Thread: Crusader Kings Newbie

MediŠval Auctoriso Member Member TheSilverKnight's Avatar

Default Crusader Kings Newbie

Hey all, I just got Crusader Kings, and so far I'm loving it!
    But I'm a total newbie at it, so I need some advice on what to do.
    Any and all advice is welcome!!

Plus, I need some ideas for a good, easy country to start out as and what campaign to do so in.

Thanks!
    "I'm like the Vikings -- I come here, I steal your women, your booze, your dough, and then I go back home." ~ Wiz
    "Play RTW and wait till 1,000 people die and look at them from above. Then tell me it was worth the oil." - Byzantine Prince

For England and St.George Senior Member ShadesWolf's Avatar

Default Re: Crusader Kings Newbie

As a suggestion, select Flanders on 1066.

It will give you an idea of how to manage things, if you start too big you will end up getting loads of rebellions if you are not careful, so the smaller the better.
    ShadesWolf
    The Original HHHHHOWLLLLLLLLLLLLER

Im a Wolves fan, get me out of here......

First of all, I'd get the latest patch. CTDs can still be annoying, so autosave every year is a must, at least for me.
    If you want a kingdom thats quite large but still manageable, that's England. Being on an island is pretty handy in order to keep your rebelious kin close to you and delay foreign armies from landing (plus sea trips cost money).
    Your treasury should be built up gradually, so no rush to tax those underlings. Later on I tend to keep the scutage at a minimum, thus allowing larger armies to be assembled and keeping loyalty high.