="Creative Assembly" PRODUCT_NAME="Creative Assembly Shog_CPP" FILE_VERSION="1, 0, 0, 1" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="Shog_CPP.exe" INTERNAL_NAME="Shog_CPP" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright © 1998" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.0.1" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 11:18:11" UPTO_LINK_DATE="05/03/2000 11:18:11" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United Kingdom) [0x809]" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="SHOGUN.ICD" SIZE="4579373" CHECKSUM="0xBF8A3695" BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.0.1" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" PRODUCT_VERSION="1, 0, 0, 1" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Shog_CPP" COMPANY_NAME="Creative Assembly" PRODUCT_NAME="Creative Assembly Shog_CPP" FILE_VERSION="1, 0, 0, 1" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="Shog_CPP.exe" INTERNAL_NAME="Shog_CPP" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="Copyright © 1998" VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x1" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="1.0.0.1" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="1.0.0.1" LINK_DATE="09/26/2000 08:43:40" UPTO_LINK_DATE="09/26/2000 08:43:40" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United Kingdom) [0x809]" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="Uninstall.exe" SIZE="24576" CHECKSUM="0xF9D98674" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="04/05/2000 16:40:20" UPTO_LINK_DATE="04/05/2000 16:40:20" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="weachatr.dll" SIZE="105472" CHECKSUM="0x7F16C507" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="03/30/2000 14:22:49" UPTO_LINK_DATE="03/30/2000 14:22:49" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="weanewsr.dll" SIZE="63488" CHECKSUM="0x99217D5D" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="02/18/2000 10:45:24" UPTO_LINK_DATE="02/18/2000 10:45:24" />
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="wearasr.dll" SIZE="62976" CHECKSUM="0x2DD56D18" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0x0" LINKER_VERSION="0x0" LINK_DATE="01/21/2000 11:25:45" UPTO_LINK_DATE="01/21/2000 11:25:45" />
    </EXE>
    <EXE NAME="kernel32.dll" FILTER="GRABMI_FILTER_THISFILEONLY">
    <MATCHING_FILE NAME="kernel32.dll" SIZE="983552" CHECKSUM="0x4CE79457" BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.2180" BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.2180" PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.2180" FILE_DESCRIPTION="Windows NT BASE API Client DLL" COMPANY_NAME="Microsoft Corporation" PRODUCT_NAME="Microsoft® Windows® Operating System" FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)" ORIGINAL_FILENAME="kernel32" INTERNAL_NAME="kernel32" LEGAL_COPYRIGHT="© Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved." VERFILEDATEHI="0x0" VERFILEDATELO="0x0" VERFILEOS="0x40004" VERFILETYPE="0x2" MODULE_TYPE="WIN32" PE_CHECKSUM="0xFF848" LINKER_VERSION="0x50001" UPTO_BIN_FILE_VERSION="5.1.2600.2180" UPTO_BIN_PRODUCT_VERSION="5.1.2600.2180" LINK_DATE="08/04/2004 07:56:36" UPTO_LINK_DATE="08/04/2004 07:56:36" VER_LANGUAGE="English (United States) [0x409]" />
    </EXE>
    </DATABASE>


    Now at the top it says version xml 1.0, dont know if that is Shogun version or what. I have run the path several times for Shogun but not doing anything. Dunno if i patched it incorrectly or what.

  2. #62

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Right i dont know if i understand the problem 100% But it sounds like a file accosiation problem...

    It sounds like..
    The Game starts..
    Tries to play opening vid...
    and goes POOF.
    Back at desktop.

    If thats right. I would start by making sure Windows media player is default player for file types STW uses.

    Also.
    If you have a Webcam stuck to your pc. "logitech expeshialy" Dissconnect it. and then try again.

  3. #63
    Member Member Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Originally just outside of Detroit, now in Orlando.
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Thats exactly whats happening. I made sure WMP was default for all associated files, reinstalled it, patched it, swept for StarForce, unplugged every USB connection I had, restarted and the new error report had a lot of stuff about Checksum or something like that. I can post the report on here but its long and I dont want to keep filling up the page with huge posts unless you want me to post it. Still trying everything I can. Throw me any kind of theory you have and I will try it (except a reformat). Thanks again everyone

  4. #64
    Clan Takiyama Senior Member R'as al Ghul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    ignores routers who aren't elite
    Posts
    2,554

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Sorry rascal,

    no idea what the error report says. It doesn't look as if it reports any error at all.
    Have you tried what Shambles said? Try to open the movies from Shogun from the explorer and see if it works with your WMP.

    Singleplayer: Download beta_8
    Multiplayer: Download beta_5.All.in.1
    I'll build a mountain of corpses - Ogami Itto, Lone Wolf & Cub
    Sometimes standing up for your friends means killing a whole lot of people - Sin City, by Frank Miller

  5. #65
    Member Member Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Originally just outside of Detroit, now in Orlando.
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Yes I have tried and the movies all play fine from the folder. I tried most of them and they all worked without a problem. There has to be something I'm missing...

  6. #66
    Toh-GAH-koo-reh Member Togakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Zen Garden
    Posts
    2,705

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    A friend of mine reported a problem involving the movies that play in the game. Everytime he'd get to a point where certain mini-videos were supposed to play, the game would lock up, forcing a reboot of the PC (he couldn't even alt-tab out and shut STW down). Even when reloading a saved game afterwards, it would bomb at the same point. He said that it happened when a daimyo was forced to commit seppuku, or was killed and had no heirs (eliminated). These weren't necessarily the only times it happened, but he noticed a pattern that it always happened when these events occured. I think it has to do with the mini-videos because he said they don't play.

    He's running WE with the 1.02 beta patch, on XP. If anyone has suggestions on how to address this problem, I (we) would certainly appreciate any information. Maybe the problem described here by Rascal is similar or related.

    Thanks all.
    Be intent on loyalty
    While others aspire to perform meritorious services
    Concentrate on purity of intent
    While those around you are beset by egoism


    misc kanryodo

  7. #67
    Member Member Rascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Originally just outside of Detroit, now in Orlando.
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    I tried to reinstall it again and I noticed I was having some trouble when I needed to put in disk #2. When prompted I put in disk #2 but got a warning about no disk in the drive and had to click ok, retry and cancle several times to get it to continue the install. perhaps this is the problem and it wont install correctly?

  8. #68

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Quote Originally Posted by TogakureOjonin
    A friend of mine reported a problem involving the movies that play in the game. Everytime he'd get to a point where certain mini-videos were supposed to play, the game would lock up, forcing a reboot of the PC (he couldn't even alt-tab out and shut STW down). Even when reloading a saved game afterwards, it would bomb at the same point. He said that it happened when a daimyo was forced to commit seppuku, or was killed and had no heirs (eliminated). These weren't necessarily the only times it happened, but he noticed a pattern that it always happened when these events occured. I think it has to do with the mini-videos because he said they don't play.

    He's running WE with the 1.02 beta patch, on XP. If anyone has suggestions on how to address this problem, I (we) would certainly appreciate any information. Maybe the problem described here by Rascal is similar or related.

    Thanks all.
    Removing the videos from the game folder? Is that possible in WE?

    Other than that it could possibly be a problem with his video player, or maybe not having sp2.

  9. #69
    Toh-GAH-koo-reh Member Togakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Zen Garden
    Posts
    2,705

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    If I remember correctly, yes, the video files could be removed. I suspect however that when the game calls them and they are not there, a different exception will occur. It's worth a try though, and I'll pass along the idea. Thanks.
    Be intent on loyalty
    While others aspire to perform meritorious services
    Concentrate on purity of intent
    While those around you are beset by egoism


    misc kanryodo

  10. #70
    Teppo Taisho Member Maeda Toshiie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    250

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Quote Originally Posted by TogakureOjonin
    A friend of mine reported a problem involving the movies that play in the game. Everytime he'd get to a point where certain mini-videos were supposed to play, the game would lock up, forcing a reboot of the PC (he couldn't even alt-tab out and shut STW down). Even when reloading a saved game afterwards, it would bomb at the same point. He said that it happened when a daimyo was forced to commit seppuku, or was killed and had no heirs (eliminated). These weren't necessarily the only times it happened, but he noticed a pattern that it always happened when these events occured. I think it has to do with the mini-videos because he said they don't play.

    He's running WE with the 1.02 beta patch, on XP. If anyone has suggestions on how to address this problem, I (we) would certainly appreciate any information. Maybe the problem described here by Rascal is similar or related.

    Thanks all.

    Please see this thread:

    https://forums.totalwar.org/vb/showthread.php?t=66964

    The STW crash issue has popped up at .com and here many times. Someone at .com found that at least a portion of the crashes has not to do with Win XP but with something else.

    For the elimination of heirs, the crash is most likely related to the incorrect playback of the death poems. I had such a problem before where I installed a screwy codec pack. Attempting to playback the offending mp3 results in a squelching noise.

    The remaining problems are likely caused by video codec problems. Installation of badly designed codec packs, video and audio filters, interference from even Nero 6 can cause STW to crash and not work. STW actually works fine on NT5 series of OSes, though with the nasty flickering background on the menu.

    For the hanging of game without the playback of videos, it is most likely due to the corruption of the game. I had this occurrence(s) before with the excessive killing of Shimazu heirs and a non-heir general take over as the Daimyo (can be seen on the diplomacy scroll).
    Keeping the ashigarus in line since 1575

  11. #71

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Santi Is The MAN!

    Dude-I'm so addicted to this game, and I was so bummed since it wouldn't load.
    I used that StarForce remover, and it worked like a charm.
    I took every program off my pc and the next step was to wipe out my hardrive. Anyone having the same problem go to http://www.star-force.com/protection.phtml?c=70
    Many Thanks
    "This is no way for a leader to behave, but in battle it's beyond belief."

  12. #72

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Hi all! I'm new in the forum, but I´ve been playing STW for a while. I changed my computer 2 years ago, and today i´ve taken back my STW. I´ve installed it, run it, and started a new campaign. Then, when i click over finish my turn, the AI operates. But when i my second turn was supposed to start, the game blocks, and i´ve to clear it from the task manager. During this blocking, i can hear a piece of sound repeating again and again, but neither the image nor the mouse move. My graphics card is nVidia 5700 VE 256Mb, 1 Gb RAM, WINXP SP2. However, i can play single battles without problems. It seems a problem of some kind of file, but i cannot guess which one, since i´ve tried to play them from the cd and everything goes OK. WMP is the default player and so on..

    Help would be appreciated.

    Thx!!!

    Airold

  13. #73

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    I had the same problem that others describe where the warlord edition crashes to the desktop on startup. The intro movie would show without any problems, but then it would crash when trying to load the game. I found this was because I had previously set the antialiasing in my nVidia display setting to 2x. Once I switched AA back to 'Application-controlled' the problem disappeared.

  14. #74

    Unhappy Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Hi, i was reading all the solutions for runing S:TW,tried them, but i doesnt want to start the game.

    I install the game and the newest patch 1.12, unistalled the starforce, all archives are wmp.

    When i run the game, i see all the movies intro, but when it goes to the mainscreen the game crashes to the desktop.

    An error file is created in the games folder:

    Errors for session started: Thu Feb 01 15:55:13 2007

    C:\ShogunPatch\Main3d_1.cpp(5030) : DirectX call : DDERR_CURRENTLYNOTAVAIL
    C:\ShogunPatch\Main3d_1.cpp(5093) : DirectX call : DDERR_NOTLOCKED
    C:\ShogunPatch\Main3d_1.cpp(5030) : DirectX call : DDERR_CURRENTLYNOTAVAIL

  15. #75
    Member Member moomo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    In between worlds. Halfway all around.
    Posts
    71

    Default Conclusion?

    Well, well, like a true community. I love to see this. Only I've seen it in 2007.
    Good spirit guys, keep it up!

    "Shogun forever" program
    Always available for
    Shogun TW MP
    and/or mods inspired by Shogun,



  16. #76

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Quote Originally Posted by Cetva
    Hi, i was reading all the solutions for runing S:TW,tried them, but i doesnt want to start the game.

    I install the game and the newest patch 1.12, unistalled the starforce, all archives are wmp.

    When i run the game, i see all the movies intro, but when it goes to the mainscreen the game crashes to the desktop.

    An error file is created in the games folder:

    Errors for session started: Thu Feb 01 15:55:13 2007

    C:\ShogunPatch\Main3d_1.cpp(5030) : DirectX call : DDERR_CURRENTLYNOTAVAIL
    C:\ShogunPatch\Main3d_1.cpp(5093) : DirectX call : DDERR_NOTLOCKED
    C:\ShogunPatch\Main3d_1.cpp(5030) : DirectX call : DDERR_CURRENTLYNOTAVAIL
    DDERR_CURRENTLYNOTAVAIL = No support is currently available.
    DDERR_NOTLOCKED= An attempt is made to unlock a surface that was not locked.
    DirectDraw Return codes (errors). The place to start looking is your video card drivers and DirectX installation. Run dxdiag and run all of the test first.

  17. #77
    Autocrat Member Vlad The Impaler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Magna Valachiae
    Posts
    690

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    i dont really need help with installing shogun but i need something from the cd: The manual
    i have the game back home and one girl friend of mine needs it for a work at the history classes at university
    please coud somebody send it to me that pdf at steppewolf@gmail.com?
    thank you very much
    Tough Times Don't Last. Tough People Do. Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. [Mark Twain]

  18. #78
    Toh-GAH-koo-reh Member Togakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Zen Garden
    Posts
    2,705

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    I've sent the wotd.pdf to you.
    Be intent on loyalty
    While others aspire to perform meritorious services
    Concentrate on purity of intent
    While those around you are beset by egoism


    misc kanryodo

  19. #79
    Autocrat Member Vlad The Impaler's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Magna Valachiae
    Posts
    690

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Quote Originally Posted by Masamune
    I've sent the wotd.pdf to you.
    thank you very much mate!
    Tough Times Don't Last. Tough People Do. Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. [Mark Twain]

  20. #80
    Toh-GAH-koo-reh Member Togakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Zen Garden
    Posts
    2,705

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    You're welcome.
    Be intent on loyalty
    While others aspire to perform meritorious services
    Concentrate on purity of intent
    While those around you are beset by egoism


    misc kanryodo

  21. #81

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Geez, I can't get my Warlord Edition to run either, and can't find the 1.02 patch anywhere, not even at CA, the link to download at CA is for the 1.12 patch and even that does not work.

    I am getting TW Eras and I hope that Shogun is fixed to work on Win XP SP2 because the 2001 Dreamtime version I have won't even start.

    I click the start icon and the small splash screen comes up then goes off and that is it. It won't even start.

    It's amazing there isn't a Win XP upgrade patch for this.

    Thanx for any help, Chris

  22. #82

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    I got the 1.02 patch from your site here. Installed it and I still can't get the game to run.

    I have used the Starforce remover, set the compatability to Win98, turned off my firewall and still can't play in single player or any other mode.

    The game just doesn't boot.

    Chris

  23. #83

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    I got it running!!!!! Problem seems to have been some BFME mods (don't laugh) I had on my computer. Starforce was not on my computer. Also, I get the flickering sometimes on the parchment screens used to choose campaign or single player modes, save games etc., but when in the game play itself I have had no problems. Have to play with the video card etc. settings, maybe set it back to 60Hz rather than 70Hz Refresh rate. I guess the game won't work at 75Hz refresh rate, and that was posted somewhere here.

    So, Shogun works for me now. More from the Mori next morning.

    Chris

  24. #84

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    One other thing, I had Nero 6 (unknown version or subversion of 6) and I removed it but that was not the problem. Problem was some BFME mods. Wierd.

    Chris

  25. #85
    Dragon's Fire Member Swiss Halberd Pike Landsknecht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    In the keep of my Norman influenced motte-and-bailey as a provincial Daimyō, guarded by my loyal huscarls, Swiss Guard, longbowmen & handgonners.
    Posts
    117

    Question Re: Need help installing on new comp

    I've found a few places I can buy Shogun, although not sure if/how they differ? i.e Shogun Total War Gold (which I found on amazon.co.uk)

    But from numerous places I read, people either can't get the game to work on Win Xp or have many problems with it?

    which is ashame as I'd like to get and play it

  26. #86
    Toh-GAH-koo-reh Member Togakure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Zen Garden
    Posts
    2,705

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Hello, Swiss_Halberd_Pike_Landsknecht:

    Shogun Total War can be had in several different packages:

    • STW - original units, buildings, building costs, and Sengoku Jidai campaign. Original unit stats. Guns cannot fire in rain.
    • STW Warlord Edition, or Mongol Invasions: - additional units, additional buildings, reduced building costs, additional campaigns (SJ, 1530, 1550, 1580 and Mongol Invasion). Revised unit stats. Muskets can fire in rain at reduced effectiveness.
    • STW Eras - the TW collection, in which STW WE/MI is included.
    • STW Gold Edition - essentially the same as WE/MI. We've observed that this may not be the best choice if you intend to try Multiplayer (some CD Keys would not activate, etc.).

    I think these are the main offerings, if not all of them. You won't find the original version around much, I don't think. WE/MI is the dominant release.

    Some have issues with the game on XP, some don't. I think much of the time it's not really XP causing problems, more often video cards, driver issues, etc..
    Be intent on loyalty
    While others aspire to perform meritorious services
    Concentrate on purity of intent
    While those around you are beset by egoism


    misc kanryodo

  27. #87
    Dragon's Fire Member Swiss Halberd Pike Landsknecht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    In the keep of my Norman influenced motte-and-bailey as a provincial Daimyō, guarded by my loyal huscarls, Swiss Guard, longbowmen & handgonners.
    Posts
    117

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    thanks for the info Masamune

    I might take the 'risk' and just buy it, as it's very cheap, will obviously be annoying if I can't get it to work, as it is the original of the TW series and I know is supposed to be really good.

    Quite a few of the older games (in general) have problems working on XP, some can't work at all, others work fine (where you don't need to do anything), and some you just need to either tweak some stuff, or do certain steps.

    I.e.: I was very annoyed initially when I couldn't get Thief: The Dark Project & Thief II: The Metal Age to work (even though on the back of the boxes it said it would work on XP), but looking around some different sites and forums, I found out how it by alt + tabbing out of the game when it got to the main menu, pressing ctrl + alt + delete and then selecting the affinity (can't remember if it was selecting it as 0 or 1, but both couldn't be at the same time), the game would work fine, as result I also got the big fan made Thief 2X: Shadows of the Metal Age 'mod' (but actually it was like a new game, with story, etc)

    the only thing that wouldn't play were the movies, but the main thing was it worked. (And Thief 3: Deadly Shadows works fine without having to do anything, but then again that's much newer)

  28. #88
    Weird Organism Senior Member Drisos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Chushingura
    Posts
    3,603

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    Good chance it will do just fine.

    Nice to hear people still trying this out! I'm sure you will enjoy STW.

    Good luck!
    - Chu - Gi - Makoto - Rei - Jin - Yu - Meiyo -

  29. #89
    Dragon's Fire Member Swiss Halberd Pike Landsknecht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    In the keep of my Norman influenced motte-and-bailey as a provincial Daimyō, guarded by my loyal huscarls, Swiss Guard, longbowmen & handgonners.
    Posts
    117

    Default Re: Need help installing on new comp

    thanks

    yeah it's also worth getting so I can 'complete' the collection (excluding Kingdoms expansion for M2), I would have them all plus the great Europa Barbarorum for RTW)

    I'm also interested in that period, and am a big fan of primitive firearms (mainly up to matchlocks, but also interested in flintlocks)

  30. #90
    Dragon's Fire Member Swiss Halberd Pike Landsknecht's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    In the keep of my Norman influenced motte-and-bailey as a provincial Daimyō, guarded by my loyal huscarls, Swiss Guard, longbowmen & handgonners.
    Posts
    117

    Question Re: Need help installing on new comp

    the only shop I found Shogun in stock, was in 1 HMV store, they apparently have only 1 in stock, so I reserved that. Hopefully it is there, and I'll probably pick it up tomorrow.

    That version is the gold one I think (as on the phone they mentioned it was £4.99 and reissued by sold out software)

    http://www.sold-out.co.uk/support.asp?pid=281#783

    On one of the pages on sold out software, it says you can download Patch 1.02 Beta for "SHOGUN: TOTAL WAR WARLORDS EDITION"

    have any of you used this patch? I guess it helps the game?

    once again main worry is whether the game will work, or work properly, as even on their page on the FAQ, it has stuff like: "I sometimes don't get sound during the throne room animation or during other animations in the game"

    and more worryingly: "When I run the game in software mode, the camera moves *very* slowly and my framerate is poor when on the battlefield."

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO